Octane vs Vray

Forums: Octane vs Vray
Post, discuss and share handy resources like textures, models and HDRI maps in this forum.
Forum rules
Please do not post any material that is copyrighted or restricted from public use in any way. OTOY NZ LTD and it's forum members are not liable for any copyright infringements on material in this forum. Please contact us if this is the case and we will remove the material in question.

Octane vs Vray

Postby m.arc.in » Wed Jun 30, 2010 3:22 pm

m.arc.in Wed Jun 30, 2010 3:22 pm
Hi all.
Im reading this forum for a while.
And Im a litle confused.

Octane rendering times are quite long.
Last time I have made some car, and rendered it with vray 1,5. Due to copyright, I can not show images.
Scene was fairly complicated, 1,5 milion poly, and reflective, refractive materials, with sky light and 5 area lights.
With high vray setup it took about 4-5 min. for frame in resolution 2400x1600 pix.
Of course, I used a vray camera and lights, vray ffb etc. with max camera render time was about 25 min.
I'm using vray for several years and I have a lot of experience. If it is set properly, it is very fast.
My system: Core i7 920 with HT enabled, 6GB of ram, Quadro FX4500.

I would like to compare vray with octane, but does not want to buy an expensive graphics card.
Has anyone done a comparison of the octane vs vray.
I'll be grateful for information. Octane interested me very much and thought about buying a beta license.

Regards, Marcin
win7 64/core i7 920/32GB RAM/3x GTX 580 3GB 4x GTX 970 4GB/blender 2.79/Rhino 5,0/octane 3
win7 64/core i5-460M/8GB RAM/GTX 460M 1,5GB/blender 2.79/Rhino 5,0/octane 3 (ASUS G73JW)
User avatar
m.arc.in
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2010 11:16 am
Location: RQM45

Re: Octane vs Vray

Postby Carl S. » Wed Jun 30, 2010 3:31 pm

Carl S. Wed Jun 30, 2010 3:31 pm
Octane is un-biased, vray is not. Hence the longer Octane render times.
Machine #1
i7 3930k 3.2ghz, Win 7, 64-bit, 32gb RAM, 250gb SSD, 2xGTX 580 classified's, 4x GTX580's in Xpander box, 2x GTX480's in Xpander box.

Machine #2
i7 3930k 3.2ghz, Win 8, 64-bit, 32gb RAM, 250gb SSD, 3xGTX 580's, 2x GTX480's in Xpander box.
User avatar
Carl S.
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 209
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 2:37 am

Re: Octane vs Vray

Postby radiance » Wed Jun 30, 2010 4:19 pm

radiance Wed Jun 30, 2010 4:19 pm
Hi,

You can't compare them yet. Octane is currently a spectral brute force renderer.
It would be the same as comparing a ten-ton truck against a racing car, both have advantages and disadvantages.

Octane is much faster, eg if you want a fair comparison, use vray with path tracing (eg brute force gi with depth = 8) and then compare the results.
I think once octane v1.0 final is out with all algorithms present, it's time to do comparisons, not at this time, we haven't finished coding the core renderer yet.

Radiance
Win 7 x64 & ubuntu | 2x GTX480 | Quad 2.66GHz | 8GB
User avatar
radiance
 
Posts: 7633
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 2:33 pm

Re: Octane vs Vray

Postby Proupin » Wed Jun 30, 2010 4:32 pm

Proupin Wed Jun 30, 2010 4:32 pm
Perhaps Vray and in general raytracers can output rough renders faster, but the beauty of Octane is that it takes trial and error out of the equation... so a LOT of time is saved setting up materials to look right etcetera, since all these tweaks are nearly-realtime... You would normally spend a full day setting up lights, materials and render parameters with Vray. In Octane this setup can take what, one hour, two hours?

A Fermi 470 costs 300 euros, that is 3 days worth of work; with 4 or 5 projects the time you'd save will pay the card in full... time is money!
Win 7 64bits / Intel i5 750 @ 2.67Ghz / Geforce GTX 470 / 8GB Ram / 3DS Max 2012 64bits
http://proupinworks.blogspot.com/
User avatar
Proupin
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 735
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 12:01 am
Location: Barcelona

Re: Octane vs Vray

Postby m.arc.in » Wed Jun 30, 2010 4:34 pm

m.arc.in Wed Jun 30, 2010 4:34 pm
Thanks.
Well. Perhaps it's time to change the graphics card.
I'm going to buy a license. I could at least play some cool games.
I must say that I am very impressed with Octane possibilities.
I will waited impatiently for the final version. Until then, I will play with the beta...
win7 64/core i7 920/32GB RAM/3x GTX 580 3GB 4x GTX 970 4GB/blender 2.79/Rhino 5,0/octane 3
win7 64/core i5-460M/8GB RAM/GTX 460M 1,5GB/blender 2.79/Rhino 5,0/octane 3 (ASUS G73JW)
User avatar
m.arc.in
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2010 11:16 am
Location: RQM45

Re: Octane vs Vray

Postby ilyxa » Sun Oct 31, 2010 3:35 pm

ilyxa Sun Oct 31, 2010 3:35 pm
i7 930, 2*gtx480
q6600, gtx260.
ilyxa
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2010 4:24 pm

@radiance

Postby federico » Tue Nov 09, 2010 12:40 pm

federico Tue Nov 09, 2010 12:40 pm
Hi, I have also made a new post, but after reading a little your forum I have seen you are a team member of Octane...
so maybe you can give me a good opinion.
The first is about the choice for a card for Octane...I have seen that some nvidia gtx are faster in the same render of quadro (I'm referring to the post of cecofuli where he has
started a test on a Vray benchmark).
I thought Quadro ones were the best, but after this post I'm not so sure...
The second is about the possibility to support in next future also Ati cards...as they are cheaper in money and in energy usage (I read this article
http://hothardware.com/Reviews/NVIDIA-U ... ew/?page=1)
As I need to change my video card they would be very useful informations to do the right choice...
buying an Ati and going on with Vray but maybe in next future also with Octane, or buying an Nvidia (more expensive)
having the opportunity to do both immediately? But which Nvidia? Gtx or Quadro?
Final...now I use a 3DLabs Wildcat (maybe you even don't know what card is this)...but anyway...there is no chance to try Octane with it, isn't it?

Thank you
federico
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 11:40 am

Re: Octane vs Vray

Postby 8Eggar8 » Tue Nov 09, 2010 7:54 pm

8Eggar8 Tue Nov 09, 2010 7:54 pm
m.arc.in wrote:Thanks.
Well. Perhaps it's time to change the graphics card...


There are even some cool Fermi 460's for less than $200

This one came in at $160 with an extra $30 off in MIR's
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 500173-L0C
MSI NF980-G65 AM3 NVIDIA nForce 980a AMD Motherboard - AMD Athlon II X4 620 (Overclocked to 3.2ghz)
(2)GTX460's, (1)BFG gtx260, OCZ 60GB SSD, KINGWIN 1000W Power, HAF 932 Full Tower, XP64
Octane V1 - 2.46 - CUDA 4.11 - OBJ's from Rhino4
User avatar
8Eggar8
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 102
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 6:42 pm

Return to Resources and Sharing


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: chris.barry and 4 guests

Sun Sep 27, 2020 5:30 pm [ UTC ]