Rendering Layer IDs

Forums: Rendering Layer IDs
Autodesk Maya (V2 Plugin developed by JimStar, V3 plugin developed by k.a.schubert)

Moderator: JimStar

Re: Rendering Layer IDs

Postby Jolbertoquini » Mon Mar 14, 2016 6:02 pm

Jolbertoquini Mon Mar 14, 2016 6:02 pm
prodviz wrote:Cool.

Do you have a Photoshop script for selecting any colour ID?

Cheers


I don't have but maybe quite easy to create but without the coverage pass will be hard to get nice results .... :|

check that link for the process is quite easy http://www.sigillarium.com/blog/lang/en/379/

to explain basically without aliasing we can select any coulour and extract then without issues then just multiply with the actual mask extract from the ID.

at Nuke is a quick script to setup. and we get really close results from a normal alpha rendered from the engine
Last edited by Jolbertoquini on Tue Mar 15, 2016 10:31 am, edited 1 time in total.
Octane Render for Maya.
https://vimeo.com/jocg/videos
https://www.linkedin.com/in/jocgtd
http://www.hmxmedia.com/
--------------------
Join MAYA OCTANE USERS Skype discussion here :
https://join.skype.com/LXEQaqqfN15w
User avatar
Jolbertoquini
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 723
Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2014 7:08 am
Location: London

Re: Rendering Layer IDs

Postby prodviz » Mon Mar 14, 2016 8:42 pm

prodviz Mon Mar 14, 2016 8:42 pm
Thanks for the info.

I must say though, I don't want 'really close results'.

I would rather have multiple files with red, green and blue mattes, or a psd/exr with multiple alphas.

Cheers
prodviz
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 543
Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2013 6:00 pm

Re: Rendering Layer IDs

Postby Jolbertoquini » Tue Mar 15, 2016 10:00 am

Jolbertoquini Tue Mar 15, 2016 10:00 am
prodviz wrote:Thanks for the info.

I must say though, I don't want 'really close results'.

I would rather have multiple files with red, green and blue mattes, or a psd/exr with multiple alphas.

Cheers


is all about size of course for stills you can do individuals alphas but for video make a lot of passes and limitation you can use the normal material ID with photoshop
use the tools at select/color range the play with the slider to get the close value some cases after create the mask you need contrast then with refine edge on selection options.
Octane Render for Maya.
https://vimeo.com/jocg/videos
https://www.linkedin.com/in/jocgtd
http://www.hmxmedia.com/
--------------------
Join MAYA OCTANE USERS Skype discussion here :
https://join.skype.com/LXEQaqqfN15w
User avatar
Jolbertoquini
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 723
Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2014 7:08 am
Location: London

Re: Rendering Layer IDs

Postby prodviz » Tue Mar 15, 2016 1:12 pm

prodviz Tue Mar 15, 2016 1:12 pm
I agree. All dependent on stills or video.

I work on a lot of still shots, and so want the alpha to be spot on, without having to tweak.

Cheers.
prodviz
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 543
Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2013 6:00 pm

Re: Rendering Layer IDs

Postby itsallgoode9 » Wed Mar 16, 2016 7:10 am

itsallgoode9 Wed Mar 16, 2016 7:10 am
prodviz wrote:I agree. All dependent on stills or video.

I work on a lot of still shots, and so want the alpha to be spot on, without having to tweak.

Cheers.


Same here. It's pretty annoying to STILL have to isolate objects and render alphas per object, just to get accurate masks.
Intel i7-3930K, 64gb RAM, Asus X79 Deluxe mobo, 2x EVGA 780 6gb (for rendering), 1x PNY quaddro k4000 (for display)
Windows 8.1 x64, Maya 2014, Octane Render v2
itsallgoode9
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 662
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2014 9:04 am
Location: New York City

Re: Rendering Layer IDs

Postby calus » Mon May 14, 2018 12:07 pm

calus Mon May 14, 2018 12:07 pm
updating this thread as is it pinned in the Forum and contain misleading information:

For people trying to get pure R G B in the render layer ID pass, you need to use ID 73, 18 and 36.

73 = Red
18 = Green
36 = Blue


But a better workflow is to use the object layer color pass (so no renderLayer involved), and set the color for each shape in the "layer pass color" attribute (easy way is to use the channel box for multiple selection).
Pascal ANDRE
--------------------
Maya 2018.3, Windows 7, 128 GB RAM
4x GTX 1070, driver 390.77
--------------------

--------------------
Join MAYA OCTANE USERS Skype discussion here :
https://join.skype.com/LXEQaqqfN15w
--------------------
calus
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1106
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 9:31 am
Location: Paris
Previous

Return to Autodesk Maya


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

Thu Aug 16, 2018 12:57 am [ UTC ]