iMac 2013 + Octane compatible?

Forums: iMac 2013 + Octane compatible?
A public forum for discussing and asking questions about the demo version of Octane Render.
Forum rules
For new users: this forum is moderated. Your first post will appear only after it has been reviewed by a moderator, so it will not show up immediately.
This is necessary to avoid this forum being flooded by spam.

iMac 2013 + Octane compatible?

Postby hotrain » Sun Jul 08, 2018 6:40 pm

hotrain Sun Jul 08, 2018 6:40 pm
I'm trying to install Octane demo to my iMac but running into nvidia issue it seems. First of, does anyone know or can confirm if my iMac can support Octane based on its hardware description?

Mac OS Sierra 10.13.5
iMac 27inch (late 2013 model)
Processor: 3.5 Ghz intel core i7
Graphics: Nvidia GeForce GTX 780M 4096 MB
Memory: 8 GB

The nvidia issue seems to be the driver saying update required even when I installed both 396.64 and 387.178 driver.
GPU driver version says - 355.11.10.10.35.101
hotrain
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2018 6:20 pm

Re: iMac 2013 + Octane compatible?

Postby aoktar » Sun Jul 08, 2018 11:19 pm

aoktar Sun Jul 08, 2018 11:19 pm
Have you installed latest Cuda drivers too?
Octane For Cinema 4D developer / 3d generalist

3930k / 16gb / 780ti + 1070/1080 / psu 1600w / numerous hw
User avatar
aoktar
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 11324
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 8:28 pm
Location: Türkiye

Re: iMac 2013 + Octane compatible?

Postby bepeg4d » Mon Jul 09, 2018 6:12 am

bepeg4d Mon Jul 09, 2018 6:12 am
Hi,
with Sierra and High Sierra, you need to install also the GPU drivers, not only CUDA:
viewtopic.php?f=25&t=66011
Here is the link to the latest GPU drivers for CUDA 396.64:
http://www.nvidia.com/download/driverRe ... 4834/en-us
ciao Beppe
User avatar
bepeg4d
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 5957
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 6:02 am
Location: Italy

Re: iMac 2013 + Octane compatible?

Postby hotrain » Tue Jul 10, 2018 1:29 pm

hotrain Tue Jul 10, 2018 1:29 pm
Thanks. So I did install it and I was able to access Octane through cinema 4d. However, anyone had issues restarting from their Mac? My iMac went into a black screen after nvidia update but somehow it worked after several more reboots.
hotrain
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2018 6:20 pm

Return to Demo Version Questions & Discussion


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: mintychap and 2 guests

Wed Nov 14, 2018 7:43 pm [ UTC ]