Page 2 of 5

Re: Shutdowns When Using Denoiser (RTX?)

PostPosted: Tue Mar 26, 2019 2:35 pm
by natemac00
FAZ wrote:UPDATE!
I just purchased a brand new threadripper workstation, completely new machine, same shutdown issues with Octane C4d plugin with denoiser only when rendering an animation. There is either something wrong on Otoy's end or with Nvidia's RTX or drivers (which I have tried quite a few) . I am guessing this is a pretty reproducible critical bug since my two workstations are two different architectures- intel i7 and AMD 2950x.

In the end, a lot of time and money was wasted I really hope this issue gets resolved. If the lightwave octane plugin of this same issue is any indication, this will just be silently ignored as it was in that thread.


I brought this issue up with aoktar and octane support and no one could help me, we switched our PC user out to a Mac... we were using a GTX1070 with 1100w PSU, no issue with the same GPU in the Mac.

Re: Shutdowns When Using Denoiser (RTX?)

PostPosted: Tue Mar 26, 2019 2:42 pm
by natemac00
Maybe this will help....

From support (reads from the bottom up):

So if we just enable ONLY the GTX 770 for rendering we don’t crash,
if we enable ONLY the 1070 for rendering we DO crash.
and the 1070 draws much less power then the 770 does, that’s why i’m hesitant about saying its a PSU issue… also that PSU is 1100w.

finally this denies issue has been happening since we started octane 4, so I don’t think it’s a driver issue.
Because it doesn’t seem like anyone can figure this out, we have begun migrating her over to a 2012 Mac Pro, although this is just a band-ade at the moment.

-natemac00

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

On Feb 7, 2019, at 11:30 AM, The OTOY Team <[email protected]> wrote:

logo twitter facebook
##- Please type your reply above this line -##
Your request (131618) has been updated. To add additional comments, reply to this email.


Beppe Gullotta (OTOY, Inc.)
Feb 7, 17:30 UTC

Hi Nate,
thanks for sharing the screen capture.
In general, this could happen for two reasons:

the PSU is not powerfull enough to handle denoising. AI Denoiser process yends to reack the power consumption peak of the selected GPU. If the PSU has not enough power, or is too old, you can have instant restarts of the machine.

Your motherboard is X99/X299 modek with PLX chip for multi GPU. There is a known issue, not related with Ictane, but between Win 10, Nvidia drivers greater than 387.xx, and PLX chip.
Please have a look at this discussion on the Otoy forum for a solution:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=68650

Looking forward for your feedback,

ciao Beppe

Octane Support Team

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


natemac00
Feb 6, 16:37 UTC

sorry, got a bit busy, here is the video: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1hZAIHP ... sp=sharing<https://bowtie.mailbutler.io/tracking/hit/e03c0b51-b468-41f9-b88b-0385ca980564/c3c1357a-f206-4a31-93fb-8eeaf5f50573?notrack=true>

-natemac00

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

On Feb 2, 2019, at 12:04 PM, The OTOY Team <[email protected]<mailto:[email protected]>> wrote:


Beppe Gullotta (OTOY, Inc.)
Jan 28, 17:08 UTC

Hi Nate,
please share a video tomorrow when possible, hopefully it will give us more info on what is going on.
Looking forward for your feedback

ciao Beppe

Octane Support Team


-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

natemac00
Jan 28, 17:02 UTC

I could record a video from a mobile phone, but it would crash before I’d be able to save the video file to send you…. I’m not sure about the cuda error, as we did a complete clean install of win10, geforce, octane, cinema, ect… we tried to take software issue completely out of the troubleshooting… I’m unfortunately snowed-in and am not in front of the computer today. The best I can do is remote log into the machine. So a mobile phone video will have to wait till tomorrow.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

On Jan 28, 2019, at 10:57 AM, The OTOY Team <[email protected]<mailto:[email protected]>> wrote:


Beppe Gullotta (OTOY, Inc.)
Jan 28, 16:57 UTC

Hi Nate,
is it possible for you to take and share a video of what is happening?
The c4d bugreport.txt shows a driver conflict between CUDA and OpenGL, so maybe the issue is in the software side.
Looking forward for your feedback,

ciao Beppe

Octane Support Team


-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

natemac00
Jan 28, 16:44 UTC

We’ve rendered a cube and plane, and it will crash. It’s not specific to that scene, it specific to the denoiser.

On Jan 28, 2019, at 10:37 AM, The OTOY Team <[email protected]<mailto:[email protected]>> wrote:


-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Beppe Gullotta (OTOY, Inc.)
Jan 28, 16:37 UTC

Hi Nate,
maybe the PSU is not working properly, and have issues whlile teaching the peack of consumption.
I have the same GPU in one of my machines, and has no issues with denoiser.
If you use the machine in network rendering, the denoising is made by the Master, so the issue could be related with system RAM.
Try to close the daemon, open Standalone 4.02, run your scene at a lower resolution, and check the RAM consumption while rendering in task manager.
Looking forward for your feedback,

ciao Beppe

Octane Support Team

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


natemac00
Jan 28, 16:17 UTC

It has the 1100 Watt upgraded PSU, this is an issue with only denoiser and only with the 1070, no other rendering scenarios.
With or without network rendering, even if we choose to only you a the single 1070. That gpu is only rated at 150w. The 770 is rated at 230w and doesn’t crash the machine.

https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/ ... A514&smp=Y<https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1282164-REG/gigabyte_gv_n1070ixoc_8gd_geforce_gtx_1070_graphics.html/?ap=y&gclid=EAIaIQobChMItofs0--Q4AIVBwVpCh2C_g7mEAYYASABEgJ5KPD_BwE&lsft=BI:514&smp=Y>


-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

On Jan 28, 2019, at 10:10 AM, The OTOY Team <[email protected]<mailto:[email protected]>> wrote:


Beppe Gullotta (OTOY, Inc.)
Jan 28, 16:10 UTC

Hi Nate,
thanks for sharing the System Profiler.
Is this your machine?
http://www8.hp.com/uk/en/products/works ... !tab=specs
If your machine is restarting, maybe there is an issue with PSU.
During denoising, the PSU reaches the peak of consumption, and could be an issue, if PSU is not working perfectly.
Looking forward for your feedback,

ciao Beppe

Octane Support Team

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


natemac00
Jan 25, 17:03 UTC

https://www.dropbox.com/s/ydkbndiuy1jmv ... e.zip?dl=0
Linked of the results above

-natemac00

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

On Jan 25, 2019, at 4:31 AM, The OTOY Team <[email protected]<mailto:[email protected]>> wrote:



Beppe Gullotta (OTOY, Inc.)
Jan 25, 10:31 UTC

Hi Nate,

In order to troubleshoot your issue further, we will need further information from your machine. In order to collect this information, please download and run our support tool to collect the required information and email the zip file SystemProfile.zip generated by the tool. Please be sure to enter your Support Ticket Number in the System Profiler before running the utility.

Download OTOY System Profiler
Please note that this tool and the data generated by it is covered by our Privacy Policy and End User License Agreement (View here)

Looking forward for your feedback

ciao Beppe

Octane Support Team


-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

natemac00
Jan 24, 23:00 UTC

Attached are the Console and Nvidia System info.
Let me know if there is anything else you need.
We’re located in Chicago (GMT-6).
our 9am-5pm would be 4pm-12am Italy, if that makes a difference :)

Thanks for your help we are at a loss.

-natemac00

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

On Jan 24, 2019, at 4:52 PM, The OTOY Team <[email protected]<mailto:[email protected]>> wrote:


Attachment(s)
c4dconsole.jpeg
nvidia control system info.JPG

Kevin (OTOY, Inc.)
Jan 24, 22:52 UTC

Hi Nate,

I'm assigning your ticket to Beppe, our technical support. He's based in Italy but let's provide the following info to speed things up:

Please navigate to the Cinema 4D menu Script/Console, (Shift+F10), and share a complete screenshot of the panel.

Next, navigate to your Control Panel/Nvidia Control Panel, press the System Informations link, and share a screenshot:

WIN_SystemInformation.jpeg

Lastly, thank you for the hardware/version numbers.

Thanks,
Kevin


-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

natemac00
Jan 24, 18:44 UTC

https://www.dropbox.com/s/oxi74hox0090i ... ne.7z?dl=0

Win 10 Pro
RAM 32GB
GTX 770 (Monitors/Not Rendering)
GTX 1070 (Rendering GPU)
Network Render ON or OFF
Cinema 4D R20.030
Octane 4.01.1-r2

When rendering to the Live Viewer with Denoise ON & Denoise on Completion ON, It will do the full render and at 100% will Hard Crash the computer.
When rendering to the Live Viewer with Denoise ON & Denoise on Completion OFF, It will do about 5% of the render & will Hard Crash the computer.
When rendering to Render Viewer with Use denoised beauty pass ON, It will do about 5% of the render & will Hard Crash the computer.

If we move rendering(Gpu, Use Priority, Use for tonemap, Use for denoising) to just the 1070. We hard crash.
If we move the rendering(Gpu, Use Priority, Use for tonemap, Use for denoising) to just the 770. We do not hard crash.
If we move rendering(Gpu, Use Priority, Use for tonemap, Use for denoising) to both the 770 & 1070. We hard crash.

We tried rendering with the 1070 with USE for denoising unchecked but still Hard Crashed.

We have just done a completely clean install of Windows 10, Cinema 4D & Octane.
This issue is not the case on the (2) Mac Pro Cinema 4D/Octane machines we have.

This email is a service from OTOY, Inc..
OTOY, Inc.
1010 Wilshire Blvd., Suite 1604
Los Angeles, CA 90017 USA

[Z3VO94-EG2W]


Re: Shutdowns When Using Denoiser (RTX?)

PostPosted: Wed Mar 27, 2019 5:53 pm
by FAZ
natemac00 wrote:Maybe this will help....


[/quote]


I use a different motherboard with an AMD chip. No PLX is in this rig, so the issue still seems to be with either Nvidia or Otoy. Two machines, two different architectures, same issue.

Re: Shutdowns When Using Denoiser (RTX?)

PostPosted: Wed Apr 17, 2019 10:00 am
by ukirishan
I've been having the same issue.

I'm using WIndows 10 with a laptop (2x 1070s). Full spec..... https://www.scan.co.uk/products/173-3xs ... 0gb-m2-ssd

When rending in C4D Octane 4 picture viewer, my machine disconnects from the PSU and goes to battery mode.

Octane 3.08 however is completely stable.

Re: Shutdowns When Using Denoiser (RTX?)

PostPosted: Thu Apr 18, 2019 10:09 am
by aoktar
To be more specific write down

Full version numbers of C4D/plugin/OS
Hardware specs
Resolution

Re: Shutdowns When Using Denoiser (RTX?)

PostPosted: Mon Apr 22, 2019 2:55 pm
by DiegoRuizDiaz
I've been having the same problem even with low and medium load scenes. It is octane denoise without a doubt, nothing else crash. It was a bit more stable in previous versions but still got some ramdom black screen and restarts. This 4.03 its driven me crazy. Any ideas !!

I74790k 16GB
1080Ti NVIDIA 419.67
Cinema 4D R20 Octane 4.03
Windows 8.1

Re: Shutdowns When Using Denoiser (RTX?)

PostPosted: Mon Apr 22, 2019 3:57 pm
by bepeg4d
It is not a metter of complexity of the scene, but it is about resolution and available system RAM.
16GB are not too much, at which resolution are you rendering?
ciao Beppe

Re: Shutdowns When Using Denoiser (RTX?)

PostPosted: Mon Apr 22, 2019 4:01 pm
by DiegoRuizDiaz
bepeg4d wrote:It is not a metter of complexity of the scene, but it is about resolution and available system RAM.
16GB are not too much, at which resolution are you rendering?
ciao Beppe


Hi Beppe, 1080p

Re: Shutdowns When Using Denoiser (RTX?)

PostPosted: Mon Apr 22, 2019 4:03 pm
by bepeg4d
And what happens if you decrease the resolution by half?
ciao Beppe

Re: Shutdowns When Using Denoiser (RTX?)

PostPosted: Mon Apr 22, 2019 4:07 pm
by DiegoRuizDiaz
bepeg4d wrote:And what happens if you decrease the resolution by half?
ciao Beppe



I'll try that, the thing its that the crashes are random, not at a specific point and the scenes do not use anymore than 50% RAM.