HELP: OBJ size enormous after Sketchup Export !

Forums: HELP: OBJ size enormous after Sketchup Export !
SketchUp Integrated Plugin (Integrated Plugin maintained by OTOY)

HELP: OBJ size enormous after Sketchup Export !

Postby rappet » Mon Aug 03, 2015 6:28 pm

rappet Mon Aug 03, 2015 6:28 pm
Hi Guys,

I am doing some testing to see if I can do some visual work on a architectural interior project.

The orginal 3 seperate SKP files (3 parts; appr 150MB each) were appr 460MB in total.
Now, the one final received file to work with is just one large Sketchup file with size 320 MB; the three partial files are combined and even more objects are added to the scene.

For me to continue in Octane (archicad plugin) I use the Sketchup Exporter, but after more then 2 hours of calculating I had to quit Skecthup by having an error and the written OBJ file (no MTl yet) was appr 1,5 gB.
At this stage it looks like I can not accept the work, because I cannot handle this large SKP file.

I know you guys probably cannot help me out here,
but if you have any idea how to make such a big scene workable...?
And maybe you can say anything that might explain this heavy scene and also difference in big and smaller sizes when having mutliple scenes combined to one?

greetz,

Triple 2080ti & Quad 1080ti
[color=#8000BF]ArchiCAD22, ofcourse Octane & OR-ArchiCAD plugin (love it), C4D R18 (still no time 2 learn), Corel Draw

http://www.tapperworks.com
http://www.facebook.com/pages/TAPPERWORKS/287809851341126
http://www.youtube.com/user/Tapperworks/videos
User avatar
rappet
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1962
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 3:57 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: HELP: OBJ size enormous after Sketchup Export !

Postby rappet » Wed Aug 05, 2015 11:00 am

rappet Wed Aug 05, 2015 11:00 am
Right now I am splitting the SKP scene in smaller pieces.
The I can try two things to reassemble them within the Archicad plugin:
1. export them fromout Sketchup to seperately OBJ files and use as proxies
2. I can reassemble them by importing the seperate SKp files into Archicad

Too bad I cannot import the large SKp file. that would be so much easier.

Triple 2080ti & Quad 1080ti
[color=#8000BF]ArchiCAD22, ofcourse Octane & OR-ArchiCAD plugin (love it), C4D R18 (still no time 2 learn), Corel Draw

http://www.tapperworks.com
http://www.facebook.com/pages/TAPPERWORKS/287809851341126
http://www.youtube.com/user/Tapperworks/videos
User avatar
rappet
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1962
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 3:57 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: HELP: OBJ size enormous after Sketchup Export !

Postby whersmy » Wed Aug 05, 2015 11:12 am

whersmy Wed Aug 05, 2015 11:12 am
Maybe you can export a few smaller parts as .obj and re-assemble them with the placement nodes?
mac pro g5| pentium g2030 iGPU| maximus extreme V| 2x gtx590 - 8gb - SSD - win7-x64- 1500W Silverstone|
x201t - gtx580 - egpu ec
Dell G5 - 8GB - dgpu GTX1060 - TB3 egpu @ GTX1060
Octane Render experiments
User avatar
whersmy
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 608
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 7:40 am

Re: HELP: OBJ size enormous after Sketchup Export !

Postby rappet » Wed Aug 05, 2015 11:22 am

rappet Wed Aug 05, 2015 11:22 am
whersmy wrote:Maybe you can export a few smaller parts as .obj and re-assemble them with the placement nodes?

Hi Whersmy,

Yes, that is my option 1 I am trying right now
'1. export them fromout Sketchup to seperately OBJ files and use as proxies'

Do you happen to know if SPK sizes like 320MB is average for large interiror scene?
and then when exporting to OBj it becoms 1,5gb ?!

cheers,

Triple 2080ti & Quad 1080ti
[color=#8000BF]ArchiCAD22, ofcourse Octane & OR-ArchiCAD plugin (love it), C4D R18 (still no time 2 learn), Corel Draw

http://www.tapperworks.com
http://www.facebook.com/pages/TAPPERWORKS/287809851341126
http://www.youtube.com/user/Tapperworks/videos
User avatar
rappet
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1962
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 3:57 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: HELP: OBJ size enormous after Sketchup Export !

Postby whersmy » Wed Aug 05, 2015 11:31 am

whersmy Wed Aug 05, 2015 11:31 am
Yep, they tend to expand a lot in size.

Are there options to reduce polycount in sketchup? You can also use eg. 3dsmax to do that. 320mb is pretty big.

Im working on a rhino project now, the 3dm file is 300 mb, but the .obj is 1,4gb.
mac pro g5| pentium g2030 iGPU| maximus extreme V| 2x gtx590 - 8gb - SSD - win7-x64- 1500W Silverstone|
x201t - gtx580 - egpu ec
Dell G5 - 8GB - dgpu GTX1060 - TB3 egpu @ GTX1060
Octane Render experiments
User avatar
whersmy
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 608
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 7:40 am

Re: HELP: OBJ size enormous after Sketchup Export !

Postby rappet » Wed Aug 05, 2015 11:41 am

rappet Wed Aug 05, 2015 11:41 am
whersmy wrote:Yep, they tend to expand a lot in size.

OK, then it is not an issue of this project, but a general issue. Good to know.

whersmy wrote:Are there options to reduce polycount in sketchup? You can also use eg. 3dsmax to do that. 320mb is pretty big.

mm.? I was hoping to hear that from you (lol)... a good hint.. I will search for that. Thanx

whersmy wrote:Im working on a rhino project now, the 3dm file is 300 mb, but the .obj is 1,4gb.

Ah.... about the same scaling (I had 320MB SKP to 1,6 gB OBJ)

cheers,

Triple 2080ti & Quad 1080ti
[color=#8000BF]ArchiCAD22, ofcourse Octane & OR-ArchiCAD plugin (love it), C4D R18 (still no time 2 learn), Corel Draw

http://www.tapperworks.com
http://www.facebook.com/pages/TAPPERWORKS/287809851341126
http://www.youtube.com/user/Tapperworks/videos
User avatar
rappet
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1962
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 3:57 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: HELP: OBJ size enormous after Sketchup Export !

Postby smicha » Thu Aug 06, 2015 8:35 am

smicha Thu Aug 06, 2015 8:35 am
Rappet,

Something happened to notifications from Sketchup topics - that's why I am replying too late.

My models are huge in SU (200MB+) and I never export them at once - I always use layers (layer plugin) on which I put certain parts of a model and then I export it to obj nodes and connect them with 'geometry group' node. But I still use the standalone for my final works.
Win7, Modo 10.1, Octane for Modo and Sketchup, nVidia latest, TITAN+3x780 6GB, 2600K, P8P67WS, 32GB, 1350W
SMH10, EK, Airplex_480, SR1_560, 20xNB_PL2, 2xD5, Aquaero 6XT
build-log http://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=42540
User avatar
smicha
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 3145
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2011 4:13 pm
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: HELP: OBJ size enormous after Sketchup Export !

Postby rappet » Thu Aug 06, 2015 8:42 am

rappet Thu Aug 06, 2015 8:42 am
smicha wrote:Rappet,

Something happened to notifications from Sketchup topics - that's why I am replying too late.

My models are huge in SU (200MB+) and I never export them at once - I always use layers (layer plugin) on which I put certain parts of a model and then I export it to obj nodes and connect them with 'geometry group' node. But I still use the standalone for my final works.

Hey Smicha,
Indeed, It seems I have to do the same to get it properly in Archicad plugin with OBJ proxies
By curting the SKP in parts and export them to relatively small obj parts
Thanx doe lerting me know and strengthen me in being on the right path.

Another option could be to export from Sketchup to an IFC file,
But then texture maps are lost if I am correct.

Greetz

Triple 2080ti & Quad 1080ti
[color=#8000BF]ArchiCAD22, ofcourse Octane & OR-ArchiCAD plugin (love it), C4D R18 (still no time 2 learn), Corel Draw

http://www.tapperworks.com
http://www.facebook.com/pages/TAPPERWORKS/287809851341126
http://www.youtube.com/user/Tapperworks/videos
User avatar
rappet
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1962
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 3:57 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: HELP: OBJ size enormous after Sketchup Export !

Postby smicha » Thu Aug 06, 2015 9:21 am

smicha Thu Aug 06, 2015 9:21 am
What I am doing to maximally reduce obj and entire model size:

All geometry is as simple as possible in SU (circle has 8,16 or 24 sides (depending on purpose), arch for acute angle 3-4 sides), no rounded edges. Then I export an SU object as fbx with only 'swap yz' selected (no triangulation, no texturing...).
Then I import geometry to Modo and apply bevels and preview only subdiv levels. I also UV geometry in modo. Then I export an obj file to the standalone and there apply texturing and independent subdiv levels where I want. All scatter nodes are from SU plugin.

I am aware it is a longer process but it is a very efficient in terms of vram savings and responsiveness.
Win7, Modo 10.1, Octane for Modo and Sketchup, nVidia latest, TITAN+3x780 6GB, 2600K, P8P67WS, 32GB, 1350W
SMH10, EK, Airplex_480, SR1_560, 20xNB_PL2, 2xD5, Aquaero 6XT
build-log http://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=42540
User avatar
smicha
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 3145
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2011 4:13 pm
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: HELP: OBJ size enormous after Sketchup Export !

Postby rappet » Thu Aug 06, 2015 9:39 am

rappet Thu Aug 06, 2015 9:39 am
smicha wrote:What I am doing to maximally reduce obj and entire model size:

All geometry is as simple as possible in SU (circle has 8,16 or 24 sides (depending on purpose), arch for acute angle 3-4 sides), no rounded edges. Then I export an SU object as fbx with only 'swap yz' selected (no triangulation, no texturing...).
Then I import geometry to Modo and apply bevels and preview only subdiv levels. I also UV geometry in modo. Then I export an obj file to the standalone and there apply texturing and independent subdiv levels where I want. All scatter nodes are from SU plugin.

I am aware it is a longer process but it is a very efficient in terms of vram savings and responsiveness.

Yes, you invest time to get an efficient model to save time in the Octane Phase.
I do not model in Sketchup, but I receive a file (i.e. from architect) which is very large, and then I have to make it workable.
So, the geometry might be not as simple, but highpoly instead.
Why do you not use TIG's Sketchup OBJ exporter? It works great with Texture files correctly; saves you a few steps.
Or do you gain a lot by apply bevels in Modo? ( btw: I won't go there... my brain will overcook go into even more software :oops: )

Triple 2080ti & Quad 1080ti
[color=#8000BF]ArchiCAD22, ofcourse Octane & OR-ArchiCAD plugin (love it), C4D R18 (still no time 2 learn), Corel Draw

http://www.tapperworks.com
http://www.facebook.com/pages/TAPPERWORKS/287809851341126
http://www.youtube.com/user/Tapperworks/videos
User avatar
rappet
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1962
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 3:57 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Next

Return to SketchUp


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

Mon Sep 28, 2020 11:25 pm [ UTC ]