Using medium nodes

Post, discuss and share handy resources like textures, models and HDRI maps in this forum.
Forum rules
Please do not post any material that is copyrighted or restricted from public use in any way. OTOY NZ LTD and it's forum members are not liable for any copyright infringements on material in this forum. Please contact us if this is the case and we will remove the material in question.

Re: Using medium nodes

Postby a.boeglin » Mon Mar 12, 2012 8:43 am

Yes I understand that, the only problem is that the roughness also changes the transparency glossiness. If I move the roughness closer to 0, my wax looks like glass. It would be best to separate the transparency roughness from the reflection roughness. Or is there a way to do it with a mix material ? I didn't seem to make it work as the mix material doesn't seem to allow me to add a reflection layer as the blend material would in vray, which is kind of a lack to simulate wood materials or car paint material with multi layered coats.

Another point, I think namings are a bit confusing in octane. Specular material for a transparent material does not make a lot of sense to me. Why not calling it transparent material ?
a.boeglin
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:36 pm

Lumière Volumique

Postby jauffrey » Sun Nov 11, 2012 9:25 pm

roeland wrote:Hi,

You can use the same types of emission node as you would use for a regular emitter.

--
Roeland


hello jai a little problem on light volume it does appear that pass questions why i did wrong, I do not understand
forgive me for my english google
thank you
Attachments
Sans titre-1.jpg
jauffrey
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2011 4:46 pm

Re: Using medium nodes

Postby roeland » Sun Nov 11, 2012 11:58 pm

Your screenshot doesn't show any settings, so I can't tell if anything is wrong here. What are the values for the inputs to the specular material and the scattering medium?

--
Roeland
User avatar
roeland
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 1585
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 10:09 pm

Re: Using medium nodes

Postby jauffrey » Mon Nov 12, 2012 7:38 pm

roeland wrote:Your screenshot doesn't show any settings, so I can't tell if anything is wrong here. What are the values for the inputs to the specular material and the scattering medium?

--
Roeland


Hi, excuse me here is the detail of the parameter
thank you again
Attachments
Sans titre-2.jpg
Sans titre-3.jpg
jauffrey
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2011 4:46 pm

Re: Using medium nodes

Postby roeland » Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:20 pm

For fog you need a low scattering value, and no absorption. Set absorption to 0, scattering to 1, and the scale input, which is multiplied with these two numbers, to a low value like 0.1.

--
Roeland
User avatar
roeland
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 1585
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 10:09 pm

Re: Using medium nodes

Postby jauffrey » Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:59 pm

roeland wrote:For fog you need a low scattering value, and no absorption. Set absorption to 0, scattering to 1, and the scale input, which is multiplied with these two numbers, to a low value like 0.1.

--
Roeland


Merci beaucoup mais alors ces très tres long
mais sur 3gtx 590
jauffrey
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2011 4:46 pm

Re: Using medium nodes

Postby jauffrey » Mon Nov 12, 2012 11:00 pm

roeland wrote:For fog you need a low scattering value, and no absorption. Set absorption to 0, scattering to 1, and the scale input, which is multiplied with these two numbers, to a low value like 0.1.

--
Roeland



Thank you very much but then these very very long
but 3gtx 590
jauffrey
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2011 4:46 pm

Re: Using medium nodes

Postby Joely-Bird » Sun Dec 09, 2012 5:55 pm

A question on using Medium Nodes... Is there a work around for getting a nice sss effect on single plane geometry? typically this is how trees are modelled & giving all the leaves thickness would create huge meshes, but without doing that medium nodes don't work on single polys.

So any tips & tricks?
i7 4820k 4.0Mhz | 32GB RAM | GTX 770
User avatar
Joely-Bird
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2011 7:59 am
Location: London

Re: Using medium nodes

Postby roeland » Sun Dec 09, 2012 9:29 pm

No, sub surface scattering requires some thickness at the moment. For single plane geometry you can have translucency if you set a transmission value on a diffuse material.

--
Roeland
User avatar
roeland
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 1585
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 10:09 pm

Using medium nodes

Postby LesterPn » Tue Jun 02, 2015 12:41 pm

hey i have a question... if i click the deform button and select "textures" my list of "terrain textures" is empty.. any suggestions?
LesterPn
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 26, 2015 7:07 pm
PreviousNext

Return to Resources and Sharing


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

Sat Jun 24, 2017 6:51 am [ UTC ]