C4D To 3DSMAX Conversion?

Forums: C4D To 3DSMAX Conversion?
A forum for discussion, development and support, including subforums for discussion for various plugins for octane render and 3d the relevant animation packages

C4D To 3DSMAX Conversion?

Postby Olitech » Fri Oct 31, 2014 2:42 pm

Olitech Fri Oct 31, 2014 2:42 pm
Does anyone have any experience or advice on converting Cinema 4D to 3DSMax?

Any advice is greatly appreciated.

best,
O
WORKSTATION = Win7x64 / Intel Core i7-5930K [email protected] / 32GB ram / Liquid Cooled 4xTitanX /3dsMax 2014 / Octane Max Plug v2.16a / FARM = Intel i7-2600k 3.70GHz (x2 TitanZ) x 14
User avatar
Olitech
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 447
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 4:27 pm

Re: C4D To 3DSMAX Conversion?

Postby whersmy » Fri Oct 31, 2014 2:54 pm

whersmy Fri Oct 31, 2014 2:54 pm
Isn`t it just exporting to .obj and importing?

/scaling issues might occur when importing to octane
mac pro g5| pentium g2030 iGPU| maximus extreme V| 2x gtx590 - 8gb - SSD - win7-x64- 1500W Silverstone|
x201t - gtx580 - egpu ec
Octane Render experiments
User avatar
whersmy
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 560
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 7:40 am

Re: C4D To 3DSMAX Conversion?

Postby acc24ex » Fri Oct 31, 2014 3:57 pm

acc24ex Fri Oct 31, 2014 3:57 pm
I learned c4d at first, and a few years later switched to max.. now I'm on max - because of octane.. now I forgot how to c4d..

- anyway - export .fbx from c4d is the best way I think to transfer to max - because it will retain all the textures inside one file (come to think of it, why not save everything in fbx.. to backup stuff)..

- it will probably not save octane materials so if you want c4d octane to max octane material - I think you should try and use the latest export feature of the c4d plugin and export via the .abc - latest max imports it at least..

also export via .obj probably .. fbx works nicely I know I did that a lot
[size=85]3dmax, zbrush, UE
//Behance profile //BOONAR
//Octane render toolbox 3dsmax
User avatar
acc24ex
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1454
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2010 10:58 pm
Location: Croatia

Re: C4D To 3DSMAX Conversion?

Postby whersmy » Fri Oct 31, 2014 4:39 pm

whersmy Fri Oct 31, 2014 4:39 pm
yeh forgot that, .fbx might be a way to go
mac pro g5| pentium g2030 iGPU| maximus extreme V| 2x gtx590 - 8gb - SSD - win7-x64- 1500W Silverstone|
x201t - gtx580 - egpu ec
Octane Render experiments
User avatar
whersmy
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 560
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 7:40 am

Return to Plugin Discussion/Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

Sun Nov 17, 2019 11:33 pm [ UTC ]