OctaneRender for SketchUp 2.24.2.1 - Test Release

Forums: OctaneRender for SketchUp 2.24.2.1 - Test Release
SketchUp Integrated Plugin (Integrated Plugin maintained by OTOY)

Re: OctaneRender for SketchUp 2.24.2.1 - Test Release

Postby CaptainCrowbar » Mon Dec 21, 2015 8:35 pm

CaptainCrowbar Mon Dec 21, 2015 8:35 pm
smicha wrote:Important question Captain: will I be able to use ocs (e.g. as proxy) when the ocs was created under 3.00?


Probably not. Some 3.0 OCS that only use features common to v2 and v3 may work, but files that use any new features from 3.0 are unlikely to work with a 2.x plugin.

Octane 3.0 is still in its early test release phase; we don't have a definitive roadmap yet. You can expect to see a test release of a 3.0 version of the SketchUp plugin at some point, but I can't give you an ETA for that yet.
User avatar
CaptainCrowbar
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 144
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2015 10:38 pm

Re: OctaneRender for SketchUp 2.24.2.1 - Test Release

Postby smicha » Tue Dec 22, 2015 10:19 am

smicha Tue Dec 22, 2015 10:19 am
Thanks captain for the answer. It's good that we can use obj proxy - for me it's for preview purposes as the standalone is still my primary Octane engine.

BTW - do you plan to work on nodal approach that Fuzzy started?
Win7, Modo 10.1, Octane for Modo and Sketchup, nVidia latest, TITAN+3x780 6GB, 2600K, P8P67WS, 32GB, 1350W
SMH10, EK, Airplex_480, SR1_560, 20xNB_PL2, 2xD5, Aquaero 6XT
build-log http://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=42540
User avatar
smicha
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 3141
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2011 4:13 pm
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: OctaneRender for SketchUp 2.24.2.1 - Test Release

Postby Notiusweb » Sat Jan 02, 2016 5:10 am

Notiusweb Sat Jan 02, 2016 5:10 am
Hello and regards,

I wanted to wish you all a Happy 2016, I now have a license for this plugin and am excited to use it and see it's development. I mainly use Daz Studio and am a heavy user of its Octane plugin.
Because I have been involved in the Daz forums, while the Daz plugin went from a really low state to a now much higher state, I am interested to share thoughts and workarounds I encounter while this plugin develops towards V3.

My first findings are that this is rather stable, as so long as I am aware of some things. (apologize if these are known in the manual, or mentioned in the forum somewhere).

(1) Tab Whitening (going blank)
One thing that I first ran into was that the 'Octane Material Editor' tab would suddenly blank to white, and then the 'Octane Viewport' and 'Octane Materials' tabs would quickly follow. I had to close out of SU and reload the whole scene in SU in order to get them functioning again, but ultimately it would happen again. Way to resolve is to close out all the Octane tabs, then FIRST open up the 'Octane Viewport', followed by the materials. In this order, the functionality will be restored without needing to close out and reopen SU itself.

(2) Materials not updating
Way to resolve is to click that round arrow for building geometry on the 'Octane Viewport', it seems to then 'unlock' the live updating of materials that you are attempting to edit. For example, I changed a car's body color, then when I tried the windows it was not working. But then when I rebuilt the geometry on the Viewport, all of the sudden now the windows could be tweaked just fine.

(3) Export to OCS causes 'Octane Viewport' to turn to mush
Again, way to resolve is by clicking that round arrow for building geometry on the 'Octane Viewport'. This button returns it back to normal, although it does have to render again.

Anyway, just wanted to say hello and give a heads up on my workarounds. Looking forward to everyone else's posts. :)

This was just a scene with other creator's 3DWarehouse components while I messed with the plugin.
Villa Rave.jpg


And here is the Haunted 'V3 Medium Scattering' version with the standalone :twisted:
HauntedRaveVilla.png
Win 10 Pro 64, Xeon E5-2687W v2 (8x 3.40GHz), G.Skill 64 GB DDR3-2400, ASRock X79 Extreme 11
Mobo: 1 Titan Xp, 1 Titan X Pascal
External: 6 Titan X Pascal - 1600W EVGA T2
Plugs: 3DSMax, C4D, Daz, Houdini, Lightwave, Sketchup
User avatar
Notiusweb
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1109
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 4:51 am

Re: OctaneRender for SketchUp 2.24.2.1 - Test Release

Postby Jorgensen » Mon Jan 04, 2016 1:24 pm

Jorgensen Mon Jan 04, 2016 1:24 pm
blank octane viewport.

the first time i open the octane viewport it works just fine, when i open again the viewport stays blank :-(

jorgensen
HOME octane standalone v3.07 | octane plugin for sketchup 3.07.0.14 | sketchup pro 2017 17.2.2555 64 bit | windows 10 pro 10.015063 build 15063 | i7-6700k @4.0 GHz | 32gb ram | 2x gtx 1070 | nvidia driver 382.33
Jorgensen
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 872
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2013 10:53 am

Re: OctaneRender for SketchUp 2.24.2.1 - Test Release

Postby smicha » Mon Jan 04, 2016 1:28 pm

smicha Mon Jan 04, 2016 1:28 pm
I had the issue some time ago - what I noticed is that after closing vram does not drop on a rendering card.
Win7, Modo 10.1, Octane for Modo and Sketchup, nVidia latest, TITAN+3x780 6GB, 2600K, P8P67WS, 32GB, 1350W
SMH10, EK, Airplex_480, SR1_560, 20xNB_PL2, 2xD5, Aquaero 6XT
build-log http://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=42540
User avatar
smicha
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 3141
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2011 4:13 pm
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: OctaneRender for SketchUp 2.24.2.1 - Test Release

Postby Jorgensen » Mon Jan 04, 2016 1:30 pm

Jorgensen Mon Jan 04, 2016 1:30 pm
hi smicha

how do you close vram?

thanks
HOME octane standalone v3.07 | octane plugin for sketchup 3.07.0.14 | sketchup pro 2017 17.2.2555 64 bit | windows 10 pro 10.015063 build 15063 | i7-6700k @4.0 GHz | 32gb ram | 2x gtx 1070 | nvidia driver 382.33
Jorgensen
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 872
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2013 10:53 am

Re: OctaneRender for SketchUp 2.24.2.1 - Test Release

Postby smicha » Mon Jan 04, 2016 1:35 pm

smicha Mon Jan 04, 2016 1:35 pm
For now it's fine (win 7 + SU 2016). What I did (if I remember well) I opened and closed material editor. Let me know if it works.
Win7, Modo 10.1, Octane for Modo and Sketchup, nVidia latest, TITAN+3x780 6GB, 2600K, P8P67WS, 32GB, 1350W
SMH10, EK, Airplex_480, SR1_560, 20xNB_PL2, 2xD5, Aquaero 6XT
build-log http://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=42540
User avatar
smicha
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 3141
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2011 4:13 pm
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: OctaneRender for SketchUp 2.24.2.1 - Test Release

Postby Jorgensen » Mon Jan 04, 2016 1:44 pm

Jorgensen Mon Jan 04, 2016 1:44 pm
well it seems that the material editor is doing something, but the editor is also stays blank.
but now i can open the render view, but i need to open an close the editor every time.

i might need to update screen drivers, but there is no contact to nvidia right now.
sometimes the view looks like the attached screenshot.

as the skatter plugin did not work, i had to update internet explorer.
could that be the problem?
Attachments
error.JPG
HOME octane standalone v3.07 | octane plugin for sketchup 3.07.0.14 | sketchup pro 2017 17.2.2555 64 bit | windows 10 pro 10.015063 build 15063 | i7-6700k @4.0 GHz | 32gb ram | 2x gtx 1070 | nvidia driver 382.33
Jorgensen
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 872
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2013 10:53 am

Re: OctaneRender for SketchUp 2.24.2.1 - Test Release

Postby smicha » Mon Jan 04, 2016 1:52 pm

smicha Mon Jan 04, 2016 1:52 pm
try to orbit your scene and see if it helps
Win7, Modo 10.1, Octane for Modo and Sketchup, nVidia latest, TITAN+3x780 6GB, 2600K, P8P67WS, 32GB, 1350W
SMH10, EK, Airplex_480, SR1_560, 20xNB_PL2, 2xD5, Aquaero 6XT
build-log http://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=42540
User avatar
smicha
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 3141
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2011 4:13 pm
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: OctaneRender for SketchUp 2.24.2.1 - Test Release

Postby fivebythree » Mon Jan 04, 2016 7:24 pm

fivebythree Mon Jan 04, 2016 7:24 pm
Are you guys up to date with your nVidia drivers?
STANDALONE v3 / SKETCHUP2017 v3 / BLENDER v3 / C4D R16 v3 WINDOWS7PROSP1 x64 | GTX1080ti + GTX780 | i7 4930 @3.4GHz 6 Core| 32GB
User avatar
fivebythree
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 225
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2014 2:43 pm
Location: Toronto, CAN
PreviousNext

Return to SketchUp


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Thu Aug 22, 2019 4:32 am [ UTC ]