Maya export script for Octane [OLD / SUPERSEDED]

Forums: Maya export script for Octane [OLD / SUPERSEDED]
Post, discuss and share handy resources like textures, models and HDRI maps in this forum.
Forum rules
Please do not post any material that is copyrighted or restricted from public use in any way. OTOY NZ LTD and it's forum members are not liable for any copyright infringements on material in this forum. Please contact us if this is the case and we will remove the material in question.

Maya export script for Octane [OLD / SUPERSEDED]

Postby cgbeige » Mon Apr 19, 2010 4:56 am

cgbeige Mon Apr 19, 2010 4:56 am
I made a simple shelf command that I thought people might like:
Code: Select all
string $currentSceneName = `file -q -sn -shn`;

file -force -options "(groups=1;ptgroups=1;materials=1;smoothing=0;normals=1"
    -typ "OBJexport" -pr
    -es (("/Volumes/HOME_RAID/temps/GoO/" + $currentSceneName) + (".obj"));


Change the path "/Volumes/HOME_RAID/temps/GoO/" to wherever you want the OBJ files stored and you've got a MEL script that exports all selected geometry to the directory with your scene name, with materials.

Windows users, use Unix style path settings (/, not \ for slashes)
cgbeige
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2010 5:30 pm

Re: Maya export script for Octane

Postby vanlicht » Sun Apr 25, 2010 8:38 am

vanlicht Sun Apr 25, 2010 8:38 am
Cool, thanks for writing this. Will try and see how it works.
Best,
Windows 7 64bit | Maya 2010 64 bit (main) | Maya 2011 | Intel i7-920 | Nvidia Quadro FX1800 | Nvidia GTX480
vanlicht
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2010 8:19 am
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Maya export script for Octane

Postby vanlicht » Sun Apr 25, 2010 11:15 pm

vanlicht Sun Apr 25, 2010 11:15 pm
I found there's an OBJ sequence exporter from ZbufferStudios.
It is working great!
[url]http://scripts.zbufferstudios.com/
[/url]
Windows 7 64bit | Maya 2010 64 bit (main) | Maya 2011 | Intel i7-920 | Nvidia Quadro FX1800 | Nvidia GTX480
vanlicht
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2010 8:19 am
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Maya export script for Octane

Postby cgbeige » Wed Apr 28, 2010 4:00 pm

cgbeige Wed Apr 28, 2010 4:00 pm
cool - thanks.

I'm just working on the script a little to be more production-quality, instead of just hammering one file every time.

Code: Select all
string $currentSceneName = `file -q -sn -shn`;
string $currentWorkingSpace = `workspace -q -fullName`;

file -force -options "(groups=1;ptgroups=1;materials=1;smoothing=0;normals=1"
    -typ "OBJexport" -pr
    -es (($currentWorkingSpace + "/octane/") + ($currentSceneName));



That newer script will put the scene name in the obj and put the obj in a project directory called "octane". You have to create this folder or the script will fail. If you want to avoid having redundant textures, just change the "/octane/" part to be the directory where you keep your texture files ("/sourceimages/", for example). Anyway, I'm finding this quite handy:

http://grab.by/444p

save a copy to your shelf and click it any time you want to make an Octane-ready OBJ folder.
cgbeige
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2010 5:30 pm

Re: Maya export script for Octane

Postby bazuka » Thu Apr 29, 2010 11:03 am

bazuka Thu Apr 29, 2010 11:03 am
cgbeige my friend, im making a script with GUI for synchronizing camera from maya->octane ;)

stay tuned...
Maya 2009 x64 & Maya 2011 x64
Windows 7 x64 & Windows XP x64
2x Quad Core Q6600, 8gb, Nvidia Gtx 260 & Gtx 460
bazuka
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 259
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 3:47 pm

Re: Maya export script for Octane

Postby vanlicht » Thu Apr 29, 2010 9:23 pm

vanlicht Thu Apr 29, 2010 9:23 pm
Bazuka, cgbeige,
awesome! Great to see tech-savvy Maya users here.
Windows 7 64bit | Maya 2010 64 bit (main) | Maya 2011 | Intel i7-920 | Nvidia Quadro FX1800 | Nvidia GTX480
vanlicht
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2010 8:19 am
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Maya export script for Octane

Postby cgbeige » Fri Apr 30, 2010 5:02 am

cgbeige Fri Apr 30, 2010 5:02 am
bazuka! So funny how you run into the same people on different forums. Looking forward to the camera matching script - that's the main problem I'm having with Maya>octane workflow and I'm no programmer so I'd be hopeless at writing a MEL/Python > octane XML thing. Glad to see someone is doing it. Can't wait
cgbeige
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2010 5:30 pm

Re: Maya export script for Octane

Postby bazuka » Sat May 01, 2010 6:53 pm

bazuka Sat May 01, 2010 6:53 pm
yeah i know ;) small world :D

i hope ill be able to finish it till next week...
Maya 2009 x64 & Maya 2011 x64
Windows 7 x64 & Windows XP x64
2x Quad Core Q6600, 8gb, Nvidia Gtx 260 & Gtx 460
bazuka
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 259
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 3:47 pm

Re: Maya export script for Octane

Postby cgbeige » Sat May 01, 2010 8:02 pm

cgbeige Sat May 01, 2010 8:02 pm
if you want a tester, email me at daveg at can-con (dot) ca
cgbeige
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2010 5:30 pm

Re: Maya export script for Octane

Postby [gk] » Sat May 01, 2010 8:46 pm

[gk] Sat May 01, 2010 8:46 pm
you should contact radiance and get info on how to layout a predefined User interface. If you do so and the script can do -exactly - what they want it to do ( not what you think would be nice ) there is a good chance it will be a part of the software package at one level or another.

viewtopic.php?f=21&t=1455
Amiga 1000 with 2mb memory card
User avatar
[gk]
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 574
Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2010 12:48 pm
Location: Denmark
Next

Return to Resources and Sharing


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests

Tue Apr 16, 2024 11:32 am [ UTC ]