Which version of Sketchup will this work with when its done?

Forums: Which version of Sketchup will this work with when its done?
SketchUp Integrated Plugin (Integrated Plugin maintained by OTOY)

Which version of Sketchup will this work with when its done?

Postby Nemo » Sun May 30, 2010 3:34 am

Nemo Sun May 30, 2010 3:34 am
Will this plugin work with the free version of Sketchup or will Sketchup Pro be required?
GeForce 8800 GTS 512|Q6600|Win7 64bit
Nemo
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2010 3:02 pm

Re: Which version of Sketchup will this work with when its done?

Postby radiance » Sun May 30, 2010 6:12 pm

radiance Sun May 30, 2010 6:12 pm
Hi,

It's in development and we think it's 1-2 weeks before we'll have the first version.
It should support both pro and free versions.

Radiance
Win 7 x64 & ubuntu | 2x GTX480 | Quad 2.66GHz | 8GB
User avatar
radiance
 
Posts: 7633
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 2:33 pm

Re: Which version of Sketchup will this work with when its done?

Postby nektares » Mon May 31, 2010 2:02 pm

nektares Mon May 31, 2010 2:02 pm
Hey! i´m glad Tig is writing the plug-in :D i´m a SketchUp user too and i am very excited with Octane Render, i can´t use it right now, i need to buy my new PC and wait for the plug-in to be finished! it´s good to hear that´s very close!
..::nektares::..
User avatar
nektares
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat May 29, 2010 8:06 pm
Location: Mexico

Re: Which version of Sketchup will this work with when its done?

Postby T_England » Mon May 31, 2010 5:34 pm

T_England Mon May 31, 2010 5:34 pm
in the meantime i used a free obj exporter for sketchup and it works good. Admittedly i went through Maya first to check
T_England
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 3:48 pm

Re: Which version of Sketchup will this work with when its done?

Postby Nemo » Tue Jun 01, 2010 6:32 am

Nemo Tue Jun 01, 2010 6:32 am
radiance wrote:It should support both pro and free versions.

Thanks, Radiance.



@T_England
I found an obj exporter for the free Sketchup before but it crashes when it tries to write the obj itself, though it does export the textures with proper names. Is this the one you use? http://jim.foltz.googlepages.com/ObjExporter.rb

If it is, would you try it on some of these Architectural scenes from the Google 3DWarehouse, (like some of these from Surya Murali), and tell me if it works? I just want some Archiviz scenes to play with and the stuff from the Google 3dwarehouse are the only ones I know of.
GeForce 8800 GTS 512|Q6600|Win7 64bit
Nemo
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2010 3:02 pm

Re: Which version of Sketchup will this work with when its done?

Postby Richcat » Tue Jun 01, 2010 12:01 pm

Richcat Tue Jun 01, 2010 12:01 pm
Great to see TIG working on this
If anybodys interested in the meantime I came across this exporter http://onigiriburning.so.land.to/
su2objmtl2.zip it seems fast but having few issues. See http://www.refractivesoftware.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1617 approx ninth post down. Still experimenting.
GTX 550Ti 1GB - XP PRO 32 bit - Sketchup Pro user.
Richcat
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 2:48 pm
Location: uk

Re: Which version of Sketchup will this work with when its done?

Postby redmotion » Tue Jun 01, 2010 12:49 pm

redmotion Tue Jun 01, 2010 12:49 pm
Nice find, Richcat.

I'll take a look at this when I get home, do you know if it plays nicely with nested components and groups?
win 7 64 | q6600 | 4gb ram | gtx 260 [196] | driver nvidia 197.13 | SketchUp7 | Softimage 2010
win 7 64 | i5-2500k | 16gb | gtx 570 | driver 275.33 | SketchUp8 Pro
User avatar
redmotion
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2010 8:05 pm

Re: Which version of Sketchup will this work with when its done?

Postby T_England » Tue Jun 01, 2010 2:12 pm

T_England Tue Jun 01, 2010 2:12 pm
I don't recall which one it was , when i get home ill upload it here.

Also, wow those samples are pretty sophisticated, i was only exporting some white block models
T_England
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 3:48 pm

Re: Which version of Sketchup will this work with when its done?

Postby Richcat » Tue Jun 01, 2010 2:47 pm

Richcat Tue Jun 01, 2010 2:47 pm
Hi redmotion
Not sure on group and components, I think a exploded the model but that was because I was looking at smoothing issues. I'm sorry but not near my machine for a couple of days to give further feedback, but can't wait to get back to it, having just purchased Octane.
Biggest thing I learnt was that smoothing is applied by colour, so say you have a flat face and curved face both in same colour, when you apply smoothing in octane, the flat face or any faces in that colour get smoothed. That's when you get the dark shading across the flat faces. So now I'm careful to create diferent material names for flat and curved faces. I didn't have time to check out how this is effected when you apply materials to groups or components.
GTX 550Ti 1GB - XP PRO 32 bit - Sketchup Pro user.
Richcat
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 2:48 pm
Location: uk

Re: Which version of Sketchup will this work with when its done?

Postby T_England » Tue Jun 01, 2010 8:07 pm

T_England Tue Jun 01, 2010 8:07 pm
Nero i just checked the plug-ins directory it is that exporter, i cant really test those scenes out as my net is slow here (dongle internet) and it would take up to much of my time. I suggest you try simpler scene files first. I only ever really use sketchup for quick and rough blockouts and layouts as it tends to output poly meshes resembling dogs dinners :)

Each to their own though, i'm sure these guys are gonna get something set up here soon anyway.
T_England
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 3:48 pm
Next

Return to SketchUp


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Mon Nov 18, 2019 5:55 am [ UTC ]