OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.06

Forums: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.06
VIP Information, news and announcements regarding new Octane Render commercial products and releases.

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.06 [current 3.xx]

Postby Phantom107 » Wed Apr 26, 2017 7:40 pm

Phantom107 Wed Apr 26, 2017 7:40 pm
calus wrote:
Phantom107 wrote:When I hook up a Scattering medium to a Diffuse material it does not do anything in Path Tracing, even when I play with the settings. Seems to work fine when I hook up the same Scattering medium to a Specular material.
Am I missing something?

Are you sure you didn't forgot to increase transmission of the Diffuse material ?

Thanks!!
User avatar
Phantom107
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 686
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 11:31 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.06 [current 3.xx]

Postby acc24ex » Thu Apr 27, 2017 9:16 am

acc24ex Thu Apr 27, 2017 9:16 am
Specular material - is there a way that it actually shows up as transparent alpha when you save in .png - so far it only seems to work when there is some opacity - not actual transparency from glass - alpha apparently treats the transparent materials the same as a diffuse one -
[size=85]3dmax, zbrush, UE
//Behance profile //BOONAR
//Octane render toolbox 3dsmax
User avatar
acc24ex
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1468
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2010 10:58 pm
Location: Croatia

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.06 [current 3.xx]

Postby paride4331 » Thu Apr 27, 2017 10:49 am

paride4331 Thu Apr 27, 2017 10:49 am
2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid / 3 x Evga RTX 2070 super Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 3148
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.06 [current 3.xx]

Postby abstrax » Thu Apr 27, 2017 9:18 pm

abstrax Thu Apr 27, 2017 9:18 pm
Jorgensen wrote:hi abstrax

i have attached the log.

jorgensen

Ok, thank you. If this problem is reproducible, could you send me the scene please? If we can reproduce it in the office, we will try to fix it as soon as possible.
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is. - Yogi Berra
User avatar
abstrax
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 11:01 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Licensing Issue

Postby rschrem » Sat Apr 29, 2017 7:35 pm

rschrem Sat Apr 29, 2017 7:35 pm
Hi,

This is a great release - esp. the adaptive sampling feature is a real win for us!

We have got one issue:
I created a new system image with all software packages setup as we like it.
Then I installed this system image on several machines.
Each machine has an individual host name and a individual IP address.
Each machine gets a individual Windows serial number after cloning.
The machines also come in two flavours of main board and differ in their GPU.

The problem:
All machines compete for the very same octane license.
After switching on octane on one machine it grabe the licese, the second machine then steals it after starting up octane. And so on.
We have several octane licenses (one for each machine), but only one license is used by all cloned systems.
All of our other licenses remain unused.

Deactivating in octane standalone and reactivating again does not change anything. (this used to work in the past).
Unistalling and then reinstalling Octane does NOT change anything.
Deleting all octane preference files in the AppData does not help either.

Somewhere octane seems to store in the windows system what license to pick. I would like to delete this information.

How can I avoid that all cloned system compete for the very same octane license?

Best regards,
Robert
rschrem
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2014 12:39 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.06 [current 3.xx]

Postby fabrizio_s » Tue May 02, 2017 8:21 am

fabrizio_s Tue May 02, 2017 8:21 am
Hi,
I have a problem with antialiasing and light. I put a simple light sphere inside a pendant lamp but the result is a jagged image. I tried to increase the resolution but I get the same result.
If I decrease light intensity the final image gets better but I need many Samples/Pixel
Any idea?

Thaks in advance

fabrizio
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
fabrizio_s
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 345
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2017 12:14 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.06 [current 3.xx]

Postby Jolbertoquini » Wed May 03, 2017 12:08 pm

Jolbertoquini Wed May 03, 2017 12:08 pm
fabrizio_s wrote:Hi,
I have a problem with antialiasing and light. I put a simple light sphere inside a pendant lamp but the result is a jagged image. I tried to increase the resolution but I get the same result.
If I decrease light intensity the final image gets better but I need many Samples/Pixel
Any idea?

Thaks in advance

fabrizio


Your light is to strong (nearly full white) basically you need a a post processing a bit of Glare and glow.
This is normal I have with any render engine. Or increase the filter but may be not the right solution

Cheers,
JO
Octane Render for Maya.
https://vimeo.com/jocg/videos
https://www.linkedin.com/in/jocgtd
http://www.hmxmedia.com/
--------------------
Join MAYA OCTANE USERS Skype discussion here :
https://join.skype.com/LXEQaqqfN15w
User avatar
Jolbertoquini
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 999
Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2014 7:08 am
Location: London

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.06 [current 3.xx]

Postby fabrizio_s » Wed May 03, 2017 9:04 pm

fabrizio_s Wed May 03, 2017 9:04 pm
Hi JO,
Yes a bit of glare fix the problem but for me it is strage. Some time ago I used Maxwell and I never had this kind of problem even with strong loght or pure white. Evenmore my light (in octane) isn't so powerfu

Best regards

Fabrizio
fabrizio_s
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 345
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2017 12:14 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.06 [current 3.xx]

Postby coilbook » Fri May 05, 2017 11:15 pm

coilbook Fri May 05, 2017 11:15 pm
vray now has denoiser https://youtu.be/z-Vu5UcMuF4
will we see something like this in 3.1 ?
coilbook
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2680
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:27 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.06 [current 3.xx]

Postby Goldorak » Fri May 05, 2017 11:55 pm

Goldorak Fri May 05, 2017 11:55 pm
We'll have an update on this at GTC17 next week. We have the Brigade real time denoiser work (at minimum will be in V4), but also developing an experimental offline (but fast) denoiser in R&D for OctaneImager SDK which we can test in V3 versions once the Image/module SDK is ready. There will also be support for 3rd party denoisers through the same API, but we're at the point where we think we can contribute something new to this areas and want to build it in as a 1st party feature as soon as it's ready.
User avatar
Goldorak
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 2194
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 8:09 pm
PreviousNext

Return to Commercial Product News & Releases (Download here)


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Mon Oct 19, 2020 9:49 pm [ UTC ]