Using medium nodes

Post, discuss and share handy resources like textures, models and HDRI maps in this forum.
Forum rules
Please do not post any material that is copyrighted or restricted from public use in any way. OTOY NZ LTD and it's forum members are not liable for any copyright infringements on material in this forum. Please contact us if this is the case and we will remove the material in question.

Re: Using medium nodes

Postby MattRM » Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:23 pm

Hello all,

I can't find the volume emission node ? somebody can help me please ?

Matt
MattRM
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 196
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 6:06 pm
Location: Luxembourg

Re: Using medium nodes

Postby roeland » Wed Dec 28, 2011 6:03 am

Hi,

You can use the same types of emission node as you would use for a regular emitter.

--
Roeland
User avatar
roeland
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 1578
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 10:09 pm

Re: Using medium nodes

Postby MattRM » Wed Dec 28, 2011 11:10 am

Hi,

Ok I found, I'm not understood that it was on the scattering node with specular material. I tried with and without emissive and I found without emitter, I had better result without emitter.

Here some 30 min test, using the same setup I used in renderman for volume ( frustrum box that never cut orign of camera ) :

Image
Image
Image

In all ways, it's a good trick, but it'll be better with a real raymarcher to had shadows in the volume. But for my current project it's just what I need.

Thank you for help

Matthieu
MattRM
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 196
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 6:06 pm
Location: Luxembourg

Re: Using medium nodes

Postby gabrielefx » Wed Dec 28, 2011 4:44 pm

wow!...
realistic fog
why objects don't occlude the fog?
1 X quad GTX580 3GB + 1 X quad GTX680 4GB + 1 X quad Titan 6GB rig + 1 X quad Titan-X 12GB rig
User avatar
gabrielefx
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1698
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2011 2:00 pm

Re: Using medium nodes

Postby MattRM » Wed Dec 28, 2011 5:11 pm

Hi gabrielefx,

This fog was made by using in a "wrong way" a subsurface scattering function, so algorythm for SSS and raymarching have some differences, the rays not take the same path. I think this is why, I can't obtain the shadows in the volume, or maybe it's the scale of the scene. I'll try other idea to see if I can have better result, but I had the shadows from the cone, whose hide a part of my emitter so maybe is just a problem of setup.

Matt
MattRM
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 196
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 6:06 pm
Location: Luxembourg

Re: Using medium nodes

Postby t_3 » Wed Dec 28, 2011 7:35 pm

wow! that looks pretty amazing :shock:
i must admit, i don't understand how you have done that. would you mind posting the setup or maybe even the scene?!?
The obvious is that which is never seen until someone expresses it simply

1x i7 2600K @5.0 (Asrock Z77), 16GB, 2x Asus GTX Titan 6GB @1200/3100/6200
2x i7 2600K @4.5 (P8Z68 -V P), 12GB, 1x EVGA GTX 580 3GB @0900/2200/4400
User avatar
t_3
 
Posts: 2871
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2011 5:37 pm

Re: Using medium nodes

Postby MattRM » Thu Dec 29, 2011 1:30 pm

Hi all,

So, in attachment, a scene file, whose contain the setup I used. The most important is the scale of the scene, intensity of emitters and the scale of the scattering node, that determine the density of fog. To much density, the scene turn to black, cause to much absorbtion by the volume. You need to change scale of scattering by scene. if you unplugged the mix node, from scattering you will have a uniform fog. Be carefull, to bounding box your volume fog to never cut it with the camera plane, the camera need to be always out of the box. One setup is to use, a box that match your frustrum camera, more easier setup.

I put also a screenshot from my maya setup, and result from the octane scene.

Enjoy !!!

Image
ImageImage


Matthieu

http://mattrm.blogs.3dvf.com/
MattRM
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 196
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 6:06 pm
Location: Luxembourg

Re: Using medium nodes

Postby p3taoctane » Thu Dec 29, 2011 3:19 pm

Thanks for sharing... must try this. The megaupload says the scene is unavailable.
At your convenience would you mind re-posting it

Thanks

Peter
Windows 7 Pro_SP 1_64 bit_48 GB Ram_Intel Xeon X5660 2.80 GHZ x2_6 580GTX_1 Quadra 4800
p3taoctane
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1332
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 12:53 am

Re: Using medium nodes

Postby MattRM » Thu Dec 29, 2011 3:35 pm

Humm, yes, this is strange, but new link here :


Matthieu
MattRM
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 196
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 6:06 pm
Location: Luxembourg

Re: Using medium nodes

Postby p3taoctane » Thu Dec 29, 2011 3:46 pm

That did it. Many thanks

Enjoyed your blog
Will let you know if I create anything with the fog technique
Windows 7 Pro_SP 1_64 bit_48 GB Ram_Intel Xeon X5660 2.80 GHZ x2_6 580GTX_1 Quadra 4800
p3taoctane
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1332
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 12:53 am
PreviousNext

Return to Resources and Sharing


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Thu Mar 30, 2017 6:37 pm [ UTC ]