OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.08.1

Forums: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.08.1
VIP Information, news and announcements regarding new Octane Render commercial products and releases.

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.08.1 [current 3.xx]

Postby 3dworks » Wed Jun 27, 2018 8:08 am

3dworks Wed Jun 27, 2018 8:08 am
octane_log.txt
octane_daemon_log.txt
abstrax wrote:
3dworks wrote:thank you for getting back! not sure where i will have to insert that 'heartbeat' flag? my commandline looks like this:

Code: Select all
"/Applications/OctaneRender Daemon 3.08.1.app/Contents/MacOS/octane_slave_daemon" --slave "/Applications/OctaneRender Daemon 3.08.1.app/Contents/MacOS/octane_slave" --alias "Supercat" --port 48000 --out-of-core 8g; exit


thanks again for your support

markus

You would follow these instructions
viewtopic.php?p=339955#p339955
and add the log flag heartbeat to the slave flags file (octane_log_flags.txt). I have attached a modified archive below.

If you can't get the logging working, I will come back to you tomorrow morning as early as possible.


ok thanks! i did follow instructions and this is result see attachments...
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
http://instagram.com/3dworksvisualcomputing

Apple Mac Pro 5,1 with NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 8192 MB, 2 x 2,66 GHz 6-core Intel Xeon/ Mac OS 10.13.6 + networked HP Z600 workstation with 48G RAM, Netstor GPU box, 5 x NVIDIA GTX 980ti / Windows 7 pro.
User avatar
3dworks
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 231
Joined: Fri May 21, 2010 5:08 pm
Location: Berlin

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.08.1 [current 3.xx]

Postby natemac00 » Wed Jun 27, 2018 1:53 pm

natemac00 Wed Jun 27, 2018 1:53 pm
Code: Select all
Last login: Wed Jun 27 08:52:04 on ttys000
"/Applications/OctaneRender Daemon 3.08.1.app/Contents/MacOS/octane_slave_daemon" --slave "/Applications/OctaneRender Daemon 3.08.1.app/Contents/MacOS/octane_slave" --alias "Nates-Mac-Pro" --port 48000; exit
Nates-Mac-Pro:~ natemcgraw$ "/Applications/OctaneRender Daemon 3.08.1.app/Contents/MacOS/octane_slave_daemon" --slave "/Applications/OctaneRender Daemon 3.08.1.app/Contents/MacOS/octane_slave" --alias "Nates-Mac-Pro" --port 48000; exit
[13:52:05.122]             Started logging on 27.06.18 08:52:05
[13:52:05.122]             
[13:52:05.122]             Flag                      Type    Value      Prefix       Description
[13:52:05.122]             ------------------------- ------- ---------- ------------ --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
[13:52:05.122]             daemon                    release 1          "daemon"     Enables general logging of the slave daemon.
[13:52:05.122]             daemonDetail              release 1          "daemon"     Enables detailed logging of the slave daemon.
[13:52:05.122]             logAppendToFile           release 1          ""           If enabled, logging will be to the already existing log file appended
[13:52:05.122]             logFlags                  release 1          ""           If enabled, all log flags will be dumped during startup
[13:52:05.122]             logFlushTime              release 100        ""           The time (ms) after which the log is flushed. If set to 0, the timer based flush will be disabled.
[13:52:05.122]             logForceFlush             release 0          ""           If enabled, every logged line will be flushed
[13:52:05.122]             logJuce                   release 0          "JUCE"       If enabled, JUCE logging will go through the logging framework of Octane
[13:52:05.123]             logPrefix                 release 1          ""           If enabled, each log line will have a prefix
[13:52:05.123]             logTime                   release 1          ""           If enabled, each log line will have a timestamp
[13:52:05.123]             logToDebugConsole         release 0          ""           If enabled, logging will go to the debug console (Windows only)
[13:52:05.123]             logToFile                 release 1          ""           If enabled, logging will go to a log file
[13:52:05.123]             logToStdout               release 1          ""           If enabled, logging will go to standard out (when set to 1) or standard error (when set to 2)
[13:52:05.123]             
[13:52:05.123] daemon    : Command line:
[13:52:05.123] daemon    : --slave "/Applications/OctaneRender Daemon 3.08.1.app/Contents/MacOS/octane_slave" --alias Nates-Mac-Pro --port 48000
[13:52:05.123]             Launching slave to gather information:



[13:52:05.123]             

[13:52:05.123] daemon    : using free port 48001 to communicate with slave
[13:52:05.401]             Started logging on 27.06.18 08:52:05
[13:52:05.401]             
[13:52:05.401]             Flag                      Type    Value      Prefix       Description
[13:52:05.401]             ------------------------- ------- ---------- ------------ --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
[13:52:05.401]             activation                release 0          "activation" Release log for the activation manager
[13:52:05.401]             apiChangeMgr              release 0          "apiChngMgr" Logs ApiChangeManager::update().
[13:52:05.401]             apiForceConnectChecks     release 0          "apiChecks"  Enforces validation of node-pin connections.
[13:52:05.401]             apiNodeSystem             release 0          "apiNodeSys" Logs all write operations in the API node system.
[13:52:05.401]             apiProject                release 0          "apiProject" Logs all important calls into ApiProjectManager.
[13:52:05.401]             apiRender                 release 0          "apiRender"  Logs all important calls into ApiRenderEngine.
[13:52:05.401]             appShutdown               release 0          "appShutdow" Dumps information about application shutdown
[13:52:05.401]             cacheLoad                 release 0          "cacheLoad"  Dumps information about the data cache load
[13:52:05.401]             cudaAlwaysSync            release 0          "cuda"       Enables synchronization after each kernel call
[13:52:05.401]             cudaProf                  release 0          "cudaProf"   Enables general logging of CUDA profiling.
[13:52:05.401]             cudaProfDetail            release 0          "cudaProf"   Enables logging of single CUDA activity records.
[13:52:05.401]             daemon                    release 1          "network"    Not used.
[13:52:05.401]             dumpAlembicObjects        release 0          "AlembicObj" Dump data about exported Alembic objects
[13:52:05.401]             heartbeat                 release 1          "network"    Enables logging of the network rendering heartbeat.
[13:52:05.401]             imageSaving               release 0          "imageSavin" Logs saving of render images.
[13:52:05.401]             licenseUsage              release 0          "licUsage"   Release logging flag for inter-process license usage
[13:52:05.401]             logAppendToFile           release 1          ""           If enabled, logging will be to the already existing log file appended
[13:52:05.401]             logFlags                  release 1          ""           If enabled, all log flags will be dumped during startup
[13:52:05.401]             logFlushTime              release 100        ""           The time (ms) after which the log is flushed. If set to 0, the timer based flush will be disabled.
[13:52:05.401]             logForceFlush             release 0          ""           If enabled, every logged line will be flushed
[13:52:05.401]             logJuce                   release 0          "JUCE"       If enabled, JUCE logging will go through the logging framework of Octane
[13:52:05.401]             logPrefix                 release 1          ""           If enabled, each log line will have a prefix
[13:52:05.401]             logTime                   release 1          ""           If enabled, each log line will have a timestamp
[13:52:05.401]             logToDebugConsole         release 0          ""           If enabled, logging will go to the debug console (Windows only)
[13:52:05.401]             logToFile                 release 1          ""           If enabled, logging will go to a log file
[13:52:05.401]             logToStdout               release 1          ""           If enabled, logging will go to standard out (when set to 1) or standard error (when set to 2)
[13:52:05.401]             makeAllInspectable        release 0          "geometryAr" If enabled, all geometry archives become inspectable. Should only be used if you know what you are doing.
[13:52:05.401]             meshValidation            release 0          "validation" Logs errors of the mesh data validation
[13:52:05.401]             moduleData                release 0          "moduleData" Logging for the loading/storage of module data
[13:52:05.402]             moduleLoader              release 0          "loader"     Logging for module loading and unloading.
[13:52:05.402]             netRender                 release 1          "netRender"  General logging of network rendering
[13:52:05.402]             rdStart                   release 0          "cuda"       Logs information about the creation and start up of render devices and threads.
[13:52:05.402]             subdivider                release 0          "subdivider" logs info about the subdivision process
[13:52:05.402]             
[13:52:05.402]             OctaneRender 3.08.1 (3080100)
[13:52:05.402]             
[13:52:05.489] network   : Starting heartbeat with daemon listening on port 48001
[13:52:05.489] daemon    : slave connection created
[13:52:05.489] daemon    : slave connection established
[13:52:05.489] daemon    : started to monitor slave
[13:52:05.489] network   : Connected to daemon
[13:52:05.504] network   : Sending heartbeat message 'AUTHENTICATING'
[13:52:05.504] daemon    : received heartbeat message 'AUTHENTICATING' from slave
[13:52:08.456] network   : Adding sub-system 0x7fb2138c8210 to heartbeat...
[13:52:08.713]             Launching net render slave (3080100) with master 0.0.0.0:0
[13:52:08.713] netRender : starting net render slave
[13:52:08.713] network   : Adding sub-system 0x7fb214817e00 to heartbeat...
[13:52:08.713] network   : Sending heartbeat message 'SLAVE_INFO'
[13:52:08.713] netRender : stopping net render slave ...
[13:52:08.714] daemon    : received heartbeat message 'SLAVE_INFO' from slave
[13:52:08.714] daemon    : slave has version 3080100 and provides 1 GPU(s)
[13:52:08.715] network   : Removing sub-system 0x7fb214817e00 to heartbeat...
[13:52:08.722] network   : Removing sub-system 0x7fb2138c8210 to heartbeat...
[13:52:08.722] network   : Stopping heartbeat
[13:52:08.723] daemon    : slave connection closed
[13:52:08.723] daemon    : stopped monitoring slave
[13:52:12.776]             detected that slave is hanging after initialization -> stopping slave
[13:52:12.777] ERROR     : failed to send stop message to slave
[13:52:14.253]             
[13:52:14.253]             Stopped logging on 27.06.18 08:52:14
[13:52:14.253]             
[13:52:14.379]             
[13:52:14.379]             Stopped logging on 27.06.18 08:52:14
[13:52:14.379]             
logout
Saving session...
...copying shared history...
...saving history...truncating history files...
...completed.

[Process completed]



3.08 stable works just fine: https://www.dropbox.com/s/4j9cxgdvofucy ... 1.mov?dl=0
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
______________
Nate Mac - Chicago, IL
Cinema 4D R20.059 | Octane 2019.1RC3
Main: '13 Mac Pro | 10.13.6(17G7024) | 2.7GHz 12-core | 64GB | eGPU Gigabyte Aorus GTX1080
Slaves: 4x 980 Ti | GTX 1070 | GTX 1070Ti | RTX 2070 Super
natemac00
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 194
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2016 3:45 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.08.1 [current 3.xx]

Postby abstrax » Wed Jun 27, 2018 8:45 pm

abstrax Wed Jun 27, 2018 8:45 pm
Thank you both for running the test. It seems that the net render slave hangs during shutdown. I'm trying now to figure out where that might be, but if I can't I will make you a special build with more logging to check at which step it exactly hangs and then come back to you. Thank you for your help.

EDIT: Ok, looking at the logs again, it's a bit different: The slave actually shuts down. It just takes a long time (~8.5s), and the daemon should wait 12s but waits only 4s due to a bug. I don't know why that problem doesn't occur in 3.08 and I also don't know which part takes so long to shut down. -> I will sort out the incorrect wait times in the daemon and add a lot of logging to try to find out what's taking so long and send you the build via PM.
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is. - Yogi Berra
User avatar
abstrax
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 5105
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 11:01 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.08.1 [current 3.xx]

Postby natemac00 » Thu Jun 28, 2018 2:51 am

natemac00 Thu Jun 28, 2018 2:51 am
abstrax wrote:Thank you both for running the test. It seems that the net render slave hangs during shutdown. I'm trying now to figure out where that might be, but if I can't I will make you a special build with more logging to check at which step it exactly hangs and then come back to you. Thank you for your help.

EDIT: Ok, looking at the logs again, it's a bit different: The slave actually shuts down. It just takes a long time (~8.5s), and the daemon should wait 12s but waits only 4s due to a bug. I don't know why that problem doesn't occur in 3.08 and I also don't know which part takes so long to shut down. -> I will sort out the incorrect wait times in the daemon and add a lot of logging to try to find out what's taking so long and send you the build via PM.

Thanks for the help
______________
Nate Mac - Chicago, IL
Cinema 4D R20.059 | Octane 2019.1RC3
Main: '13 Mac Pro | 10.13.6(17G7024) | 2.7GHz 12-core | 64GB | eGPU Gigabyte Aorus GTX1080
Slaves: 4x 980 Ti | GTX 1070 | GTX 1070Ti | RTX 2070 Super
natemac00
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 194
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2016 3:45 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.08.1 [current 3.xx]

Postby zoppo » Mon Jul 02, 2018 7:01 am

zoppo Mon Jul 02, 2018 7:01 am
.

Another week another broken promise.


Goldorak wrote:
Goldorak wrote:Sorry for the inconvenience - while this is otherwise a feature complete release, we should have also noted that the offline system for 3.08+ is still at least a week or more out as we compete testing on a new backend for this. If anyone requires offline mode sooner, I’m recommending staying on 3.07 for just a little longer. Please contact help desk if there is a hard and immediate requirement for offline mode with 3.08.


We ran into several unforeseen QA issues with the offline mode system which pushed this out further than we hoped - but sorted that out last week. We'll post in this thread with a precise update once we have finished QA process by EOW.
C4D 20 MSA | Win10
User avatar
zoppo
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 244
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2015 10:37 am
Location: München

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.08.1 [current 3.xx]

Postby DigiChuckle » Tue Jul 03, 2018 2:46 pm

DigiChuckle Tue Jul 03, 2018 2:46 pm
I noticed the alpha channel was aliased while trying to do a back-to-beauty composite in Fusion. This is bad!

The alpha channel in exr will not be anti-aliased whether or not you multiply the color channels with it (by checking the pre-multiplied alpha checkbox in the Imager). This is true for all beauty passes I tried. Not true for info passes.

The work-around while they fix this is to take the alpha from an info pass and transfer that over to the beauty (in a compositing package).

Otoy, is there a way to switch between color and alpha in SA viewport?

alpha-aliasing.gif
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Win10 Pro | Z620 | 2x 8 core Xeon 2.2 Ghz | 64 GB ram | Quadro K4000 + GTX 1060
DigiChuckle
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2015 9:24 pm
Location: Amsterdam

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.08.1 [current 3.xx]

Postby abstrax » Fri Jul 06, 2018 4:00 am

abstrax Fri Jul 06, 2018 4:00 am
DigiChuckle wrote:I noticed the alpha channel was aliased while trying to do a back-to-beauty composite in Fusion. This is bad!

The alpha channel in exr will not be anti-aliased whether or not you multiply the color channels with it (by checking the pre-multiplied alpha checkbox in the Imager). This is true for all beauty passes I tried. Not true for info passes.

Is it possible that you enabled the option disable partial alpha? This should usually be disabled unless you want to compose a render layer on top of the residual layers which have been rendered separately and need this option being enabled (see viewtopic.php?p=269484#p269484).

Regarding the pre-multiplied / straight alpha: Octane pre-multiplies alpha if the option is enabled in the imager node. By default OpenEXR image should be saved with this option enabled.

The work-around while they fix this is to take the alpha from an info pass and transfer that over to the beauty (in a compositing package).

Otoy, is there a way to switch between color and alpha in SA viewport?

Currently that's not possible in the standalone.
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is. - Yogi Berra
User avatar
abstrax
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 5105
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 11:01 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.08.1

Postby DigiChuckle » Fri Jul 06, 2018 2:26 pm

DigiChuckle Fri Jul 06, 2018 2:26 pm
Hi abstrax, no, Disable partial alpha is not enabled.

The combined beauty is anti-aliased. However, individual beauty passes are not. Those info passes which have alpha, are anti-aliased.

I don't pre-multiply the alpha because I don't want to have to divide it before color ocrrection in Fusion. Straight alpha + color correction + alpha multiply = no issues. The aliasing however, is a nuisance since I have to manually replace the aliased alpha channel with one which is anti-aliased. Easy for the alpha, indeed, but impossible for the RGB of passes.

According to me alpha multiplication and channel aliasing are 2 unrelated subjects.
Win10 Pro | Z620 | 2x 8 core Xeon 2.2 Ghz | 64 GB ram | Quadro K4000 + GTX 1060
DigiChuckle
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2015 9:24 pm
Location: Amsterdam

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.08.1

Postby DigiChuckle » Mon Jul 23, 2018 11:28 am

DigiChuckle Mon Jul 23, 2018 11:28 am
Hi again! So, I tried four SA versions. The aliasing of beauty passes is a problem in all versions above 3.07 stable. In V4, too. So, what's changed vis-a-vi anti-aliasing since 3.07?
Win10 Pro | Z620 | 2x 8 core Xeon 2.2 Ghz | 64 GB ram | Quadro K4000 + GTX 1060
DigiChuckle
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2015 9:24 pm
Location: Amsterdam

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.08.1

Postby abstrax » Mon Jul 23, 2018 9:00 pm

abstrax Mon Jul 23, 2018 9:00 pm
DigiChuckle wrote:Hi again! So, I tried four SA versions. The aliasing of beauty passes is a problem in all versions above 3.07 stable. In V4, too. So, what's changed vis-a-vi anti-aliasing since 3.07?

Nothing that I am aware of. Could you send me an example scene and a description of how you compose in Fusion so I can understand your problem better? Because I couldn't see any issues, if the imager settings are correct.
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is. - Yogi Berra
User avatar
abstrax
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 5105
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 11:01 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Previous

Return to Commercial Product News & Releases (Download here)


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

Mon Nov 18, 2019 11:27 am [ UTC ]