SubD new plugin

Forums: SubD new plugin
SketchUp Integrated Plugin (Integrated Plugin maintained by OTOY)

SubD new plugin

Postby smicha » Fri Jan 15, 2016 1:36 pm

smicha Fri Jan 15, 2016 1:36 pm
Hope you know this, guys
https://youtu.be/N4-_FIHGbSU
Win7, Modo 10.1, Octane for Modo and Sketchup, nVidia latest, TITAN+3x780 6GB, 2600K, P8P67WS, 32GB, 1350W
SMH10, EK, Airplex_480, SR1_560, 20xNB_PL2, 2xD5, Aquaero 6XT
build-log http://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=42540
User avatar
smicha
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 3141
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2011 4:13 pm
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: SubD new plugin

Postby fivebythree » Fri Jan 15, 2016 8:01 pm

fivebythree Fri Jan 15, 2016 8:01 pm
Sure do! .... waiting for it.
STANDALONE v3 / SKETCHUP2017 v3 / BLENDER v3 / C4D R16 v3 WINDOWS7PROSP1 x64 | GTX1080ti + GTX780 | i7 4930 @3.4GHz 6 Core| 32GB
User avatar
fivebythree
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 225
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2014 2:43 pm
Location: Toronto, CAN

Re: SubD new plugin

Postby smicha » Fri Jan 15, 2016 8:24 pm

smicha Fri Jan 15, 2016 8:24 pm
Don't wait - it's ready to download ;)
Win7, Modo 10.1, Octane for Modo and Sketchup, nVidia latest, TITAN+3x780 6GB, 2600K, P8P67WS, 32GB, 1350W
SMH10, EK, Airplex_480, SR1_560, 20xNB_PL2, 2xD5, Aquaero 6XT
build-log http://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=42540
User avatar
smicha
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 3141
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2011 4:13 pm
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: SubD new plugin

Postby fivebythree » Sat Jan 16, 2016 6:57 pm

fivebythree Sat Jan 16, 2016 6:57 pm
Instant Purchase! Plus... had 30% off as a customer of Vertex tools. ;)
http://evilsoftwareempire.com/subd/
STANDALONE v3 / SKETCHUP2017 v3 / BLENDER v3 / C4D R16 v3 WINDOWS7PROSP1 x64 | GTX1080ti + GTX780 | i7 4930 @3.4GHz 6 Core| 32GB
User avatar
fivebythree
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 225
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2014 2:43 pm
Location: Toronto, CAN

Re: SubD new plugin

Postby Seekerfinder » Mon Jan 18, 2016 6:25 pm

Seekerfinder Mon Jan 18, 2016 6:25 pm
I think it's a great tool... but SU can't do quads natively (I know about the plugins). And the more I learn & lean toward another tool in my toolset, I'm wondering if there's any point in using all these bolt-on solutions if learning another, more fully featured app offers proper quad modeling (and even retopo tools) all integrated. Even if it takes time. We have Max here in the office and I considered Modo. But right now I'm leaning toward C4D. I'll probably always use SU for some stuff (in particular Trimble's Scan Explorer extension is great for getting point cloud data to SU).

Another factor is Octane's lackluster SU plugin development which has been a huge disappointment. By contrast Aoktar seems to be doing a great job on the C4D plugin.

Off topic here, I guess. Just got me thinking about SU in the broader sense...

Seeker
Win 8(64) | P9X79-E WS | i7-3930K | 32GB | GTX Titan & GTX 780Ti | SketchUP | Revit | Beta tester for Revit & Sketchup plugins for Octane
User avatar
Seekerfinder
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1583
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 11:34 am

Re: SubD new plugin

Postby fivebythree » Mon Jan 18, 2016 7:32 pm

fivebythree Mon Jan 18, 2016 7:32 pm
Vertex tools solves the no quads issue. It functions on the hidden geometry mode triangles that SU is based on. But retain the quad structure when export to other 3d programs. I'm learning how to use Blender as a backup on handling client files. Our firm generally uses SU for every project cause its fast and simple, Blender too is simple but lacks fundamental tools that I have so accustom to in SU. Cinema 4d is great but very expensive... Blender is free and has an awesome community with solid plugins and help.
STANDALONE v3 / SKETCHUP2017 v3 / BLENDER v3 / C4D R16 v3 WINDOWS7PROSP1 x64 | GTX1080ti + GTX780 | i7 4930 @3.4GHz 6 Core| 32GB
User avatar
fivebythree
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 225
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2014 2:43 pm
Location: Toronto, CAN

Re: SubD new plugin

Postby Seekerfinder » Mon Jan 18, 2016 9:36 pm

Seekerfinder Mon Jan 18, 2016 9:36 pm
fivebythree wrote:Vertex tools solves the no quads issue. It functions on the hidden geometry mode triangles that SU is based on. But retain the quad structure when export to other 3d programs. I'm learning how to use Blender as a backup on handling client files. Our firm generally uses SU for every project cause its fast and simple, Blender too is simple but lacks fundamental tools that I have so accustom to in SU. Cinema 4d is great but very expensive... Blender is free and has an awesome community with solid plugins and help.

Ah! I didn't realise this plugin retains quads when exporting... Could be pretty useful then.
Learning something like C4D is a long term investment in terms of both time and money. C4D can import SU files now as well, just not sure how clean it is.
Best,
Seeker
Win 8(64) | P9X79-E WS | i7-3930K | 32GB | GTX Titan & GTX 780Ti | SketchUP | Revit | Beta tester for Revit & Sketchup plugins for Octane
User avatar
Seekerfinder
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1583
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 11:34 am

Re: SubD new plugin

Postby fivebythree » Thu Jan 21, 2016 5:06 am

fivebythree Thu Jan 21, 2016 5:06 am
I prefer to do organic modeling in Blender. Its more natural, for all the reasons you've listed. These plugins are a wonderful step forward for SketchUp, its showing the bright future that the software is capable of. Hopefully Octane follows suit! ;)
STANDALONE v3 / SKETCHUP2017 v3 / BLENDER v3 / C4D R16 v3 WINDOWS7PROSP1 x64 | GTX1080ti + GTX780 | i7 4930 @3.4GHz 6 Core| 32GB
User avatar
fivebythree
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 225
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2014 2:43 pm
Location: Toronto, CAN

Re: SubD new plugin

Postby Seekerfinder » Thu Jan 21, 2016 5:46 am

Seekerfinder Thu Jan 21, 2016 5:46 am
fivebythree wrote:I prefer to do organic modeling in Blender. Its more natural, for all the reasons you've listed. These plugins are a wonderful step forward for SketchUp, its showing the bright future that the software is capable of. Hopefully Octane follows suit! ;)

Now I just need some magic solution to 'de-triangulate' some crappy old SU models that just won't render properly... Any ideas? Or is it just a case of remodelling in quads?

I also hope Otoy start taking the SU pluging seriously but I'm not holding my breath anymore. I am very impressed with C4D's feature set, including their modelling capability.
Seeker
Win 8(64) | P9X79-E WS | i7-3930K | 32GB | GTX Titan & GTX 780Ti | SketchUP | Revit | Beta tester for Revit & Sketchup plugins for Octane
User avatar
Seekerfinder
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1583
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 11:34 am

Re: SubD new plugin

Postby fivebythree » Thu Jan 21, 2016 4:35 pm

fivebythree Thu Jan 21, 2016 4:35 pm
There's retopology plugins for C4D. I wound't even bother trying to do the same in SketchUp. This guys retopo plug used to be free, now he's selling all of his plugins for 98$. http://www.c4dstuff.com/products/hbmodellingbundle

This is a good tutorial, but also pay.. http://www.digitaltutors.com/tutorial/1 ... -CINEMA-4D

I purchased Cinema 4d basic or whatever they call it... Prime? Its not really what I was hoping it would be. I find the drawing tools to be harder to use than necessary. And ever since I brought in the 3d space mouse, I think I screwed up the view-port preferences.

Glad you've found something that works well for you.
STANDALONE v3 / SKETCHUP2017 v3 / BLENDER v3 / C4D R16 v3 WINDOWS7PROSP1 x64 | GTX1080ti + GTX780 | i7 4930 @3.4GHz 6 Core| 32GB
User avatar
fivebythree
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 225
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2014 2:43 pm
Location: Toronto, CAN
Next

Return to SketchUp


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Sat Aug 24, 2019 6:40 am [ UTC ]