about the benefit of more RAM for overall performance

Forums: about the benefit of more RAM for overall performance
Autodesk Softimage XSI (Developed by Face)

about the benefit of more RAM for overall performance

Postby DemiTree » Sat Feb 22, 2014 4:05 pm

DemiTree Sat Feb 22, 2014 4:05 pm
hi i am new to both SI and octane and really excited to have found my way here.
also pleased to see your pace of development.
I am an architectural designer in frankfurt who is in transition from rhino/grasshopper + vray workflow to softimage 2014 64bit + octane.

i want to ask two quick technical questions and lastly about your plan for integration with ICE, 1) does more ram for CPU help speed up the raytracing ? 2) what is Ms/sec a measure of? I realized the 2nd question might be more a softimage question than Octane question.

very recently I added 16gigs of ram to my system (so total 32 gigs now), and noticed that the number notated as "Ms/sec" on the top left has doubled although I have not added any GPU.
currently i have 2 gtx 765m installed in my laptop with SLI DISABLED, which I can upgrade anytime because it is a schenker notebook.

This measurement, which I am guessing is a measure of how fast the rendering is taking place, and I see it decrease when I am using an additional display monitor, which makes sense.

since softimage is exporting the existing scene to Octane each it renders, i thought more ram probably helps a little before raystracing starts loading the scene into GPU, but doesnt do any work during the raytracing. but then, GPU has to pass the result back to CPU at somepoint, i guess more RAM will also help here, somewhat reducing delay time esp. if I have a big scene like a district of a city? i want to ask if this is a correct.

and lastly, its probably a question a lot of people are curious about. I am transtioning to softimage mainly because of ICE. will you be working on octane 1.5 version of softimage plugin before ICE?