Octane on iMac - Radeon Pro Videocard

Forums: Octane on iMac - Radeon Pro Videocard
A public forum for discussing and asking questions about the demo version of Octane Render.
Forum rules
For new users: this forum is moderated. Your first post will appear only after it has been reviewed by a moderator, so it will not show up immediately.
This is necessary to avoid this forum being flooded by spam.

Octane on iMac - Radeon Pro Videocard

Postby ivosj » Tue Jan 30, 2018 3:18 pm

ivosj Tue Jan 30, 2018 3:18 pm
Hallo,

I'm trying to run Octane demo version on iMac :
(Retina 5K, 27-inch, 2017)
- mac OS High Sierra (10.13.2)
- processor: 4,2 Ghz Intel Core i7
- 32 GB 2400 MHz DDR4
- Radeon Pro 575 4GB

As with some others even after installing CUDA 9.1.128 and CUDA driver 387.128 it still reports No CUDA GPUs.

Thank you for your help.

Ivo
ivosj
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2012 10:05 am

Re: Octane on iMac - Radeon Pro Videocard

Postby bepeg4d » Tue Jan 30, 2018 3:34 pm

bepeg4d Tue Jan 30, 2018 3:34 pm
Hi Ivo,
unfortunately, CUDA can be used only with Nvidia GPUs, so installing it with an AMD GPU does not help.
You need an external eGPU solution via Thunderbolt with Nvidia GPU inside, to be able to use OctaneRender on your iMac:
viewtopic.php?f=30&t=62409
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=43439&start=170#p276341
ciao beppe
User avatar
bepeg4d
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 5466
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 6:02 am
Location: Italy

Re: Octane on iMac - Radeon Pro Videocard

Postby ivosj » Thu Feb 08, 2018 8:24 pm

ivosj Thu Feb 08, 2018 8:24 pm
Hallo beppe,

thank you for your reply. I was considering getting Akitio Node in combination with Nvidia GTX 1080Ti so that I could use it also with a combination with my windows laptop Dell XPS 15 9550.
What are the experiences of using eGPU with a windows machine + Octane render?

Thank you

Ivo
ivosj
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2012 10:05 am

Re: Octane on iMac - Radeon Pro Videocard

Postby bepeg4d » Fri Feb 09, 2018 9:08 am

bepeg4d Fri Feb 09, 2018 9:08 am
Hi Ivo,
sorry, I have no experience with eGPU under windows, but it should be straight forward, I guess.
ciao beppe
User avatar
bepeg4d
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 5466
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 6:02 am
Location: Italy

Re: Octane on iMac - Radeon Pro Videocard

Postby frankmci » Fri Feb 09, 2018 5:44 pm

frankmci Fri Feb 09, 2018 5:44 pm
ivosj wrote: I was considering getting Akitio Node in combination with Nvidia GTX 1080Ti so that I could use it also with a combination with my windows laptop Dell XPS 15 9550.
What are the experiences of using eGPU with a windows machine + Octane render?


We've been using that combo on our Mac Pros since last Spring without much trouble. The website egpu.io has lots of useful information and a nicely supportive forum that should help you on your way.

- Frank
frankmci
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri May 26, 2017 2:00 pm

Re: Octane on iMac - Radeon Pro Videocard

Postby vento33 » Tue Apr 17, 2018 2:06 pm

vento33 Tue Apr 17, 2018 2:06 pm
hi there Guys!
i've been following up this post for a while to find assistance for running Ocatne on MAC!
i need help.
i have an IMAC late 2015 so i guess is with thunderbolt 2.
i know i need an external GPU, but im overwhelmed with too many options that im lost here!

so if someone knows.
what GPU box works for my late 2015 imac, what specific graphic card i should put over there.
if someone can help me with some tips that i would appreciate a lot :)
thanks
vento33
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2018 1:59 pm

Re: Octane on iMac - Radeon Pro Videocard

Postby bepeg4d » Wed Apr 18, 2018 8:53 am

bepeg4d Wed Apr 18, 2018 8:53 am
Hi,
about eGPU boxes:
https://www.sonnettech.com/product/egfx ... y-box.html
Apple adapter TB3/USB-C to TB2:
https://www.apple.com/shop/product/MMEL ... -2-adapter
About GPUs, my suggestion is GTX 1070/1070ti/1080ti:
https://render.otoy.com/octanebench/res ... ingleGPU=1
At the moment, installing under Sierra is much more easy:
https://www.apple.com/shop/product/MMEL ... -2-adapter
While under High Sierra better to stay with 10.13.3, and wait for the new script for 10.13.4:
https://egpu.io/forums/mac-setup/wip-nv ... gh-sierra/
Happy Mac eGPU Rendering,
ciao Beppe
User avatar
bepeg4d
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 5466
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 6:02 am
Location: Italy

Return to Demo Version Questions & Discussion


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Sun Apr 22, 2018 10:13 pm [ UTC ]