Live View render animation

Forums: Live View render animation
Maxon Cinema 4D (Export script developed by abstrax, Integrated Plugin developed by aoktar)

Moderator: aoktar

Live View render animation

Postby JackBecce » Tue May 14, 2019 6:12 pm

JackBecce Tue May 14, 2019 6:12 pm
Hi Guys, there is a way to render from the Live viewer instead of batch render or Picture viewer render ? my scene is rendering at 6 second on Live Viewer but when I render it is taking 50 second per frame, I'm almost thinking of doing it by hand saving individual frames from LV (unfortunately is a 4000 frames animation !
Is an heavy geometry scene but onli 4 small elements are moving and the camera, I'm using tags for the static objects and so on..
the fact is that in LV everything is working really fast and I'm happy with the quality of my image, anyone got a script to save LV, advance a frame, save LV with incremental number and so on ?
JackBecce
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2017 8:28 pm

Re: Live View render animation

Postby aoktar » Tue May 14, 2019 6:23 pm

aoktar Tue May 14, 2019 6:23 pm
You're looking at wrong direction. Picture viewer can do renders at same speed of Live Viewer. You should define why it doesn't that. Probably there's some reason to update all geometry for every frames.
Octane For Cinema 4D developer / 3d generalist

3930k / 16gb / 780ti + 1070/1080 / psu 1600w / numerous hw
User avatar
aoktar
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 12048
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 8:28 pm
Location: Türkiye

Re: Live View render animation

Postby JackBecce » Tue May 14, 2019 9:31 pm

JackBecce Tue May 14, 2019 9:31 pm
aoktar wrote:You're looking at wrong direction. Picture viewer can do renders at same speed of Live Viewer. You should define why it doesn't that. Probably there's some reason to update all geometry for every frames.

Thanks
can you help me in understanding the differences between LV computation and PV ?
in LV I can see 6GB ov Vram are used , when rendering in PV My physical RAM get filled up at 32 GB
JackBecce
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2017 8:28 pm

Re: Live View render animation

Postby JackBecce » Tue May 14, 2019 10:33 pm

JackBecce Tue May 14, 2019 10:33 pm
Something is puzzling me, the c4d plugin seems to work better in LV ( using less memory ) when rendering in PV the geometry used it’s scaling up , like it’s translated from instances into individual objects, even if set to static, it’s that the difference?
JackBecce
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2017 8:28 pm

Re: Live View render animation

Postby aoktar » Wed May 15, 2019 12:30 am

aoktar Wed May 15, 2019 12:30 am
To understand that better you should read manual. Especially quick start and rendering sections.
Btw be sure you have "All movable". So it should be same as LV. And be aware of triangle count differences between LV and PV for some objects, like subdivision or some generator objects. Other than this hard to know more without you send a better visual data.
Attachments
a1.jpg
Octane For Cinema 4D developer / 3d generalist

3930k / 16gb / 780ti + 1070/1080 / psu 1600w / numerous hw
User avatar
aoktar
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 12048
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 8:28 pm
Location: Türkiye

Re: Live View render animation

Postby JackBecce » Wed May 15, 2019 1:57 pm

JackBecce Wed May 15, 2019 1:57 pm
aoktar wrote:To understand that better you should read manual. Especially quick start and rendering sections.
Btw be sure you have "All movable". So it should be same as LV. And be aware of triangle count differences between LV and PV for some objects, like subdivision or some generator objects. Other than this hard to know more without you send a better visual data.


Thanks aoktar, The issue I have is that:
if I try to render in PV the software is crashing as my RAM is saturating ( whatever settings I use, movable or non movable object tags)
I've also tried exporting to orbx first with a simplified scene (and worked) but the complete scene it's taking forever (5 hours and running) only to save the abc file, surely this is caused by the triangles in the scene (37M) as I have lots of clones and instances.
for whatever reason the scene is rendering fine in LV without saturating the RAM and keeping the 2x 2080 Ti's at a reasonable 8GB load, so if I scroll through my timeline frame by frame I can easily achieve a 5 second per frame, I've manually saved one frame after the other from LV and it's a painful process when repeated for 8 hours !

I can't figure it out why this behaviour and I'm running out of time for suppling those animations, there is any chances to do a script that will repeat the manual process ?

sorry to be a pain !

My system: 2x 2080 Ti,, Intel i7-6800K 6 cores @ 3.40Ghz, 32 GB RAM, SSHD, using octane V4.04, and plugin V 4.04 R2
JackBecce
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2017 8:28 pm

Re: Live View render animation

Postby bepeg4d » Wed May 15, 2019 3:01 pm

bepeg4d Wed May 15, 2019 3:01 pm
Hi,
try to set the same subdivision for viewport and final render, for all the c4d objects with a similar setting:
806D9641-AC50-4535-9416-8769A1AC85ED.jpeg

ciao Beppe
User avatar
bepeg4d
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 6394
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 6:02 am
Location: Italy

Re: Live View render animation

Postby aoktar » Wed May 15, 2019 3:40 pm

aoktar Wed May 15, 2019 3:40 pm
As me and Beppe said, you should have similar data usage for LV vs. PV. But note that what Beppe said and be sure "All movable" selected. Otherwise engine reacts different on PV.
Octane For Cinema 4D developer / 3d generalist

3930k / 16gb / 780ti + 1070/1080 / psu 1600w / numerous hw
User avatar
aoktar
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 12048
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 8:28 pm
Location: Türkiye

Re: Live View render animation

Postby JackBecce » Thu May 16, 2019 5:57 am

JackBecce Thu May 16, 2019 5:57 am
So many thanks aoktar and Bepeg4d, I finally managed to have similar results between LV and PV,
I started looking at the triangles increase in the Graphic cards monitor and they were indeed doubling up between LV and PV,
after a long research I found the assassin, it was a deeply nested cloner with an Hypernurbs object that was set to double up the subdivisions in render mode .
now I can finally go to bed....

again many thanks for your patience and suggestions.
JackBecce
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2017 8:28 pm

Re: Live View render animation

Postby JackBecce » Thu May 16, 2019 6:42 am

JackBecce Thu May 16, 2019 6:42 am
bepeg4d wrote:Hi,
try to set the same subdivision for viewport and final render, for all the c4d objects with a similar setting:
806D9641-AC50-4535-9416-8769A1AC85ED.jpeg

ciao Beppe

that was the issue Thanks Beppe
JackBecce
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2017 8:28 pm
Next

Return to Maxon Cinema 4D


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests

Wed May 22, 2019 7:01 pm [ UTC ]