Is it worth paying for a new plugin license??

Forums: Is it worth paying for a new plugin license??
A public forum for discussing and asking questions about the demo version of Octane Render.
Forum rules
For new users: this forum is moderated. Your first post will appear only after it has been reviewed by a moderator, so it will not show up immediately.
This is necessary to avoid this forum being flooded by spam.

Is it worth paying for a new plugin license??

Postby nmzwk » Mon Jul 02, 2018 1:59 pm

nmzwk Mon Jul 02, 2018 1:59 pm
Hello

I want to purchase a blender license for my standalone setup. I know talk on the vine is that Otoy are moving to a subscription based model.

I am also aware the test versions of octane 4 are available for blender, for free.

I want to know if it is worth me buying a plugin license for blender, knowing that I may have to pay again soon for octane 4. Ideally, I want the most stable release.

Thanks

Neal
nmzwk
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2018 1:43 pm

Re: Is it worth paying for a new plugin license??

Postby bepeg4d » Tue Jul 03, 2018 8:21 am

bepeg4d Tue Jul 03, 2018 8:21 am
Hi Neal,
if you take a Blender license now, you have the possibility to work with both v3 stable, and v4 experimental builds:
viewforum.php?f=113
OctaneRender has already a Subscription license model for ORC and integrated plugins:
https://home.otoy.com/render/octane-ren ... criptions/
But since you already own a Standalone license, it makes more sense to me to add the Blender plugin.
All v3 licenses will be upgraded for free to v4, when it will be stable and officially published.
There will be a free tire with max 2x GPUs and some plugins.
The current Studio Subscription will be upgrade to Pro with max 20x GPUs and Network rendering + all plugins.
The current regular license will be upgrade to Enterprise with max 200x GPUs + NVLink.
ciao Beppe
User avatar
bepeg4d
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 5957
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 6:02 am
Location: Italy

Re: Is it worth paying for a new plugin license??

Postby Joss » Tue Jul 03, 2018 7:24 pm

Joss Tue Jul 03, 2018 7:24 pm
May I ask something as well:
If I have a standalone/maya licenses, with 4.0 beta releases can I use 3dsmax/other plug-ins, or do I still need to pay for them?
Freelance CG TD, developer.
User avatar
Joss
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2010 12:15 pm

Re: Is it worth paying for a new plugin license??

Postby bepeg4d » Wed Jul 04, 2018 6:27 am

bepeg4d Wed Jul 04, 2018 6:27 am
Hi,
the new licenses scheme will be available only when v4 will be out of beta phase, and become stable, and ready for production. Until then, everything works as before.
ciao Beppe
User avatar
bepeg4d
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 5957
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 6:02 am
Location: Italy

Re: Is it worth paying for a new plugin license??

Postby Joss » Fri Jul 06, 2018 6:58 pm

Joss Fri Jul 06, 2018 6:58 pm
Oh, ok, got it, thanks!
Freelance CG TD, developer.
User avatar
Joss
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2010 12:15 pm

Return to Demo Version Questions & Discussion


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests

Wed Nov 14, 2018 8:23 pm [ UTC ]