How's the Maya plugin looking these days?

Forums: How's the Maya plugin looking these days?
Autodesk Maya (Plugin developed by JimStar)

Moderator: JimStar

How's the Maya plugin looking these days?

Postby leehenshall » Fri May 05, 2017 10:53 am

leehenshall Fri May 05, 2017 10:53 am
I purchased the Maya plugin a few months before the dev team was improved a couple of years ago and I have to say I've never felt more disappointed with purchase and more ripped off in my life. This is in no way designed to cast aspersions on the guys who have been working incredibly hard on improving the Maya plugin. I'm no developer but I can understand that you can only work with what you inherited and that takes time. I even upgraded to v3 in blind hope that things would improve.

Since then Octane has been sat on the shelf basically unused. I occasionally check back in to see what's happening in the forums only to read more moans and groans which is enough for me to leave it abit longer. I even went as far as to buy the C4d plugin just to see what Octane was like in a mature stable plugin. Theres loads of great work on Behance using Octane for c4d....but it's not feasible to switch my pipeline to C4D just for rendering.

Octane standalone is awesome though and really shows that Octane core is probably one of the fastest and easiest to use GPU core renders out there. I'm still waiting for some news on the HDR Light Studio plugin in development for standalone....that could be amazing for high res print work.

I've since been using V-Ray GPU which is for the most part nearly production ready these days apart from a few quirks. Credit to the V-Ray guys they get problems fixed quickly and have been making ground on other GPU renderers very quickly since I've been in touch with the developers. I do still hold a torch for Octane though as it's just so interactive (standalone) It feels like working in a photography studio it's so fast.