octane for rhino, hdri and lights

Forums: octane for rhino, hdri and lights
Post, discuss and share handy resources like textures, models and HDRI maps in this forum.
Forum rules
Please do not post any material that is copyrighted or restricted from public use in any way. OTOY NZ LTD and it's forum members are not liable for any copyright infringements on material in this forum. Please contact us if this is the case and we will remove the material in question.

octane for rhino, hdri and lights

Postby dvidalis » Tue Nov 25, 2014 5:44 pm

dvidalis Tue Nov 25, 2014 5:44 pm
hello everybody,
new in octane and i am trying to set a scene with a nigth sky (hdri) but alla the lights of the scene do not appear at all. any ideas? is it a setting i am missing here???

Thanks in advance :D
dvidalis
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2014 4:40 pm

Re: octane for rhino, hdri and lights

Postby FooZe » Tue Nov 25, 2014 10:32 pm

FooZe Tue Nov 25, 2014 10:32 pm
Are you happy to post a couple of screenshots of what things look like so far?
User avatar
FooZe
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 1335
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 9:00 pm

Re: octane for rhino, hdri and lights

Postby dvidalis » Wed Nov 26, 2014 7:54 pm

dvidalis Wed Nov 26, 2014 7:54 pm
well here are some printscreens. in the 1 there are no lighs only the hdri. in 2 there are lights in the black cyrcles but they do not appear in render. i use demo version, is it the reason it does not work?
Attachments
2.jpg
1.jpg
dvidalis
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2014 4:40 pm

Re: octane for rhino, hdri and lights

Postby face_off » Wed Nov 26, 2014 8:52 pm

face_off Wed Nov 26, 2014 8:52 pm
Hi - can you post a screenshot of the Material which is applied to the geometry in the black circles in 2 (ie. we need a screenshot of the emitter material)?

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13607
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: octane for rhino, hdri and lights

Postby dvidalis » Thu Nov 27, 2014 11:15 am

dvidalis Thu Nov 27, 2014 11:15 am
well this is an old 3d project i just used to see how octane works. i have made it with vray materials. i wiil attach the material so you can have a look (vismat format). i have also made some tests on simple forms without materials and does not work either.
Attachments
1.jpg
Wall_04.rar
(626.03 KiB) Downloaded 126 times
dvidalis
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2014 4:40 pm

Re: octane for rhino, hdri and lights

Postby face_off » Thu Nov 27, 2014 11:33 am

face_off Thu Nov 27, 2014 11:33 am
I'm really sorry but unless you can provide me with the information I originally asked for (a screenshot of the emitter material) - is it very hard for me to help you.

The rar file you posted does not have a Rhino file enclosed in it.

Vray materials will convert to Octane materials via a Rhino material (so it goes Vray material -> Rhino material -> Octane material) - so if VRay does not correctly convert the emitter material to a Rhino emitter, it will not convert to an Octane emitter.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13607
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: octane for rhino, hdri and lights

Postby dvidalis » Thu Nov 27, 2014 2:19 pm

dvidalis Thu Nov 27, 2014 2:19 pm
i don't know what the emmiter is. first time to hear it. if you can explain where to find i can for sure sent it to you. i could only find this in properties(image 1)

thanks a lot for your patience
Dimitris
Attachments
1.jpg
dvidalis
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2014 4:40 pm

Re: octane for rhino, hdri and lights

Postby face_off » Fri Nov 28, 2014 12:44 am

face_off Fri Nov 28, 2014 12:44 am
i don't know what the emmiter is.
Octane does not use "lights". It uses daylight, IBL or light emission from geometry. The plugin manual cover these in the following section: http://render.otoy.com/manuals/Rhino/?page_id=72.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13607
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: octane for rhino, hdri and lights

Postby dvidalis » Fri Nov 28, 2014 2:42 pm

dvidalis Fri Nov 28, 2014 2:42 pm
ok found it and i think i am getting somewhere, emmiter_3 works but sends light up while emmiter_4 is the same eith the manual. i think i have to make some more tests. thanks a lot for your help.. :D
Attachments
emmiter_4.jpg
emmiter_3.jpg
dvidalis
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2014 4:40 pm

Return to Resources and Sharing


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

Sun Dec 08, 2019 4:35 pm [ UTC ]