V2.3 and internet log in.....

Forums: V2.3 and internet log in.....
VIP Information, news and announcements regarding new Octane Render commercial products and releases.

V2.3 and internet log in.....

Postby tbansront » Wed Sep 22, 2010 10:54 am

tbansront Wed Sep 22, 2010 10:54 am
:cry:

aparently we must have a internet connexion for the next version of installation of octane

i have several computers and the one with octane render doesn't have internet because i don't want all my PC's be connected on the web! don't want virus or spam etc....
how can i do if i want to install new version?? will the future commercial version have the same contraint to be installed... not very practical......... :| well if i have well understanding what it was written on the forum..
yes.. my english sometimes is not perfect.

hope you'll find a second way to install the software.... or did i bad understanding??? ^^

best reagrds

TB
Thierry Bansront
Tra-FX

Stations: 2 Proc E5620-12 MO 2,4 ghz - 12 Go Ram DDR3 ECC - 2 x HD Sata 600 Mo - Cosmos Cooler master 1000 - 4 GTX 480 1,5 Go
tbansront
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2010 10:22 am
Location: Paris , Uzes . France

Re: V2.3 and internet log in.....

Postby kubo » Wed Sep 22, 2010 11:52 am

kubo Wed Sep 22, 2010 11:52 am
Well, it's pretty easy to setup your computer to access only octane live and blocking everything else, thus keeping a tight security and using octane, or any other app that need live internet connection.
Here is an easy guide by Radiance himself:
http://www.refractivesoftware.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=2857&p=27494&hilit=ethernet#p27494
Besides that "security" issue, Octane Live's advantages surpasses any drawback you can think of with all it's nice features already there and the many more that are coming, the live material data base, only that, by itself is worth it, access not only to your own materials but that of many great users out there, with a simple click, with no fuss of installing or downloading, by themes with the fastes preview ever.
Octane right now is on the edge, but in a few years most of our softwares are going to be live, that's for sure.
windows 7 x64 | 2xGTX570 (warming up the planet 1ºC at a time) | i7 920 | 12GB
User avatar
kubo
 
Posts: 1377
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 4:11 am
Location: Madrizzzz

Re: V2.3 and internet log in.....

Postby tbansront » Thu Sep 23, 2010 11:10 am

tbansront Thu Sep 23, 2010 11:10 am
well..thx!!

i'll see......

the problem is i can't connect my office computer to the net without a wifi card... will it work with it?
i'm working at home and it's not possible for me to connnect toses computr to ethernet.
Thierry Bansront
Tra-FX

Stations: 2 Proc E5620-12 MO 2,4 ghz - 12 Go Ram DDR3 ECC - 2 x HD Sata 600 Mo - Cosmos Cooler master 1000 - 4 GTX 480 1,5 Go
tbansront
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2010 10:22 am
Location: Paris , Uzes . France

Re: V2.3 and internet log in.....

Postby radiance » Thu Sep 23, 2010 2:06 pm

radiance Thu Sep 23, 2010 2:06 pm
tbansront wrote:well..thx!!

i'll see......

the problem is i can't connect my office computer to the net without a wifi card... will it work with it?
i'm working at home and it's not possible for me to connnect toses computr to ethernet.



Yeah, any decent wifi router has a firewall in it.
check on the box first ;)

Radiance
Win 7 x64 & ubuntu | 2x GTX480 | Quad 2.66GHz | 8GB
User avatar
radiance
 
Posts: 7633
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 2:33 pm

Return to Commercial Product News & Releases (Download here)


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Sat Aug 08, 2020 9:50 pm [ UTC ]