Skatter - proxy from obj / standalone version

Forums: Skatter - proxy from obj / standalone version
SketchUp Integrated Plugin (Integrated Plugin maintained by OTOY)

Skatter - proxy from obj / standalone version

Postby Jorgensen » Wed Dec 30, 2015 10:35 am

Jorgensen Wed Dec 30, 2015 10:35 am
hi

now that skatter is out i would like to test it with some proxy objects.

for this i have tried to use the tree 056, from evermotion Archmodels vol. 01.
http://www.evermotion.org/shop/show_product/plant-56-am52-c4d/845

i imported the obj file into the standalone version - adjusted the textures, and it looked fine.

i then saved it as an .ocs file, and added this file via right-click > octane proxy > from .ocs / . orbx / .obj - but nothing happens - the objects stays the same.

when i select the original .obj file it seems to work fine, but with no materials and a wrong scale.

I use plugin version 0.15.2 and standalone version 2.24.2 - could that be the problem?

thanks :-)
Jorgensen
Last edited by Jorgensen on Wed Dec 30, 2015 10:44 am, edited 1 time in total.
HOME octane standalone v3.07 | octane plugin for sketchup 3.07.0.14 | sketchup pro 2017 17.2.2555 64 bit | windows 10 pro 10.015063 build 15063 | i7-6700k @4.0 GHz | 32gb ram | 2x gtx 1070 | nvidia driver 382.33
Jorgensen
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 872
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2013 10:53 am

Re: Proxy - from obj

Postby Jorgensen » Wed Dec 30, 2015 10:44 am

Jorgensen Wed Dec 30, 2015 10:44 am
Just updated sketchup plugin to version 2.24.2.1 and it did not solve the problem :-/
HOME octane standalone v3.07 | octane plugin for sketchup 3.07.0.14 | sketchup pro 2017 17.2.2555 64 bit | windows 10 pro 10.015063 build 15063 | i7-6700k @4.0 GHz | 32gb ram | 2x gtx 1070 | nvidia driver 382.33
Jorgensen
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 872
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2013 10:53 am

Re: Skatter - proxy from obj / standalone version

Postby smicha » Wed Dec 30, 2015 10:47 am

smicha Wed Dec 30, 2015 10:47 am
And it won't work if you are using 3.0 as standalone to create textures.

Here is the solution: create your SU scene and export as ocs. Open the scene under e.g. 3.0 and copy only scatter node of the tree. Then paste it to the Standalone scene where you have obj with textures. Hope I make myself clear.
Win7, Modo 10.1, Octane for Modo and Sketchup, nVidia latest, TITAN+3x780 6GB, 2600K, P8P67WS, 32GB, 1350W
SMH10, EK, Airplex_480, SR1_560, 20xNB_PL2, 2xD5, Aquaero 6XT
build-log http://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=42540
User avatar
smicha
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 3141
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2011 4:13 pm
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Skatter - proxy from obj / standalone version

Postby Jorgensen » Wed Dec 30, 2015 10:50 am

Jorgensen Wed Dec 30, 2015 10:50 am
hi smicha

i don't use version 3.0a? but i need to?

Jorgensen
HOME octane standalone v3.07 | octane plugin for sketchup 3.07.0.14 | sketchup pro 2017 17.2.2555 64 bit | windows 10 pro 10.015063 build 15063 | i7-6700k @4.0 GHz | 32gb ram | 2x gtx 1070 | nvidia driver 382.33
Jorgensen
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 872
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2013 10:53 am

Re: Skatter - proxy from obj / standalone version

Postby smicha » Wed Dec 30, 2015 10:56 am

smicha Wed Dec 30, 2015 10:56 am
No, you don't. But just use the scatter node from SU ocs scene and do the rest in the standalone.
Win7, Modo 10.1, Octane for Modo and Sketchup, nVidia latest, TITAN+3x780 6GB, 2600K, P8P67WS, 32GB, 1350W
SMH10, EK, Airplex_480, SR1_560, 20xNB_PL2, 2xD5, Aquaero 6XT
build-log http://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=42540
User avatar
smicha
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 3141
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2011 4:13 pm
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Skatter - proxy from obj / standalone version

Postby Jorgensen » Wed Dec 30, 2015 11:02 am

Jorgensen Wed Dec 30, 2015 11:02 am
but i don't wan't to use the standalone? if i understand you right?

Jorgensen
HOME octane standalone v3.07 | octane plugin for sketchup 3.07.0.14 | sketchup pro 2017 17.2.2555 64 bit | windows 10 pro 10.015063 build 15063 | i7-6700k @4.0 GHz | 32gb ram | 2x gtx 1070 | nvidia driver 382.33
Jorgensen
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 872
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2013 10:53 am

Re: Skatter - proxy from obj / standalone version

Postby Jorgensen » Sat Jan 02, 2016 3:09 pm

Jorgensen Sat Jan 02, 2016 3:09 pm
to get this right, using the .ocs file from standalone version, as an proxy object in sketchup, should work, but because of a BUG, it does'nt work?
HOME octane standalone v3.07 | octane plugin for sketchup 3.07.0.14 | sketchup pro 2017 17.2.2555 64 bit | windows 10 pro 10.015063 build 15063 | i7-6700k @4.0 GHz | 32gb ram | 2x gtx 1070 | nvidia driver 382.33
Jorgensen
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 872
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2013 10:53 am

Re: Skatter - proxy from obj / standalone version

Postby smicha » Sat Jan 02, 2016 3:16 pm

smicha Sat Jan 02, 2016 3:16 pm
I see. For me the plugin at the current stage of development serves as an ocs scatter nodes exporter only. Unless it has full functionality of the Standalone with exact same nodal approach it is useless for me. Hope some day I see ready what Fuzzy has started.
Win7, Modo 10.1, Octane for Modo and Sketchup, nVidia latest, TITAN+3x780 6GB, 2600K, P8P67WS, 32GB, 1350W
SMH10, EK, Airplex_480, SR1_560, 20xNB_PL2, 2xD5, Aquaero 6XT
build-log http://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=42540
User avatar
smicha
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 3141
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2011 4:13 pm
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Return to SketchUp


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Sat Aug 24, 2019 8:03 am [ UTC ]