Jovian Color Picker

Forums: Jovian Color Picker
Post, discuss and share handy resources like textures, models and HDRI maps in this forum.
Forum rules
Please do not post any material that is copyrighted or restricted from public use in any way. OTOY NZ LTD and it's forum members are not liable for any copyright infringements on material in this forum. Please contact us if this is the case and we will remove the material in question.

Jovian Color Picker

Postby Sam » Sat Apr 10, 2010 5:27 pm

Sam Sat Apr 10, 2010 5:27 pm
You think you know everything about color pickers ?
Well think again, with this one ;)


Jovian is a color picker originally made for Lightwave as a Plugin
The plugin had so much success, that Ken Nign made a standalone version

Jovian overide your default Windows ugly and useless color picker
And replace it with something new, with more features, lot of features actually

You can even choose it as default from inside the Photoshop preferences :D

My favourites
- Complementary, Analogous, Triadic, Tetradic harmonies
- Gamma correction (to work in linear space)
- Color Temperature (Kelvin) or Wavelenght
- Color librairies can be added to it, including all Pantones / ANPA / TOYO and Trumatch colors :mrgreen:


Check it out here
Jovian Color Picker

Here's a screenshot of the full UI with the color library browser panel opened

Image
http://Kuto.ch - Samuel Zeller - Freelance 3D Generalist and Graphic designer from Switzerland
User avatar
Sam
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1012
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Geneva

Re: Jovian Color Picker

Postby James » Sat Apr 10, 2010 7:07 pm

James Sat Apr 10, 2010 7:07 pm
Going to have to look into this, it looks fascinating...
Kubuntu 9.04 | Nvidia Gainward 9500 GT | Intel Core2 Quad 2.40 Ghz | 4 GB RAM
User avatar
James
 
Posts: 525
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 2:57 pm
Location: Edinburgh

Re: Jovian Color Picker

Postby understand » Sat Apr 10, 2010 7:44 pm

understand Sat Apr 10, 2010 7:44 pm
Would be cool if there was an option in Octane to default to Windows Color picker instead of using the RGB picker from octane. Then I could use Jovian with octane!!!!!!! (octane color picker sux)
Win 8.0 64-bit | Gainward 460 GTX 2048mb (driver: latest) | Phenom 965 3.4ghz 140w | 12GB
Win 8.1 64-bit | EVGA 780ti Superclocked 3072mb (driver: latest) | i7 4930k 3.4ghz | 32GB
Win 7 64-bit Bootcamp | 650M 1GB (driver: 327.23) | i7 2.7ghz | 8GB
User avatar
understand
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 177
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 4:05 pm
Location: berlin

Re: Jovian Color Picker

Postby Sam » Sat Apr 10, 2010 7:49 pm

Sam Sat Apr 10, 2010 7:49 pm
Would be cool if there was an option in Octane to default to Windows Color picker instead of using the RGB picker from octane. Then I could use Jovian with octane!!!!!!! (octane color picker sux)


Good idea, but this is more because you could pick color from own render
Octane color picker doesn't suck

Its just that Juvian is a speciallized tool
http://Kuto.ch - Samuel Zeller - Freelance 3D Generalist and Graphic designer from Switzerland
User avatar
Sam
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1012
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2010 10:06 am
Location: Geneva

Re: Jovian Color Picker

Postby radiance » Sat Apr 10, 2010 7:56 pm

radiance Sat Apr 10, 2010 7:56 pm
understand wrote:Would be cool if there was an option in Octane to default to Windows Color picker instead of using the RGB picker from octane. Then I could use Jovian with octane!!!!!!! (octane color picker sux)


we actually used the windows colour picker in ancient versions, before we opened the site, but it was very unstable and did'nt integrate well with the rest.
we might update our colourpicker in the future though.

Radiance
Win 7 x64 & ubuntu | 2x GTX480 | Quad 2.66GHz | 8GB
User avatar
radiance
 
Posts: 7633
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 2:33 pm

Re: Jovian Color Picker

Postby aloysiuscarl » Tue Jun 15, 2010 4:33 am

aloysiuscarl Tue Jun 15, 2010 4:33 am
I use "ColorSchemer Studio" but this seems to be a bit more adv. so thankyou to crk'r and up'r..Currently it is only for LightWave. So far I haven't been able to find any information about how to replace the standard Windows color picker.
aloysiuscarl
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2010 4:21 am

Return to Resources and Sharing


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Thu Dec 05, 2019 7:33 pm [ UTC ]