geomerty problem

Forums: geomerty problem
SketchUp Integrated Plugin (Integrated Plugin maintained by OTOY)

geomerty problem

Postby Jorgensen » Wed Jun 18, 2014 9:40 am

Jorgensen Wed Jun 18, 2014 9:40 am
Hi

I have a simple chair that I would like to use, but it seems that Octance fails to render the chair :-/

It seems to happen when two curved faces are near each other.

Is there somekind of workaround?

Thanks :-)
Attachments
1.JPG
HOME octane standalone v3.07 | octane plugin for sketchup 3.07.0.14 | sketchup pro 2017 17.2.2555 64 bit | windows 10 pro 10.015063 build 15063 | i7-6700k @4.0 GHz | 32gb ram | 2x gtx 1070 | nvidia driver 382.33
Jorgensen
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 872
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2013 10:53 am

Re: geomerty problem

Postby resmas » Wed Jun 18, 2014 1:00 pm

resmas Wed Jun 18, 2014 1:00 pm
hello mate.

Can you send me the chair? it looks like maybe normal are inverted or duplicated mesh.

In StandALone how does it render?

cheers
resmas
i7-2600k | SSD Vertex 3 | WD Velociraptor | WS Revolution | 16GB Ram HyperX | PSU LEPA G1600W | 3 X Asus GTX590 |
https://pt-pt.facebook.com/arq.resmas
User avatar
resmas
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 510
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 10:44 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: geomerty problem

Postby Seekerfinder » Wed Jun 18, 2014 1:41 pm

Seekerfinder Wed Jun 18, 2014 1:41 pm
Jorgensen wrote:Hi

I have a simple chair that I would like to use, but it seems that Octance fails to render the chair :-/

It seems to happen when two curved faces are near each other.

Is there somekind of workaround?

Thanks :-)


Check the normals.
Play with scale.

Let us know if that helps.

Seeker
Win 8(64) | P9X79-E WS | i7-3930K | 32GB | GTX Titan & GTX 780Ti | SketchUP | Revit | Beta tester for Revit & Sketchup plugins for Octane
User avatar
Seekerfinder
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1597
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 11:34 am

Re: geomerty problem

Postby fuzzybro » Wed Jun 18, 2014 5:50 pm

fuzzybro Wed Jun 18, 2014 5:50 pm
Hi Jorgensen,

If nothings helps try right-click on the geometry and select "Octane Mesh". In opened dialog select "load normals - false". This will force octane to recalculate normals instead of loading them from SU.

Hope that helps

Bro
User avatar
fuzzybro
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 562
Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2013 7:10 am
Location: Los Angeles, California

Re: geomerty problem

Postby Jorgensen » Wed Jun 18, 2014 8:57 pm

Jorgensen Wed Jun 18, 2014 8:57 pm
hi fuzzybro

thanks - that seems to fix the problem :-)

thank you
HOME octane standalone v3.07 | octane plugin for sketchup 3.07.0.14 | sketchup pro 2017 17.2.2555 64 bit | windows 10 pro 10.015063 build 15063 | i7-6700k @4.0 GHz | 32gb ram | 2x gtx 1070 | nvidia driver 382.33
Jorgensen
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 872
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2013 10:53 am

Re: geomerty problem

Postby fuzzybro » Wed Jun 18, 2014 10:01 pm

fuzzybro Wed Jun 18, 2014 10:01 pm
Great!
SU can screw geometry up sometimes, so use this trick to fix bad geometry.

Cheers!
User avatar
fuzzybro
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 562
Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2013 7:10 am
Location: Los Angeles, California

Return to SketchUp


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

Sun Oct 25, 2020 5:47 am [ UTC ]