W Coordinate texture? [Maya hair]

Forums: W Coordinate texture? [Maya hair]
Autodesk Maya (V2 Plugin developed by JimStar, V3 plugin developed by k.a.schubert)

W Coordinate texture? [Maya hair]

Postby blackshore » Fri Jul 28, 2017 7:41 pm

blackshore Fri Jul 28, 2017 7:41 pm
Hello, has W Coordinate texture been added to either v2 or v3 plugin?
I'm unable to find it the manual.
If so, does it work with the maya hair system?

Mojave ref dated Thu Oct 06, 2016 7:23 pm: viewtopic.php?p=291051#p291051
Octane v2 maya plug kill date: Wed Nov 23, 2016 2:04 am
No trace of texture in search: search.php?keywords=W+Coordinate&fid%5B0%5D=109
blackshore
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 6:22 pm

Re: W Coordinate texture? [Maya hair]

Postby BK » Mon Jul 31, 2017 2:21 am

BK Mon Jul 31, 2017 2:21 am
blackshore wrote:Hello, has W Coordinate texture been added to either v2 or v3 plugin?
I'm unable to find it the manual.
If so, does it work with the maya hair system?

Mojave ref dated Thu Oct 06, 2016 7:23 pm: viewtopic.php?p=291051#p291051
Octane v2 maya plug kill date: Wed Nov 23, 2016 2:04 am
No trace of texture in search: search.php?keywords=W+Coordinate&fid%5B0%5D=109


Hello Blackshore,

The W Coordinate texture was added in v3 plugin. We are still working on the Maya user manual, hoping to upload after the refactoring is complete.
However, It is very simple and works exactly as Standalone.

2017-07-31 14_09_20-Hypershade.png


2017-07-31 14_19_08-Autodesk Maya 2017 - Not for Resale_ C__Users_bikram.kshetrimayum_Documents_Test.png


Please refer the file attached and let us know how it goes.
Attachments
W_coordinate.7z
(232.89 KiB) Downloaded 12 times
Kind Regards

bk3d
BK
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 169
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2016 7:54 pm

Re: W Coordinate texture? [Maya hair]

Postby blackshore » Mon Jul 31, 2017 3:37 am

blackshore Mon Jul 31, 2017 3:37 am
Cool!
Are you able to implement this in v2 as well since v3 is not backward compatible? :S
Can't remember if core of v2 had this texture?
blackshore
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 6:22 pm

Re: W Coordinate texture? [Maya hair]

Postby BK » Mon Jul 31, 2017 4:53 am

BK Mon Jul 31, 2017 4:53 am
blackshore wrote:Cool!
Are you able to implement this in v2 as well since v3 is not backward compatible? :S
Can't remember if core of v2 had this texture?


Unfortunately, v2 development has been discontinued and changes can be made for bug fixing only. Also, W coordinate was implemented on V3.04 engine [https://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=56856]
Kind Regards

bk3d
BK
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 169
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2016 7:54 pm

Re: W Coordinate texture? [Maya hair]

Postby blackshore » Mon Jul 31, 2017 7:56 am

blackshore Mon Jul 31, 2017 7:56 am
Alright.
Will stand alone read the hair system from v2 in v3?
Or will can you make v3 it back compatible to v2 maya plug?
blackshore
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 6:22 pm

Re: W Coordinate texture? [Maya hair]

Postby BK » Tue Aug 01, 2017 6:24 am

BK Tue Aug 01, 2017 6:24 am
hi blackshore,


Standalone does not support nhair system yet.

The current pipeline is to use paint effects, convert into poly if we need to export into Standalone.

V3 files are compatible with v2, however, the new features from v3 will be missing.

Would you consider upgrading from v2 to v3?
Kind Regards

bk3d
BK
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 169
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2016 7:54 pm

Re: W Coordinate texture? [Maya hair]

Postby blackshore » Tue Aug 01, 2017 4:40 pm

blackshore Tue Aug 01, 2017 4:40 pm
So wait, my v2 mb files will work in v3 within Maya?
Is there any function that is not working in v3 that was working in v2?
I Already bought v3 on your sale, but have not used it due to it was not stable and function implementation was....questionable...when reading the comment section of the releases.
I use the rest of the users as sacrificial goats so that I can use functions when stable. :twisted: :mrgreen:
Thats the reason I have stayed away from v3 plug until it was 110 stable and function implementation was according to plan.
Accourding to Status:
viewtopic.php?f=28&t=61075&hilit=calus
The W coordinate texture is broken or incorrectly implemented?
blackshore
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 6:22 pm

Re: W Coordinate texture? [Maya hair]

Postby calus » Tue Aug 01, 2017 7:09 pm

calus Tue Aug 01, 2017 7:09 pm
BK wrote:Standalone does not support nhair system yet.

What do you mean Bikram ? Obviously the Maya nhair system can't be supported directly, but standalone V2 and V3 support hair by importing alembic curves,
so Blackshore can export nhair as Maya Alembic cache and render them in Standalone (hair width min/max is set in the alembic node settings in standalone ).

blackshore wrote:Accourding to Status:
viewtopic.php?f=28&t=61075&hilit=calus
The W coordinate texture is broken or incorrectly implemented?

Basic usage of the w-texture node is possible in the V3 plugin (as in Bikram example), but the implementation is still very WIP,
new parameters have been added on the pfx shape and pfx transform but they are broken :shock:

So for advanced hair texturing (using U , V and W coordinate) this is not possible,
As you may have noticed, for some reason, useful hair UV have never been implemented in the plugin, :cry:
so the only way to assign an UV texture to hair is trough the Maya Hair shading system (baking Maya colors in a dummy empty octane texture node),
but in the V3 plugin, Maya colors are still not interpolated along W ... not sure if the state is "half-implemented", or just "broken/unusable".

blackshore wrote:Is there any function that is not working in v3 that was working in v2?

No but, while Standalone backward compatibility is almost perfect, this is not the case for the Maya plugin,
V2 scenes usually have some quirks and messed-up settings with the V3 plugin but nothing too serious that can't be fixed.
Pascal ANDRE
--------------------
Maya 2016 SP6, Windows 7, 128 GB RAM
4x GTX 1070, driver 372.70
--------------------


--------------------
Join MAYA OCTANE USERS Skype discussion here :
https://join.skype.com/SEqj3F3Jfepe
--------------------
calus
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 951
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 9:31 am
Location: Paris

Re: W Coordinate texture? [Maya hair]

Postby BK » Wed Aug 02, 2017 5:59 am

BK Wed Aug 02, 2017 5:59 am
blackshore wrote:So wait, my v2 mb files will work in v3 within Maya?
Is there any function that is not working in v3 that was working in v2?
I Already bought v3 on your sale, but have not used it due to it was not stable and function implementation was....questionable...when reading the comment section of the releases.
I use the rest of the users as sacrificial goats so that I can use functions when stable. :twisted: :mrgreen:
Thats the reason I have stayed away from v3 plug until it was 110 stable and function implementation was according to plan.
Accourding to Status:
viewtopic.php?f=28&t=61075&hilit=calus
The W coordinate texture is broken or incorrectly implemented?


Yep, v2 files work in v3 within Maya. From our test results, almost all the nodes from v2 works in v3 in fact, there have been a lot of improvements and feature support such as VDBs.

Blackshore, please feel free to try the latest version and let us know your feedback including WCoordinate.
Kind Regards

bk3d
BK
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 169
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2016 7:54 pm

Re: W Coordinate texture? [Maya hair]

Postby BK » Wed Aug 02, 2017 6:25 am

BK Wed Aug 02, 2017 6:25 am
Hi Calus,

Thank you for the response and clearing things about Maya nhair.
Kind Regards

bk3d
BK
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 169
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2016 7:54 pm
Next

Return to Autodesk Maya


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Mon Oct 23, 2017 9:53 am [ UTC ]