Shutdowns When Using Denoiser (RTX?)

Forums: Shutdowns When Using Denoiser (RTX?)
Maxon Cinema 4D (Export script developed by abstrax, Integrated Plugin developed by aoktar)

Moderator: aoktar

Re: Shutdowns When Using Denoiser (RTX?)

Postby Rik » Thu Apr 02, 2020 12:20 pm

Rik Thu Apr 02, 2020 12:20 pm
Not sure if anyone else found this but if I only use 1 card to denoise then it works fine.

Currently using 2 x 2080ti for the rendering and a 1060 6gb fo denoising duties.

So far so good...
Rik
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 321
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2010 8:57 pm

Re: Shutdowns When Using Denoiser (RTX?)

Postby Rik » Wed May 06, 2020 10:42 pm

Rik Wed May 06, 2020 10:42 pm
Crap!

Instant shutdown crashes happening again. Had been working fine, rendered thousands of frames over the last couple of weeks no problem.

1200watt psu
32gb ram
Only 1280x720 frame size
2 2080ti doing the rendering
1 1060 doing the denoise and monitors.

What's the latest in this please Otoy?
Rik
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 321
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2010 8:57 pm

Re: Shutdowns When Using Denoiser (RTX?)

Postby bepeg4d » Fri May 08, 2020 8:47 am

bepeg4d Fri May 08, 2020 8:47 am
Probably you need more Watt, try to add an external 550/650W PSU for powering one of the two 2080Ti.

ciao Beppe
User avatar
bepeg4d
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 7325
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 6:02 am
Location: Italy

Re: Shutdowns When Using Denoiser (RTX?)

Postby Lewis » Fri May 08, 2020 9:00 am

Lewis Fri May 08, 2020 9:00 am
1200W PSU for 1060 + 2*2080Ti is more than enough power, It can only be that PSU is not platinum/titanium rated (Quality) so some rails fluctuate more than others and thus invoke restart, but combined in power 2*2080Ti+1060 can't pull more than 750-800W even if heavily overclocked.

TDP of 2080ti is 260W (let's say 300 max if overclocked but on my UPS metering i see Octane is not even usingn full TDP of GPUs, for example my 1080ti-s are pulling 220-225W when octane rendering although they are rated at 250W TDP) So 2*300 = 600 and 1060 is 120W but let's round it to 150W TDP.

That would be 300+300+150 = 750W MAX for GPUs and CPU and all other components are 150-200 range (at full power) so he is well below 1000W and his PSU is 1200W so can't be that.....
--
Lewis
http://www.ram-studio.hr
Skype - lewis3d
ICQ - 7128177

WS Dual Xeon E5-2698v4, 128GB RAM, Win10, 4 * RTX 2080Ti
RS1 i7 9800X, 64GB RAM, Win10, 3 * GTX 1080Ti
RS2 i7 6850K, 64GB RAM, Win10, 3 * GTX 1080Ti
User avatar
Lewis
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 917
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 6:30 pm
Location: Croatia

Re: Shutdowns When Using Denoiser (RTX?)

Postby bepeg4d » Fri May 08, 2020 9:32 am

bepeg4d Fri May 08, 2020 9:32 am
Not all the 1200W PSU gain real 1200W, and with AI Denoiser, the peak can be higher than 300W.
My two cents,

ciao Beppe
User avatar
bepeg4d
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 7325
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 6:02 am
Location: Italy

Re: Shutdowns When Using Denoiser (RTX?)

Postby Lewis » Sat May 09, 2020 7:36 am

Lewis Sat May 09, 2020 7:36 am
Sure Beppe i understand what oyu want to say but i i just disagree.

Here is my example, 4*2080Ti and i have Corsair AXi 1600W PSU (Best PSU you can buy today, it can peak at 1700W) and when i'm using denoiser i sometime get crash/BSOD or shutdown, without denoiser i can render for days no issues, even with 5th GPU in case (i had 1080 in case also so there was 5 GPUs on same PSU no issues but with Denoiser even 4 can't work properly).

2nd machine has 3*1080Ti and Corsair AXi 1500W, same issue , Deoniser no go, without denoiser all fine.

Somethign is either bugged in Octane denoiser how it works or in drivers. Can't be that so maybe PCs/PSUs are broken.
--
Lewis
http://www.ram-studio.hr
Skype - lewis3d
ICQ - 7128177

WS Dual Xeon E5-2698v4, 128GB RAM, Win10, 4 * RTX 2080Ti
RS1 i7 9800X, 64GB RAM, Win10, 3 * GTX 1080Ti
RS2 i7 6850K, 64GB RAM, Win10, 3 * GTX 1080Ti
User avatar
Lewis
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 917
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 6:30 pm
Location: Croatia

Re: Shutdowns When Using Denoiser (RTX?)

Postby Rik » Sat May 09, 2020 8:55 am

Rik Sat May 09, 2020 8:55 am
bepeg4d wrote:Not all the 1200W PSU gain real 1200W, and with AI Denoiser, the peak can be higher than 300W.
My two cents,

ciao Beppe


So the denoiser pulls additional 300watts? Are you saying that's 300 watts over and above the TDP of the components in a PC?

Does that sound right? Can software actually do that? Should software be able to do that?

Something funny going on here Otoy....
Rik
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 321
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2010 8:57 pm

Re: Shutdowns When Using Denoiser (RTX?)

Postby bepeg4d » Mon May 11, 2020 11:00 am

bepeg4d Mon May 11, 2020 11:00 am
Hi Lewis,
what happen if you disable one GPU from both machines, are they able to render with Denoiser active?
Btw, I stopped to purchase Corsair PSUs from a long time now, I use only EVGA PSUs, and I had no more any issues with powering.

ciao Beppe
User avatar
bepeg4d
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 7325
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 6:02 am
Location: Italy

Re: Shutdowns When Using Denoiser (RTX?)

Postby Lewis » Mon May 11, 2020 12:24 pm

Lewis Mon May 11, 2020 12:24 pm
bepeg4d wrote:Hi Lewis,
what happen if you disable one GPU from both machines, are they able to render with Denoiser active?
Btw, I stopped to purchase Corsair PSUs from a long time now, I use only EVGA PSUs, and I had no more any issues with powering.

ciao Beppe


Trust me Beppe PSU is not problem here (i had Enermax 1700W prior this and OCT 1250W prior that). But Corsair 1600AXi is best PSU for todays market, it has specific new digital components and quality is above anything else (EVGA included) currently on market. Check the online reviews if you do not trust me :).

I believe problem here is that when you have Denoising on multiple GPUs they somehow over-trip each other or so so if i disable denoising on some then it's fine but sometime it works with all 4 sometime with only 2 sometime 3 , there is no sure settings except disabling Denoising completely and using bruteforce thuasands of samples = loong rendertimes.
--
Lewis
http://www.ram-studio.hr
Skype - lewis3d
ICQ - 7128177

WS Dual Xeon E5-2698v4, 128GB RAM, Win10, 4 * RTX 2080Ti
RS1 i7 9800X, 64GB RAM, Win10, 3 * GTX 1080Ti
RS2 i7 6850K, 64GB RAM, Win10, 3 * GTX 1080Ti
User avatar
Lewis
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 917
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 6:30 pm
Location: Croatia

Re: Shutdowns When Using Denoiser (RTX?)

Postby bepeg4d » Tue May 12, 2020 9:18 am

bepeg4d Tue May 12, 2020 9:18 am
Hi Lewis,
ok, but if sometimes it works, and sometimes is not, it means that it is not reproducible, and impossible to be fixed.
Could you try to connect an external PSU to one GPU only for some time, just to be sure that your PSU is not the issue?

ciao Beppe
User avatar
bepeg4d
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 7325
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 6:02 am
Location: Italy
PreviousNext

Return to Maxon Cinema 4D


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests

Wed Jul 08, 2020 1:52 am [ UTC ]