What is a recommended multi-GPU config for a PC build?

Forums: What is a recommended multi-GPU config for a PC build?
A public forum for discussing and asking questions about the demo version of Octane Render.
Forum rules
For new users: this forum is moderated. Your first post will appear only after it has been reviewed by a moderator, so it will not show up immediately.
This is necessary to avoid this forum being flooded by spam.

What is a recommended multi-GPU config for a PC build?

Postby wabbits » Sun May 07, 2017 9:08 pm

wabbits Sun May 07, 2017 9:08 pm
I'm planning to build a PC for a Cinema4D / Octane. I'm considering getting three 1080s, however i'm concerned about overheating and noise. I also don't want to go the custom water cooling route because this is my first build. Would it be advisable to install:
- three Founders Edition 1080s?
- three after market 1080s and a bunch of exhaust fans?
- three hybrid/water-cooled 1080s? (eg. GeForce GTX 1080 SEA HAWK)
- some other configuration?

My apologies for posting this in the demo forum but i couldn't think of anywhere else to post this.
wabbits

Re: What is a recommended multi-GPU config for a PC build?

Postby glimpse » Mon May 08, 2017 7:48 am

glimpse Mon May 08, 2017 7:48 am
hi, Wabbits.

This forum is actually full of great advice from multiple users that already answered questions You have, but being not licenced user You might not being able to see those. So let's try to answer Your questions here:

- 3x 1080s founder edition should be fine if You have good case with plenty of positions to mount fans that would provide sufficient airflow.