Texture Baking

Forums: Texture Baking
Autodesk Softimage XSI (Developed by Face)

Texture Baking

Postby Alul » Tue Aug 23, 2016 1:39 pm

Alul Tue Aug 23, 2016 1:39 pm
Hello Face.
Thank you a lot for developing this plugin for XSI. I just want to remind one thing to all here. Fuck Autodesk - XSI4ever.

Any of your plugin let us bake texture so far?
I was not able to do it in RC5. Also for stand alone version, geometry need to be split for baking layers(groups). If I want to bake i.e. interior, i need to bake dozens of separate objects instead of one.
My question is if your exporter Soft2Octane will be able to multiple setup BakeIDs for objects?
Is there is hope for me? :)
Cheers Face.
User avatar
Alul
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 2:58 pm

Re: Texture Baking

Postby Alul » Tue Aug 23, 2016 1:46 pm

Alul Tue Aug 23, 2016 1:46 pm
Simmilar solution made for C4D
viewtopic.php?f=87&t=54323
User avatar
Alul
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 2:58 pm

Re: Texture Baking

Postby face » Wed Aug 24, 2016 10:59 pm

face Wed Aug 24, 2016 10:59 pm
V3 will have a baking camera with which you can bake 65535 baking groups.
You can set the baking group id in a custom property for each object.
So you can also bake at pass1 backing group id 1, at pass2 id 2 and so on.
But it isn´t included so far, will be the next step after i have finished the image saving.

It should also work if you set for all objects the same id and work with render layers per pass.
Also baking camera from pass 1 will use layer1, baking camera2 from pass2 uses layer2 and so on.

Or you write an expression, where the last pass number will drive the camera shader baking group id, or over a custom property in each pass.
Theoretical ;)

The property is here:
meshProperty.gif
meshProperty.gif (14.67 KiB) Viewed 6091 times
Win10 Pro, Driver 378.78, Softimage 2015SP2 & Octane 3.05 RC1,
64GB Ram, i7-6950X, GTX1080TI 11GB
http://vimeo.com/user2509578
User avatar
face
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 3204
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 2:10 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Texture Baking

Postby Alul » Tue Aug 30, 2016 9:51 am

Alul Tue Aug 30, 2016 9:51 am
Thanks for reply Face.
I'm looking forward to that solution.

I have another question.
1) If the baking solution works "per ID" is not going to be a problem with a lightning presence on each object?
Let's say I will have a red sphere located close to the gray box on top of a white grid. If I render the box or the grid, bounce red light will be baked on box\grid?

2) Will You make a script that assign unique ID for every baked object? :)
User avatar
Alul
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 2:58 pm

Re: Texture Baking

Postby face » Thu Sep 01, 2016 10:48 pm

face Thu Sep 01, 2016 10:48 pm
Alul wrote:Thanks for reply Face.
I'm looking forward to that solution.

I have another question.
1) If the baking solution works "per ID" is not going to be a problem with a lightning presence on each object?
Let's say I will have a red sphere located close to the gray box on top of a white grid. If I render the box or the grid, bounce red light will be baked on box\grid?

2) Will You make a script that assign unique ID for every baked object? :)

  1. Yes
    original.jpg
    Original
    backedCube.jpg
    Baked cube
    bakedPlane.jpg
    backed plane

  2. Hm yes, i can make a script which assigns a unique id, but how you will know, which object uses which id to bake it?
    There are 4 option in the menu, with which you can add/inspect/remove the property of all selected/unselected meshes.
    I can make another option, for selected/unselected meshes, where you can change the start range.
    If you have 4 selected cubes, start range is 5, so the end range will be 8. ( 5, 6, 7, 8 )
    After this is done, i can log a message, which mesh has which id.

    I think i will make also an option to show a list of all meshes which have a octane mesh property and which value each property has. Like baking group id, layer id/color
Win10 Pro, Driver 378.78, Softimage 2015SP2 & Octane 3.05 RC1,
64GB Ram, i7-6950X, GTX1080TI 11GB
http://vimeo.com/user2509578
User avatar
face
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 3204
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 2:10 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Texture Baking

Postby Alul » Mon Nov 14, 2016 4:44 pm

Alul Mon Nov 14, 2016 4:44 pm
face wrote:
Alul wrote:[*]Hm yes, i can make a script which assigns a unique id, but how you will know, which object uses which id to bake it?
There are 4 option in the menu, with which you can add/inspect/remove the property of all selected/unselected meshes.
I can make another option, for selected/unselected meshes, where you can change the start range.
If you have 4 selected cubes, start range is 5, so the end range will be 8. ( 5, 6, 7, 8 )


I don't know if that help but in Vray, rendered texture file has same name as 3dmesh name.
So for isntance
Box1, Box2, Sphere1 - will have baked texture file Vray_box1.png, Vray_Box2.png, Vray_Sphere.png

If you make an script that change name of material to name of object and that also will be name of the output texture. It should be very easy to render.
Tbh , ID number might be used only in background.
is that helpfull at any point?
User avatar
Alul
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 2:58 pm

Return to Autodesk Softimage XSI


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Sun Aug 25, 2019 6:35 am [ UTC ]