Octane for Softimage 1.02 RC12 [Obsolete]

Forums: Octane for Softimage 1.02 RC12 [Obsolete]
Autodesk Softimage XSI (Developed by Face)

Re: Octane for Softimage 1.02 RC12 [Current]

Postby face » Sun May 10, 2015 9:47 am

face Sun May 10, 2015 9:47 am
wireframex wrote:Interesting

Keep up posting for us Face :)

Sure ;)

Test1:
Win10 Pro, Driver 378.78, Softimage 2015SP2 & Octane 3.05 RC1,
64GB Ram, i7-6950X, GTX1080TI 11GB
http://vimeo.com/user2509578
User avatar
face
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 3204
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 2:10 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Octane for Softimage 1.02 RC12 [Current]

Postby wireframex » Thu Jun 18, 2015 8:11 pm

wireframex Thu Jun 18, 2015 8:11 pm
Hey Face

Any news about your plugin ?
Regards
Phil
Main Computer:
Ryzen 1950X / 64Go Ram / 1 GTX 1070 8Gb (Display) + 2 GTX 1080 8GB/ Samsung SSD 850 Pro 256Go + 1 To
OS: Windows 10 x64 - Driver 417.01
Licensed: Softimage 2012 SP1 / Lightwave 2018.0.7 / modo 12.2
wireframex
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 280
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 4:36 pm
Location: Near Paris, France

Re: Octane for Softimage 1.02 RC12 [Current]

Postby face » Thu Jun 18, 2015 9:20 pm

face Thu Jun 18, 2015 9:20 pm
wireframex wrote:Hey Face

Any news about your plugin ?
Regards
Phil

I´m in a fight with shader compounds.

With normal shaders, the best option to get the shaders which are connected to a shader is with a simple GetShaders() function.
Then you can loop over the returned shaders and check also each connected shader with the GetShader() function. So you go from right to left through the shader tree.
The only simple problem here is to check if a shader is already found so you get no doubles.
Another methode is to run over each shader parameter and search for a source which is pluged in. This source will also be searched for parameters which have a source and so on. Here is the same simple problem with double shaders.

On Shader compounds this wouldn´t work complete. The GetShader() function will give you all shaders which are connected to the compound and
the GetAllShaders() function will give you each shader which is inside the compound. One problem is, not each shader which is inside a compound or is connected to a compound, must be in use. I think you know that it´s possible to connect a shader to an input port of a compound, this input port is connected to a shader inside the compound and the output from this shader is connected to an output port of the compound. When this output port isn´t used, you get the problem that you will become shaders, which aren´t used for the material. You will also become a problem which is explained in the next methode.

To solve the "unused shader" problem, it´s better to use the parameter methode, so you will only become shaders which are used.
You have also the compound as shader and run over the parameters to get the source which is connected to the port. The problem here, the last shader which is connected to an input port will give you the compound itself as shader source. But this is the same source which you have at the beginning, so you will hang in an endless loop.

After hours i have found a solution to solve the endless loop problem. How i solved it isn´t important, but at the end, i must create my "own" template compound structure with in/output ports and his source/targets.

This last step is, on which i´m current working.
When this is done, i will give you more news.

face
Win10 Pro, Driver 378.78, Softimage 2015SP2 & Octane 3.05 RC1,
64GB Ram, i7-6950X, GTX1080TI 11GB
http://vimeo.com/user2509578
User avatar
face
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 3204
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 2:10 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Octane for Softimage 1.02 RC12 [Current]

Postby wireframex » Sat Jun 20, 2015 3:23 pm

wireframex Sat Jun 20, 2015 3:23 pm
Thanks for clarification :)
Waiting for next step
Phil
Main Computer:
Ryzen 1950X / 64Go Ram / 1 GTX 1070 8Gb (Display) + 2 GTX 1080 8GB/ Samsung SSD 850 Pro 256Go + 1 To
OS: Windows 10 x64 - Driver 417.01
Licensed: Softimage 2012 SP1 / Lightwave 2018.0.7 / modo 12.2
wireframex
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 280
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 4:36 pm
Location: Near Paris, France

Re: Octane for Softimage 1.02 RC12 [Current]

Postby face » Mon Aug 10, 2015 5:13 pm

face Mon Aug 10, 2015 5:13 pm
Bad news, have lost my work and backup of the current working version :(
Now i´m back at sep 2014...

At the future i will release each part which is new to make the time between new releases shorter.

face
Win10 Pro, Driver 378.78, Softimage 2015SP2 & Octane 3.05 RC1,
64GB Ram, i7-6950X, GTX1080TI 11GB
http://vimeo.com/user2509578
User avatar
face
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 3204
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 2:10 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Octane for Softimage 1.02 RC12 [Current]

Postby wireframex » Tue Aug 11, 2015 5:33 pm

wireframex Tue Aug 11, 2015 5:33 pm
I understand your deception ... and ours :cry:
regards
Phil
Main Computer:
Ryzen 1950X / 64Go Ram / 1 GTX 1070 8Gb (Display) + 2 GTX 1080 8GB/ Samsung SSD 850 Pro 256Go + 1 To
OS: Windows 10 x64 - Driver 417.01
Licensed: Softimage 2012 SP1 / Lightwave 2018.0.7 / modo 12.2
wireframex
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 280
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 4:36 pm
Location: Near Paris, France

Re: Octane for Softimage 1.02 RC12 [Current]

Postby wireframex » Mon Oct 26, 2015 7:20 am

wireframex Mon Oct 26, 2015 7:20 am
Hi Face
Are you alive ?
Any news ?

Phil
Main Computer:
Ryzen 1950X / 64Go Ram / 1 GTX 1070 8Gb (Display) + 2 GTX 1080 8GB/ Samsung SSD 850 Pro 256Go + 1 To
OS: Windows 10 x64 - Driver 417.01
Licensed: Softimage 2012 SP1 / Lightwave 2018.0.7 / modo 12.2
wireframex
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 280
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 4:36 pm
Location: Near Paris, France

Re: Octane for Softimage 1.02 RC12 [Current]

Postby face » Mon Oct 26, 2015 7:45 am

face Mon Oct 26, 2015 7:45 am
The only thing i have reprogrammed for now, was the refersh bug with the renderview refresh button.
At the moment i have to renovate my kitchen, where i have a fix date when the furniture will delivered...

face
Win10 Pro, Driver 378.78, Softimage 2015SP2 & Octane 3.05 RC1,
64GB Ram, i7-6950X, GTX1080TI 11GB
http://vimeo.com/user2509578
User avatar
face
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 3204
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 2:10 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Octane for Softimage 1.02 RC12 [Current]

Postby face » Tue Nov 03, 2015 8:57 pm

face Tue Nov 03, 2015 8:57 pm
The next little thing which i have made, i have included the openexr support again. It was also lost...
Nothing special because it was also included in the current release, its only a pain to recompile it and get running shared libraries, which can be used in a program .
One little change here is, the exr saving is now multithreded. 8 Cores saves around 8 times faster.

You see, the project isn´t dead ;)
face
Win10 Pro, Driver 378.78, Softimage 2015SP2 & Octane 3.05 RC1,
64GB Ram, i7-6950X, GTX1080TI 11GB
http://vimeo.com/user2509578
User avatar
face
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 3204
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 2:10 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Octane for Softimage 1.02 RC12 [Current]

Postby wireframex » Tue Nov 03, 2015 9:06 pm

wireframex Tue Nov 03, 2015 9:06 pm
face wrote:You see, the project isn´t dead ;)
face


Hope so ;)
Main Computer:
Ryzen 1950X / 64Go Ram / 1 GTX 1070 8Gb (Display) + 2 GTX 1080 8GB/ Samsung SSD 850 Pro 256Go + 1 To
OS: Windows 10 x64 - Driver 417.01
Licensed: Softimage 2012 SP1 / Lightwave 2018.0.7 / modo 12.2
wireframex
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 280
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 4:36 pm
Location: Near Paris, France
PreviousNext

Return to Autodesk Softimage XSI


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Mon Jan 21, 2019 11:45 pm [ UTC ]