GTX 590??

Forums: GTX 590??
Post, discuss and share handy resources like textures, models and HDRI maps in this forum.
Forum rules
Please do not post any material that is copyrighted or restricted from public use in any way. OTOY NZ LTD and it's forum members are not liable for any copyright infringements on material in this forum. Please contact us if this is the case and we will remove the material in question.

GTX 590??

Postby universalpenman » Wed Apr 27, 2011 10:56 pm

universalpenman Wed Apr 27, 2011 10:56 pm
Just wondering if some body tried already EVGA GFORCE GTX 590 with 3Gigs, I'm thinking on buy it but I' still having some doubts about the performance with octane :S
plz anybody reading this topic share any info about the GTX 590 thanks!! :)
universalpenman
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 5:44 am

Re: GTX 590??

Postby matej » Thu Apr 28, 2011 6:15 am

matej Thu Apr 28, 2011 6:15 am
I haven't seen any reliable confirmations that this card would work as expected (wold work at all + all 3GB available to Octane) - so I would be cautious and wait with the purchase.
SW: Octane 3.05 | Linux Mint 18.1 64bit | Blender 2.78 HW: EVGA GTX 1070 | i5 2500K | 16GB RAM Drivers: 375.26
cgmo.net
User avatar
matej
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2083
Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2010 7:54 pm
Location: Slovenia

Re: GTX 590??

Postby abstrax » Thu Apr 28, 2011 6:30 am

abstrax Thu Apr 28, 2011 6:30 am
The 3GB will be split into two, since the two separate GPUs will have their own memory each. I.e. you will be able to use only 1.5GB of VRAM.

Cheers,
Marcus
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is. - Yogi Berra
User avatar
abstrax
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 5113
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 11:01 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: GTX 590??

Postby Jaberwocky » Thu Apr 28, 2011 10:14 am

Jaberwocky Thu Apr 28, 2011 10:14 am
I agree with Abstrax.More than likely 1.5Gb per GPU.This card is very cost effective though.£580 for 1024 Cuda Cores as opposed to £800 for 2 standard 580's.The only thing is less memory for large scenes that the Palit 3GB 580 cards.However 2 of them would be in the region of £860.Also the 590 is useful if you only have 1 PCIE x 16 slot in your motherboard.You could theoretically have one GPU running display and one running Octane using just the one slot.The downside less memory than 3GB models for large scenes also make sure you have a good power supply to feed the beast and good case airflow.
CPU:-AMD 1055T 6 core, Motherboard:-Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 AM3+, Gigabyte GTX 460-1GB, RAM:-8GB Kingston hyper X Genesis DDR3 1600Mhz D/Ch, Hard Disk:-500GB samsung F3 , OS:-Win7 64bit
User avatar
Jaberwocky
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 976
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2010 3:03 pm

Re: GTX 590??

Postby Timmaigh » Fri Apr 29, 2011 6:17 pm

Timmaigh Fri Apr 29, 2011 6:17 pm
universalpenman wrote:Just wondering if some body tried already EVGA GFORCE GTX 590 with 3Gigs, I'm thinking on buy it but I' still having some doubts about the performance with octane :S
plz anybody reading this topic share any info about the GTX 590 thanks!! :)


see my topic in the OffTopic section of the boards, i just bought it
Intel Core i7 980x @ 3,78GHz - Gigabyte X58A UD7 rev 1.0 - 24GB DDR3 RAM - Gainward GTX590 3GB @ 700/1400/3900 Mhz- 2x Intel X25-M G2 80GB SSD - WD Caviar Black 2TB - WD Caviar Green 2TB - Fractal Design Define R2 - Win7 64bit - Octane 2.57
Timmaigh
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 168
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2010 9:52 pm

Re: GTX 590??

Postby universalpenman » Tue May 03, 2011 10:26 pm

universalpenman Tue May 03, 2011 10:26 pm
abstrax wrote:The 3GB will be split into two, since the two separate GPUs will have their own memory each. I.e. you will be able to use only 1.5GB of VRAM.

Cheers,
Marcus





Thanks for that info Marcus, I' dont have much expertise with GPU's but you may can tell me something about the zotac 590 with 3G in a single core? I just found it in newegg, and in the zotac site you can find both of them, the one with twin GPU and the one with 3G in single GPU

Thanks again Dude!! ;)
universalpenman
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 5:44 am

Re: GTX 590??

Postby universalpenman » Tue May 03, 2011 10:39 pm

universalpenman Tue May 03, 2011 10:39 pm
abstrax wrote:The 3GB will be split into two, since the two separate GPUs will have their own memory each. I.e. you will be able to use only 1.5GB of VRAM.

Cheers,
Marcus



OOOps!! I ' had a little misunderstanding with the cards :oops: the one with 3G in single GPU is the 580, I' just check it!

Thanks anyway fellas!! :)
universalpenman
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 5:44 am

Return to Resources and Sharing


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Mon Dec 16, 2019 2:42 am [ UTC ]