doesn't support color icc profile

Forums: doesn't support color icc profile
VIP Information, news and announcements regarding new Octane Render commercial products and releases.

doesn't support color icc profile

Postby Scrudje » Sat Jul 28, 2018 1:43 pm

Scrudje Sat Jul 28, 2018 1:43 pm
Plugin 3d max and standalone doesn't support color icc profile. Guys "no comments", you create software which is engaged in visualization -> color is a integral part of visualization. People buys monitors, calibrate it to right colors and can't choose icc color profile :o

p.s. Your programmers add third/secondary for importance stuff in soft, but doesn't made a base things.

It is like to create the car, every year improve its power, design..... but at the same time every year forget to add a wheel and pedals to salon.

In a case with your software on it life doesn't stop and I of course know "where to buy pedals and a wheel" (how to bypass this problem), but it seems to me it is not normal approach to development of the software and any product in general
Win 10 64 | Geforce Titan black x2 | i7-5960x | 16GB
User avatar
Scrudje
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 4:53 pm

Re: doesn't support color icc profile

Postby paride4331 » Mon Jul 30, 2018 8:11 am

paride4331 Mon Jul 30, 2018 8:11 am
Hi Scrudje,
It could help you.
Regards
Paride
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Win 7 / i7 5930 - 32gb / 1 x quadro K620 / 2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 2690
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am

Re: doesn't support color icc profile

Postby Scrudje » Mon Jul 30, 2018 10:06 am

Scrudje Mon Jul 30, 2018 10:06 am
paride4331 wrote:Hi Scrudje,
It could help you.
Regards
Paride


No, it doesn't help me. i checked it. Some of this "Responses" like srgb,gamma 2.2, gamma 1.0 - just change gamma/brightness(not color), some like kodak, change gamma+add tonemap filter.

The calibrated icc profile which is given by such applications as DisplayCal/i1Profiler have nothing in common with those that are specified in the list.

On my PC correctly display icc colors of a profile only soft like photoshop/illustrator(adobe soft), chrome browser can work with icc profile and acdsee when i check option in preferences. The image in all 3 applications looks equally, but in 3dmax/octane live view, octane standalone it looks as as if I didn't apply profiling. My monitor with wide gammut color (like Adobe rgb, ProPhoto) this is its feature, but for work I am forced to narrow it to the SRGB color space
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Win 10 64 | Geforce Titan black x2 | i7-5960x | 16GB
User avatar
Scrudje
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 4:53 pm

Re: doesn't support color icc profile

Postby paride4331 » Mon Jul 30, 2018 1:22 pm

paride4331 Mon Jul 30, 2018 1:22 pm
Did you set sRGB it in your Octane camera?
https://docs.otoy.com/3DSMaxH/3DSMaxPluginManual.htm#3DSMax/GammaSettings.htm
Did you check yuor Gamma and LUT setting in 3dsMax Preference setting?
Did you check "3ds Max gamma hack" in Render setting Kernel panel?
Regards
Paride
Win 7 / i7 5930 - 32gb / 1 x quadro K620 / 2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 2690
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am

Re: doesn't support color icc profile

Postby Scrudje » Mon Jul 30, 2018 2:10 pm

Scrudje Mon Jul 30, 2018 2:10 pm
paride4331 wrote:Did you set sRGB it in your Octane camera?
https://docs.otoy.com/3DSMaxH/3DSMaxPluginManual.htm#3DSMax/GammaSettings.htm
Did you check yuor Gamma and LUT setting in 3dsMax Preference setting?
Did you check "3ds Max gamma hack" in Render setting Kernel panel?
Regards
Paride


Yes, i try to set it in camera to render setup, then to camera_main settings, i try to change gamma value camera from 1 to 2.2
Gamma and LUT setting in 3dsMax Preference setting = 2.2
Yes i check 3ds Max gamma hack

doesn't matter i try many others options it not works.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Win 10 64 | Geforce Titan black x2 | i7-5960x | 16GB
User avatar
Scrudje
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 4:53 pm

Re: doesn't support color icc profile

Postby paride4331 » Tue Jul 31, 2018 7:39 am

paride4331 Tue Jul 31, 2018 7:39 am
Win 7 / i7 5930 - 32gb / 1 x quadro K620 / 2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 2690
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am

Re: doesn't support color icc profile

Postby Scrudje » Tue Jul 31, 2018 10:31 am

Scrudje Tue Jul 31, 2018 10:31 am


Thank's for the links, but it is not what I'm talking about.

For example you and other topic says that i need to change camera to srgb space(linear, gamma 2.2 - doesn't matter), but when i save it to jpg/png/exr (automatic gamma option or override 1.0-2.2) and open it in photoshop i see different colors.
It is not very good example, because windows print srceen doesn't have color managment support and it is not the same colors that i see in my monitor, but the difference you see.

The problem is not in gamma, problem is in colors (attached files). My monitor have big range in red colors, SRGB color space doesn't have such range in red color etc.

1. Change the gamma space in octane it is only change brightness/exposure, it doesn't change color range.
2. Octane has only its own "profiles", but it doesn't support my own *.icm, i can't choose it(

how else to explain the problem I do not know.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Win 10 64 | Geforce Titan black x2 | i7-5960x | 16GB
User avatar
Scrudje
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2015 4:53 pm

Re: doesn't support color icc profile

Postby vinz » Sun Dec 02, 2018 11:10 pm

vinz Sun Dec 02, 2018 11:10 pm
I'm very interested in this topic, i've the same trouble since a while perhaps because i mostly work inside the standalone. Currently i've exported my DisplayCal monitor profile as a 3dlut ( only activated for color picking ), but the accuracy is far of perfect ( 3dlut and icc are different beast ).
Photoshop is my reference , and I still have slightly different result with photoshop and octane standalone. Color management can be a complex subject, maybe i'm wrong somewhere. I hope this topic will lead to a solution. :)
i7 8700k / 16Gib / GTX980Ti 6GiB / win10x64 1803 / Blender 2.78a / drivers 416.34 + Octane 4.0 Standalone / OctaneBlender
User avatar
vinz
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 230
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2010 5:00 pm
Location: France

Return to Commercial Product News & Releases (Download here)


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: paride4331 and 1 guest

Mon Nov 18, 2019 3:51 pm [ UTC ]