Octane for Softimage 1.03 RC3 [Obsolete]

Forums: Octane for Softimage 1.03 RC3 [Obsolete]
Autodesk Softimage XSI (Developed by Face)

Re: Octane for Softimage 1.03 RC3 [Current]

Postby face » Mon May 02, 2016 6:10 pm

face Mon May 02, 2016 6:10 pm
Ok, the next sneak peek.

Have now included all possible rotation types( quaternion, axis/angle and euler).
Added the cloud kinematics to the Octane scatter.
For now, only internal shapes are working.
Different colors per particle aren´t supported in the Octane 1.55 SDK. Hope i can cheat the 2.0 SDK to get it working in the 2.0 release.
All internal particles are uv´d.

Also a little bugfix will be included which will catch if a mesh has become a new material.
I think i will make a quick release to play with, after the todo list is processed, but only with internal shapes.

Next things to do:
Add material support for pointclouds.
Add two values to the Renderoptions with which you can disable the pointcloud checking and set the cloud point/segment shape size (which are internal only spheres).

face
Attachments
particles2.jpg
The first one is a Momentum scene, the second a simple test scene with two light emitters.
Win10 Pro, Driver 378.78, Softimage 2015SP2 & Octane 3.05 RC1,
64GB Ram, i7-6950X, GTX1080TI 11GB
http://vimeo.com/user2509578
User avatar
face
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 3204
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 2:10 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Octane for Softimage 1.03 RC3 [Current]

Postby wireframex » Mon May 02, 2016 8:08 pm

wireframex Mon May 02, 2016 8:08 pm
I see you have Momentum, do you use other product from Exocortex (like SplistreamVX) ?

Do you think if it's possible to support particle rendering without use Openvdb like TurbulenceFD (maybe its to early now but with 3.0 it would be possible ?)

EDIT : I own also Mootzoid's products like you Maybe you can talk with Eric to make it working with Octane :)

Regards
Phil
Main Computer:
Ryzen 2990WX / 64Go Ram / 1 GTX 1070 8Gb (Display) + 2 GTX 1080 8GB
OS: Windows 10 x64 - NVidia Driver 419.67 - Octane Plugin Build 4.04.0.0
Licensed: Softimage 2012 SP1 / Lightwave 2019.0.3 / modo 13
wireframex
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 288
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 4:36 pm
Location: Near Paris, France

Re: Octane for Softimage 1.03 RC3 [Current]

Postby face » Mon May 02, 2016 8:33 pm

face Mon May 02, 2016 8:33 pm
wireframex wrote:I see you have Momentum, do you use other product from Exocortex (like SplistreamVX) ?

Do you think if it's possible to support particle rendering without use Openvdb like TurbulenceFD (maybe its to early now but with 3.0 it would be possible ?)

EDIT : I own also Mootzoid's products like you Maybe you can talk with Eric to make it working with Octane :)

Regards
Phil

I have only Momentum and Species from Exocortex.
Haven´t any experience with openVDB, but if you can import it in Softimage, you should also be able to render it, with 3.0, maybe over a reference mesh.
When the time is come, i will talk with Eric. He is a realy cool guy. To bad to see him to few...

But first i must finish this particle stuff to switch to the next SDK.

I don´t know what is better, maybe i should wait till the 3.0SDK is released. So you haven´t to pay for a 2.0 and can switch direct to 3.0.
If i use the 2.0, then i must finished it, so you have a return for your money.

face
Win10 Pro, Driver 378.78, Softimage 2015SP2 & Octane 3.05 RC1,
64GB Ram, i7-6950X, GTX1080TI 11GB
http://vimeo.com/user2509578
User avatar
face
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 3204
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 2:10 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Octane for Softimage 1.03 RC3 [Current]

Postby wireframex » Fri May 06, 2016 5:39 pm

wireframex Fri May 06, 2016 5:39 pm
Hey Face

Is there any shader to make rounded edges with actual version ?

Phil
Main Computer:
Ryzen 2990WX / 64Go Ram / 1 GTX 1070 8Gb (Display) + 2 GTX 1080 8GB
OS: Windows 10 x64 - NVidia Driver 419.67 - Octane Plugin Build 4.04.0.0
Licensed: Softimage 2012 SP1 / Lightwave 2019.0.3 / modo 13
wireframex
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 288
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 4:36 pm
Location: Near Paris, France

Re: Octane for Softimage 1.03 RC3 [Current]

Postby face » Fri May 06, 2016 7:04 pm

face Fri May 06, 2016 7:04 pm
wireframex wrote:Hey Face

Is there any shader to make rounded edges with actual version ?

Phil

No, first with the 2.0SDK there is an option to make rounded edges.

face
Win10 Pro, Driver 378.78, Softimage 2015SP2 & Octane 3.05 RC1,
64GB Ram, i7-6950X, GTX1080TI 11GB
http://vimeo.com/user2509578
User avatar
face
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 3204
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 2:10 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Octane for Softimage 1.03 RC3 [Current]

Postby PeterCGS » Sat May 07, 2016 8:43 am

PeterCGS Sat May 07, 2016 8:43 am
Good to see your progress Face! I guess it would make most sense to go from 1.0->3.0 and not spend time on the 2.0 SDK..
Win7, i7 980 Hexacore, 24GB RAM, 3xEVGA SC 670 GTX 4GB
PeterCGS
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 437
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2010 2:36 pm

Re: Octane for Softimage 1.03 RC3 [Current]

Postby face » Sat May 07, 2016 10:11 am

face Sat May 07, 2016 10:11 am
PeterCGS wrote:Good to see your progress Face! I guess it would make most sense to go from 1.0->3.0 and not spend time on the 2.0 SDK..

Yes Peter,
that´s the same what i thought.
Nice to read you here.

face

Here is a new particle test.
Win10 Pro, Driver 378.78, Softimage 2015SP2 & Octane 3.05 RC1,
64GB Ram, i7-6950X, GTX1080TI 11GB
http://vimeo.com/user2509578
User avatar
face
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 3204
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 2:10 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Octane for Softimage 1.03 RC3 [Current]

Postby wireframex » Sat May 07, 2016 5:57 pm

wireframex Sat May 07, 2016 5:57 pm
Face you forgot your link ;)

https://vimeo.com/165586800
Main Computer:
Ryzen 2990WX / 64Go Ram / 1 GTX 1070 8Gb (Display) + 2 GTX 1080 8GB
OS: Windows 10 x64 - NVidia Driver 419.67 - Octane Plugin Build 4.04.0.0
Licensed: Softimage 2012 SP1 / Lightwave 2019.0.3 / modo 13
wireframex
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 288
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 4:36 pm
Location: Near Paris, France

Re: Octane for Softimage 1.03 RC3 [Current]

Postby Elvissuperstar007 » Sat May 07, 2016 6:26 pm

Elvissuperstar007 Sat May 07, 2016 6:26 pm
is better to just do on the engine 3.0, under the cloud Octane
win 7 /64x C2Quad 6600 2.4/ Nvidia 9800 GX2 1gb 512 bit + Asus 480 GTX/ DDR2 8Gb / NVIDIA 460 GTX 2GB/2x NVIDIA 580 GTX 3GB
Page octane render " В Контакте " http://vkontakte.ru/club17913093
User avatar
Elvissuperstar007
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2223
Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 8:20 am
Location: Ukraine/Russia

Re: Octane for Softimage 1.03 RC3 [Current]

Postby face » Sat May 07, 2016 8:21 pm

face Sat May 07, 2016 8:21 pm
wireframex wrote:Face you forgot your link ;)

https://vimeo.com/165586800

Not realy, it is only blocked from firefox because this site has mixed https/http contents.
You can see it left beside the url. It should be a green lock with a gray sign.
The site is https, but the embedded vimeo link is http. Thats the problem.

But thanks, will make a link the next time :)
face
Win10 Pro, Driver 378.78, Softimage 2015SP2 & Octane 3.05 RC1,
64GB Ram, i7-6950X, GTX1080TI 11GB
http://vimeo.com/user2509578
User avatar
face
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 3204
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 2:10 pm
Location: Germany
PreviousNext

Return to Autodesk Softimage XSI


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Wed Jun 26, 2019 11:47 am [ UTC ]