Why v2.0 so slow ?

Forums: Why v2.0 so slow ?
3D Studio Max Plugin (Export Script Plugins developed by [gk] and KilaD; Integrated Plugin developed by Karba)
Forum rules
Please post only in English in this subforum. For alternate language discussion please go here viewforum.php?f=18

Why v2.0 so slow ?

Postby Dom74 » Tue Jun 10, 2014 2:03 am

Dom74 Tue Jun 10, 2014 2:03 am
I have made some test with the new v2.0 and all my renders are slower than the v1.55 from 15% to 25%.
This is a serious drop down performance, what's changed ?
Win7 x64 - 3DSMAX 2019 - 32GB RAM - 1080 TI
Dom74
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2010 7:16 pm

Re: Why v2.0 so slow ?

Postby Karba » Tue Jun 10, 2014 4:11 am

Karba Tue Jun 10, 2014 4:11 am
Dom74 wrote:I have made some test with the new v2.0 and all my renders are slower than the v1.55 from 15% to 25%.
This is a serious drop down performance, what's changed ?


This is the price of all new feature. Unfortunately every new feature slows down gpu code even if it is not used. Not sure we can improve the speed anytime soon.
User avatar
Karba
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 2300
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2011 9:05 am

Re: Why v2.0 so slow ?

Postby cybernoid » Tue Jun 10, 2014 5:46 am

cybernoid Tue Jun 10, 2014 5:46 am
It would be nice if we could have 1.55 and 2.0 switchable I guess then - as from my tests we have to copy DLL's around for now or have multiple 3dsmax installations.

It's got to be said that given all the 2.0 goodies present and planned then really the thing that becomes more important now is speed to me personally - not that it's a slouch at all and I understand the cloud based direction and reliance on future GPU scaling etc.

Thanks for the great work on 2.0 and I am sorry we always ask for more ;-)
_________________
Display GPU/ Onboard Intel 4000 HD
Octane GPUs/ GTX 1080 Ti 11GB + GTX 1080 8GB
CPU/ Intel i7-3770K @ 3.5GHz
OS/ Windows 7 64-bit with 32GB RAM
cybernoid
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 12:31 pm

Re: Why v2.0 so slow ?

Postby remKa » Tue Jun 10, 2014 7:07 am

remKa Tue Jun 10, 2014 7:07 am
WOW, almost 50% slower renders here... !
i7 3930K / 1 EVGA Titan Black SuperClocked - 1 GTX Titan - 1 GTX 960 / 32 Gb DDR 3
http://www.remka.fr
https://twitter.com/remKa_
remKa
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 120
Joined: Fri Jan 24, 2014 6:23 pm
Location: Paris

Re: Why v2.0 so slow ?

Postby glimpse » Tue Jun 10, 2014 7:12 am

glimpse Tue Jun 10, 2014 7:12 am
remKa wrote:WOW, almost 50% slower renders here... !


I guess it depends what features You use =) curious though if the noise meassured at teh same sample level looks the same =) as I can remmeber a reease where it was not so fast (but noice looked better at the same amount of samples)

I just guess optimisation will come as features will be implimented and code will be polished out =) noce to see v2 out from the door =)
tomGlimps | [email protected] | 32GB | TitanBlack
Available for Freelance, Coaching & Mentoring
User avatar
glimpse
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 3634
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 2:17 pm

Re: Why v2.0 so slow ?

Postby Dom74 » Tue Jun 10, 2014 9:49 am

Dom74 Tue Jun 10, 2014 9:49 am
Karba wrote:
Dom74 wrote:I have made some test with the new v2.0 and all my renders are slower than the v1.55 from 15% to 25%.
This is a serious drop down performance, what's changed ?


This is the price of all new feature. Unfortunately every new feature slows down gpu code even if it is not used. Not sure we can improve the speed anytime soon.


Hi,
I hope you can, I understand news feature can slow down a bit, but 25% loss (and even more) is a big loss.
Win7 x64 - 3DSMAX 2019 - 32GB RAM - 1080 TI
Dom74
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2010 7:16 pm

Re: Why v2.0 so slow ?

Postby criko3d » Tue Jun 10, 2014 10:18 am

criko3d Tue Jun 10, 2014 10:18 am
:shock: this is way very slow.... i honestly expected more of this... in here is nearly 50% slower on dual titans.. :?
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
intel core i7-4960x 3.60 ghz
32 gb ram
win 7 64 bit
1x nvidia geforce gtx 780
1x nvidia geforce GTX TITAN
criko3d
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2010 1:41 am

Re: Why v2.0 so slow ?

Postby prehabitat » Tue Jun 10, 2014 10:24 am

prehabitat Tue Jun 10, 2014 10:24 am
Anyone with a Fermi & Kepler report the difference between ~1.50 & 2.0?

I'm interested to know if the older CUDA implementation & hardware architecture tests differently
Win10/3770/16gb/K600(display)/GTX780(Octane)/GTX590/372.70
Octane 3.x: GH Lands VARQ Rhino5 -Rhino.io- C4D R16 / Revit17
prehabitat
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 495
Joined: Fri Aug 16, 2013 10:30 am
Location: Victoria, Australia

Re: Why v2.0 so slow ?

Postby abstrax » Tue Jun 10, 2014 11:05 am

abstrax Tue Jun 10, 2014 11:05 am
criko3d wrote::shock: this is way very slow.... i honestly expected more of this... in here is nearly 50% slower on dual titans.. :?

Is SLI disabled? We have seen a slow down in the range 10-20% compared to 1.5, maybe 25%, but not 50%. Could you post / send us the scene and the actual speeds you measure? Thanks.
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is. - Yogi Berra
User avatar
abstrax
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 5151
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 11:01 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: Why v2.0 so slow ?

Postby gabrielefx » Tue Jun 10, 2014 11:11 am

gabrielefx Tue Jun 10, 2014 11:11 am
do you want my 400Mb scene with 118 active textures to do a comparison?

The performance loss is exponential.
quad Titan Kepler 6GB + quad Titan X Pascal 12GB + quad GTX1080 8GB + dual GTX1080Ti 11GB
User avatar
gabrielefx
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1701
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2011 2:00 pm
Next

Return to Autodesk 3Ds Max


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

Tue Sep 29, 2020 9:39 pm [ UTC ]