Page 1 of 1

Precisely match Sketchup camera?

PostPosted: Tue Oct 10, 2017 2:08 pm
by pfschuyler
I'm using a nice new Sketchup plugin that does real-time compositing within the Sketchup window (SketchFX). The perfect complement for this is the Octane renderer, which when combined together would allow pretty much unlimited NPR effects blended in with realistic effects...all within the Sketchup interface (and useful for plans, sections, etc.). But when I render out to Octane (a regular or advanced camera, from within Sketchup), Octane gets a close match, but NOT an exact match to the Sketchup camera. As a result, if I try to use compositing on an image file rendered from Octane Sketchup, there is an inevitable mismatch.

What options does Octane provide to exactly match Sketchup Cameras or Scenes (perhaps a node or feature I missed)? I've found the camera match to be close, but not exact. Even better than a perfect match to an external file would be an image overlay in the Sketchup viewport. Thea Renderer does this perfectly and that's a pretty enviable feature. What options does Octane allow for this need to composite/camera match? Thx.

Re: Precisely match Sketchup camera?

PostPosted: Tue Oct 10, 2017 2:38 pm
by smicha
Can you post a screenshot of the two different camera views?

Re: Precisely match Sketchup camera?

PostPosted: Wed Oct 11, 2017 9:33 pm
by azen
Hi pfschuyler,

I'd can attempt to replicate these issues on my end, and see if I can produce a solution. If you have any example screenshots of this issue, that would be very much appreciated.

Cheers,
Azen

Re: Precisely match Sketchup camera?

PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2017 6:24 am
by patrickbarnekow
Version 3.04.4.5 (latest usable version that I can work with in production) has problems with camera. That the lens does not match with sketchup. When working in a saved view, sometimes I have to change the lens setting, and perspective/two point, and then the octane camera comes to life and corrects itself, and then when saving the view in sketchup octane remembers its settings as well. But it is glitchy.

Re: Precisely match Sketchup camera?

PostPosted: Fri Nov 03, 2017 11:48 am
by Jorgensen
i'm also having some issues creating an photomatch, and i'm not sure how to do it :-(

as you can see, the low wide building does not have the same width as it has in sketchup - is this a settings (user) issue or does camera match simply not work?

and is there somekind of workaround for this (i have a deadline).

i have attached screencaptures from both sketchup and octane.


thanks
jorgensen

Re: Precisely match Sketchup camera?

PostPosted: Fri Nov 03, 2017 12:04 pm
by bepeg4d
Hi Jorgensen,
please, try with this lua scripted graph:
viewtopic.php?f=73&t=63807
since it is not yet supported, it will not be saved correctly, but you can use it to obtain the render, I guess.
While in octane, select the desired Render Target/Scene view, then right click in the node inspector on any icon, and choose “Show in Graph editor".
Then right click in the Graphbeditor and create an Other/Scripted graph node.
Asdign the lua script, then copy paste the camera node from the RT to the lua camera slot, then load the background image, connect the Visible Environment pin and Film settings to the RT node from the lua scripted node, and set the desired settings.
ciao beppe

Re: Precisely match Sketchup camera?

PostPosted: Fri Nov 03, 2017 12:14 pm
by Jorgensen
oohohohhh myy - if i rightclick on any other scene than default view - sketchup crashes.........

Re: Precisely match Sketchup camera?

PostPosted: Fri Nov 03, 2017 12:44 pm
by Jorgensen
i'm not sure what the script is needed for? - what is the benefit?

can't i "just" setup the background image - set the render size to the same size as the background image and then try to fiddle the camera around to somehow make the objects fit the image? or does the script get info from sketchup?

an other thing - (and i might be noob) but how does octane's camera settings relate to the real world camera settings?

any tips on how to best match these settings?

i'm quite unsure how to understand sensor width vs focal lenght

thanks
jorgnesen

Re: Precisely match Sketchup camera?

PostPosted: Mon Nov 06, 2017 7:29 pm
by johlanga
Jorgensen wrote:and is there somekind of workaround for this (i have a deadline).
jorgensen


You have to set same viewport size in SU and octane. Use plugin ene_viewport_resizer_v1.0.0