REG FIX for 3rd GPU/Octane doent detects my third video card

Post, discuss and share handy resources like textures, models and HDRI maps in this forum.
Forum rules
Please do not post any material that is copyrighted or restricted from public use in any way. OTOY NZ LTD and it's forum members are not liable for any copyright infringements on material in this forum. Please contact us if this is the case and we will remove the material in question.

REG FIX for 3rd GPU/Octane doent detects my third video card

Postby Curious guy » Wed Jul 07, 2010 12:13 am

Hi everyone:

I've recently bought a new computer (specs in my signature), which at first only had 2 GTX 470, I transfered octane to it and started rendering.

Everything ok until I intalled the 3º 470. My computer detects it good but octane doesn't show it in the device manager.

I've reinstalled octane and I change the registry fix to TdrDelay = 15 (shouldn't do anything anyway).

Some screenshots.

Device manager.png
PC device manager.png



Thanks


EDITED BY RADIANCE: Copied to resources forum and made sticky as this topic is very usefull.
3 x Geforce GTX470 | i7 960 | MB x58 classified 4 way sli | Win 7 64bit | 6Gb | Driver 257.21
Curious guy
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2010 4:19 am

Re: Octane doent detects my third video card

Postby PhilBo » Wed Jul 07, 2010 2:14 am

I had the same issue. It's an NVIDIA driver issue that is easily fixed. It involves editing the registry, so only proceed if you are comfortable in working in the registry. Refractive Software will not be held liable for any issues associated with such editing. You assume all risks for attempting the following:

1) Start the registry editor (Start button, type "regedit" and launch it.)

2) Navigate to the following key:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Class\{4D36E968-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}

3) You will see keys for each video card starting with "0000" and then "0001", etc.

4) Under each of the keys identified in 3 for each video card, add two dword values
DisplayLessPolicy
LimitVideoPresentSources

Set each value to 1

5) Once these have been added to each of the video cards, shut down Regedit and then reboot.

Let me know how it works out.

Phil
Win7 64| Two GTX 470s | Phenom II 920 | 8 GB
Win7 32| GTX 260 | Athlon X2 5000+ BE | 2 GB
User avatar
PhilBo
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 553
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 2:36 pm
Location: Warren, Michigan USA

Re: Octane doent detects my third video card

Postby Curious guy » Wed Jul 07, 2010 3:02 am

PhilBo wrote:I had the same issue. It's an NVIDIA driver issue that is easily fixed. It involves editing the registry, so only proceed if you are comfortable in working in the registry. Refractive Software will not be held liable for any issues associated with such editing. You assume all risks for attempting the following:

1) Start the registry editor (Start button, type "regedit" and launch it.)

2) Navigate to the following key:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Class\{4D36E968-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}

3) You will see keys for each video card starting with "0000" and then "0001", etc.

4) Under each of the keys identified in 3 for each video card, add two dword values
DisplayLessPolicy
LimitVideoPresentSources

Set each value to 1

5) Once these have been added to each of the video cards, shut down Regedit and then reboot.

Let me know how it works out.

Phil


Yeah! It worked, Thanks a lot Phil. :D
One las thing Where do you get this information? I't kind of... useful. :mrgreen:
3 x Geforce GTX470 | i7 960 | MB x58 classified 4 way sli | Win 7 64bit | 6Gb | Driver 257.21
Curious guy
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2010 4:19 am

Re: Octane doent detects my third video card

Postby mantra » Wed Jul 07, 2010 8:05 am

PhilBo, add this info to manual
MY WORKS
Cinema 4d | Win7x64 | 450gts

russian octane community
http://vk.com/octanerender
User avatar
mantra
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 263
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 11:51 am

Re: Octane doent detects my third video card

Postby PhilBo » Wed Jul 07, 2010 10:12 pm

This came from Mike at Cubix. It is on the list for the next manual revision.
Win7 64| Two GTX 470s | Phenom II 920 | 8 GB
Win7 32| GTX 260 | Athlon X2 5000+ BE | 2 GB
User avatar
PhilBo
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 553
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 2:36 pm
Location: Warren, Michigan USA

Re: Octane doent detects my third video card

Postby Curious guy » Thu Jul 08, 2010 3:16 am

PhilBo wrote:This came from Mike at Cubix. It is on the list for the next manual revision.

Oh, thougt it came from a specific page... thanks anyway. :lol:
3 x Geforce GTX470 | i7 960 | MB x58 classified 4 way sli | Win 7 64bit | 6Gb | Driver 257.21
Curious guy
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2010 4:19 am

Re: REG FIX for 3rd GPU/Octane doent detects my third video card

Postby frafra » Tue Jul 27, 2010 4:56 pm

Hello,
3 video card into the same system!!!

Thanks to share the exact configuration of your PC as I was looking for 4 video card (3 like yours + one fx 3800) and was unable to find a system that can hold it.

Thanks

Laurent
frafra
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 1:58 pm

Re: REG FIX for 3rd GPU/Octane doent detects my third video card

Postby radiance » Sun Oct 10, 2010 2:41 pm

frafra wrote:Hello,
3 video card into the same system!!!

Thanks to share the exact configuration of your PC as I was looking for 4 video card (3 like yours + one fx 3800) and was unable to find a system that can hold it.

Thanks

Laurent


An ASUS WS class motherboard can seat 4 double length or 7 single length cards (depending on your case), and costs about 300 euros (in belgium, so it should be cheaper in the US i assume... ?)

Radiance
Win 7 x64 & ubuntu | 2x GTX480 | Quad 2.66GHz | 8GB
User avatar
radiance
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 7633
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 2:33 pm

Re: REG FIX for 3rd GPU/Octane doent detects my third video card

Postby emresan » Wed Feb 09, 2011 9:06 pm

will it works with 4 gtx 480 video cards?
http://emresan.net
User avatar
emresan
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2010 7:19 pm
Location: Czech Republic - Prague

Re: REG FIX for 3rd GPU/Octane doent detects my third video

Postby teddyboy16 » Tue Dec 04, 2012 12:59 am

emresan wrote:will it works with 4 gtx 480 video cards?

I have a ASUS WS class motherboard and you should be able to fit four cards without a problem. You just have to make sure you have an adequate power supply.
teddyboy16
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2011 9:50 pm
Location: San Diego, CA USA
Next

Return to Resources and Sharing


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Sun May 28, 2017 1:11 am [ UTC ]