IES size and shape?

Forums: IES size and shape?
SketchUp Integrated Plugin (Integrated Plugin maintained by OTOY)

IES size and shape?

Postby Sheiken » Thu Jan 01, 2015 8:35 pm

Sheiken Thu Jan 01, 2015 8:35 pm
Hi,
I just started learning Octane today... after years with Maxwell.
I am a bit surprised abou the way IES emitters work. The power inceses when I scale out the plane. When I make the same plane a cube the power decreases. I suppose that is a bug...
The manual talks about spherical mapping with ies emitters, which we do not have in SU. I assume the plugin handles that, but what should I apply the material to (for accurate results)?

How accurete is Octane with IES & power etc? Can it be used for lighting simulations?
Sheiken
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer

Re: IES size and shape?

Postby Lewis » Fri Jan 02, 2015 12:21 pm

Lewis Fri Jan 02, 2015 12:21 pm
Not sure how is in Sketchup (but i suppose it won't be much different than other app plugins) but i dont' find it very accurate. I work with IES lights very much on my daily work (light projects/simulations) and IES in Octane work weird and it's not really acurate as tha tit reads Lumens/Lux values. In Octane it's very dependant on scale/size sicne Octane always uses "geometry" lights and doesn't really use Lumens from IES files. so yu can use it to get "nice" effect but don't think it as definite rela world value/intensity.

I also miss IES WEB/Shape in OpenGL. It's really hard to aim/use asymetric IES files when they look like flat plane/geometry

cheers
--
Lewis
http://www.ram-studio.hr
Skype - lewis3d
ICQ - 7128177

WS AMD TRPro 3955WX, 256GB RAM, Win10, 2 * RTX 4090, 1 * RTX 3090
RS1 i7 9800X, 64GB RAM, Win10, 3 * RTX 3090
RS2 i7 6850K, 64GB RAM, Win10, 2 * RTX 4090
Lewis
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer

Postby Sheiken » Fri Jan 02, 2015 5:59 pm

Sheiken Fri Jan 02, 2015 5:59 pm