OctaneRender™ Standalone 4.01.1

Forums: OctaneRender™ Standalone 4.01.1
VIP Information, news and announcements regarding new Octane Render commercial products and releases.

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 4.01.1 [current 4.xx]

Postby abstrax » Tue Dec 11, 2018 2:35 am

abstrax Tue Dec 11, 2018 2:35 am
jonbragado wrote:Hi,

Potentially asking a stupid question but i downloaded version 4.01.1 only to found in another post version 2018.1 with new amazing features. I know this might be testing but my question is, the latest most greatest version of Octane is 2018.1 right?

Thanks,

Yes, that's correct, but 2018 is an experimental build and should not be used in production. The rule of thumb is: Releases posted in the development releases forum (where you can find the 2018 build) are newer and have more features than releases posted in the commercial release forum (this one here), while the latter are more stable.
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is. - Yogi Berra
User avatar
abstrax
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 5091
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 11:01 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 4.01.1 [current 4.xx]

Postby J.C » Wed Dec 12, 2018 12:54 pm

J.C Wed Dec 12, 2018 12:54 pm
Native dialog windows has missing window tile bar:
viewtopic.php?f=14&t=61378&p=353173#p353173
CPU – i7 8700k 4.8Ghz + 64GB RAM, GPU – 2xGTX 980 Ti, 2xRTX 2080
System – OS X 10.12.6, Windows 10, Octane 4/2018, Blender Plugin 16.x.x and 17.x
My Behance portfolio, Blender plugin FB support group
J.C
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1030
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 6:35 pm
Location: Wrocław

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 4.01.1 [current 4.xx]

Postby merid888 » Wed Dec 12, 2018 10:25 pm

merid888 Wed Dec 12, 2018 10:25 pm
hi abstract i been done all about upgrade and i still i can't use octanerender 4.01.1 and 4.0_ 6.11 to 3ds max version
add image about the alert
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
W10 x64 Bits, 24 Gb 1866 OC Mghz, P9X79 ws, E5-2670 Xeón, 2.60 Ghz to 3.30 Ghz Overclock, 2 SSD 240 Gb Raid, ThermalTake Water 2, 1 GTX 1080 Ti OC 11 GB ROG STRIX, 1 Power Supply Corsair 750 W.
User avatar
merid888
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 679
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2011 10:48 pm
Location: Merida

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 4.01.1 [current 4.xx]

Postby abstrax » Wed Dec 12, 2018 10:42 pm

abstrax Wed Dec 12, 2018 10:42 pm
manalokos wrote:We are getting a but in all versions of Octane when using FBX animated cameras.
Everything works fine, but when we save and reload the scene, we don't get a timeline anymore, or we get a timeline with a range going from -2147493648 to 100,

We suspect it might be something related to FBX, since we haven't had any problems when using Alembic.

Kind regards
Filipe

Hi Filipe,

I have been trying to reproduce this issue here bud had only luck a couple of times. Do you've got a scene / project that doesn't load correctly and send it to me? I'm keen to fix it but don't know what the issue yet since I hardly can reproduce it.

Cheers,
Marcus
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is. - Yogi Berra
User avatar
abstrax
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 5091
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 11:01 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 4.01.1 [current 4.xx]

Postby abstrax » Wed Dec 12, 2018 10:54 pm

abstrax Wed Dec 12, 2018 10:54 pm
merid888 wrote:hi abstract i been done all about upgrade and i still i can't use octanerender 4.01.1 and 4.0_ 6.11 to 3ds max version
add image about the alert

Can you please contact your support via the support button in the menu above? They will try to help you as quickly as possible. Thank you.
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is. - Yogi Berra
User avatar
abstrax
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 5091
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 11:01 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 4.01.1 [current 4.xx]

Postby abstrax » Wed Dec 12, 2018 11:11 pm

abstrax Wed Dec 12, 2018 11:11 pm
J.C wrote:Native dialog windows has missing window tile bar:
viewtopic.php?f=14&t=61378&p=353173#p353173

Yes, that's an issue with the UI toolkit we use. We couldn't fix it yet.
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is. - Yogi Berra
User avatar
abstrax
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 5091
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 11:01 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 4.01.1 [current 4.xx]

Postby J.C » Thu Dec 13, 2018 3:15 pm

J.C Thu Dec 13, 2018 3:15 pm
abstrax wrote:
J.C wrote:Native dialog windows has missing window tile bar:
viewtopic.php?f=14&t=61378&p=353173#p353173

Yes, that's an issue with the UI toolkit we use. We couldn't fix it yet.


Is it Apple's fault or something else?
CPU – i7 8700k 4.8Ghz + 64GB RAM, GPU – 2xGTX 980 Ti, 2xRTX 2080
System – OS X 10.12.6, Windows 10, Octane 4/2018, Blender Plugin 16.x.x and 17.x
My Behance portfolio, Blender plugin FB support group
J.C
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1030
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 6:35 pm
Location: Wrocław

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 4.01.1 [current 4.xx]

Postby calus » Thu Dec 13, 2018 8:42 pm

calus Thu Dec 13, 2018 8:42 pm
I just discovered FBX support in Octane is way better than I expected, very good indeed :
I was amazed even the linked polygon caching format is supported, and as this cache format is the same as in Maya I can just update the animation cache directly from inside Maya without exporting again the FBX in Standalone, pretty amazing...

However I found annoying issues, some geometry are just not loaded in Octane,
I isolated sample objects having this problem in the attached FBX.
I found if I change the UV mapping of the objects or subivide the mesh, this would eventually solves the issue,
but I really don't understand this bug/limitation in Octane and how to avoid it ? (the FBX have no issue to load in other sofware)

OctaneFBXbug.zip
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Pascal ANDRE
--------------------
Maya 2019, Windows 7, 128 GB RAM
4x GTX 1070, driver 430.39
--------------------

--------------------
Join MAYA OCTANE USERS Skype discussion here :
https://join.skype.com/LXEQaqqfN15w
--------------------
calus
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1295
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 9:31 am
Location: Paris

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 4.01.1 [current 4.xx]

Postby funk » Fri Dec 14, 2018 12:39 am

funk Fri Dec 14, 2018 12:39 am
I noticed enabling the noise pass restarts the render now. Is that an intentional change or a bug?
Win10 Pro 64 / Core i7-975 3.33GHz / 12GB RAM / GTX 1080 Ti + GTX 670 / 2x1920x1200 / MODO 13
"I am the resurrection, and the life: he that believeth in me, though he were dead, yet shall he live" - Jesus Christ
User avatar
funk
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 768
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 1:24 pm
Location: Australia

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 4.01.1 [current 4.xx]

Postby paride4331 » Fri Dec 14, 2018 7:29 am

paride4331 Fri Dec 14, 2018 7:29 am
merid888 wrote:hi abstract i been done all about upgrade and i still i can't use octanerender 4.01.1 and 4.0_ 6.11 to 3ds max version
add image about the alert


Hi merid888,

1 You will to sign out of Octane Standalone and any plug-in software, please follow the process as described in the Octane Manual 'Signing Out' details here:https://docs.otoy.com/StandaloneH_STA/StandaloneManual.htm#StandaloneSTA/AuthenticationAndInternetAccess.htm.
When you sign out of your plug-in, both your Standalone and Plug-in licenses will be deactivated. (A Standalone license is always bound to a plug-in license, when a plug-in is launched).

2 you will have to upgrade your version 3 licenses to version 4. This upgrade is free and can be done via these 4 steps:
Go to https://home.otoy.com/render/octane-render/purchase/
Select "Upgrade" in the top menu.
Click on "UPGRADE NOW" next to "Upgrade existing licenses to OctaneRender 4".
Select the licenses you want to upgrade and confirm.
Regards
Paride
Win 7 / i7 5930 - 32gb / 1 x quadro K620 / 2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 2651
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am
PreviousNext

Return to Commercial Product News & Releases (Download here)


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Sat Oct 19, 2019 10:57 pm [ UTC ]