Animating Turbulence Noise

Forums: Animating Turbulence Noise
Maxon Cinema 4D (Export script developed by abstrax, Integrated Plugin developed by aoktar)

Moderator: aoktar

Animating Turbulence Noise

Postby jayroth » Thu Apr 26, 2018 12:10 am

jayroth Thu Apr 26, 2018 12:10 am
Is there a clean, Cinema-style way to do this? Or must we still animate the UV transform?
CaseLabs Mercury S8 / ASUS Z10PE-D8 WS / Crucial 64GB 2133 DDR4 / 2 XEON E5-2687W v3 3.1 GHz / EVGA 1600 P2 / 3 EVGA GTX 980Ti / Cinema 4D

Is it fast? Oh, yeah!
jayroth
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 277
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 7:29 pm
Location: Orange County, CA, USA

Re: Animating Turbulence Noise

Postby bepeg4d » Thu Apr 26, 2018 7:14 am

bepeg4d Thu Apr 26, 2018 7:14 am
Hi,
if you try the search function, you can find several posts like this one, for example:
viewtopic.php?f=30&t=43214&p=320618&hilit=animate+noise#p320618
ciao Beppe
User avatar
bepeg4d
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 5723
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 6:02 am
Location: Italy

Re: Animating Turbulence Noise

Postby jayroth » Thu Apr 26, 2018 6:07 pm

jayroth Thu Apr 26, 2018 6:07 pm
Actually, Beppe, I did. I was hoping that there was some improvement in this area that those posts had not captured. I ended up using a displacer object instead of dealing with this at the shader level. Are there any plans to improve on this?
CaseLabs Mercury S8 / ASUS Z10PE-D8 WS / Crucial 64GB 2133 DDR4 / 2 XEON E5-2687W v3 3.1 GHz / EVGA 1600 P2 / 3 EVGA GTX 980Ti / Cinema 4D

Is it fast? Oh, yeah!
jayroth
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 277
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 7:29 pm
Location: Orange County, CA, USA

Re: Animating Turbulence Noise

Postby aoktar » Thu Apr 26, 2018 10:24 pm

aoktar Thu Apr 26, 2018 10:24 pm
Why do you prefer to use C4D shaders?
Octane For Cinema 4D developer / 3d generalist

3930k / 16gb / 780ti + 1070/1080 / psu 1600w / numerous hw
User avatar
aoktar
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 10822
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 8:28 pm
Location: Türkiye

Re: Animating Turbulence Noise

Postby jayroth » Thu Apr 26, 2018 11:40 pm

jayroth Thu Apr 26, 2018 11:40 pm
I don't, Ahmet. I would prefer to animate with the Octane Turbulence. I was hoping for a simple way to do this; the Cinema shaders offer the Animate setting, as you know. It would be great to see the same idea in the Octane noise shaders as well. It is my understanding, based upon the searches that I made regarding this, that we cannot currently do that.
CaseLabs Mercury S8 / ASUS Z10PE-D8 WS / Crucial 64GB 2133 DDR4 / 2 XEON E5-2687W v3 3.1 GHz / EVGA 1600 P2 / 3 EVGA GTX 980Ti / Cinema 4D

Is it fast? Oh, yeah!
jayroth
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 277
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 7:29 pm
Location: Orange County, CA, USA

Return to Maxon Cinema 4D


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

Sun Jul 22, 2018 1:13 am [ UTC ]