Octane Over-ride Not working

Forums: Octane Over-ride Not working
A public forum for discussing and asking questions about the Octane for Unity Alpha

Moderator: ChrisHekman

Octane Over-ride Not working

Postby Iceman9 » Fri Feb 23, 2018 6:42 am

Iceman9 Fri Feb 23, 2018 6:42 am
I was watching Eric's 'Using Mini MetaVerse Scene Tutorial...regarding creating an Octane Material Over-ride.

After selecting the object and over-riding the material with Octane 'PBR Override' material this is what he sees on his screen.
Image

When I try to follow along this is what I see after creating the override:
Image


I get no 'View Source' button to access the Octane material graph, nor to add a texture. Also the object turns pink.

Advice?

Thanks in advance.
Iceman9
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 179
Joined: Sun Jun 09, 2013 1:22 am

Re: Octane Over-ride Not working

Postby Xhed » Fri Feb 23, 2018 12:18 pm

Xhed Fri Feb 23, 2018 12:18 pm
Did you load Octane? It needs to be loaded for it to be active, so that you can modify PBR Override materials.
- Rick
User avatar
Xhed
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 239
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2013 10:27 pm
Location: Breda, The Netherlands

Re: Octane Over-ride Not working

Postby Iceman9 » Fri Feb 23, 2018 8:32 pm

Iceman9 Fri Feb 23, 2018 8:32 pm
Yes. Octane was loaded. I was rendering with it.
Iceman9
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 179
Joined: Sun Jun 09, 2013 1:22 am

Re: Octane Over-ride Not working

Postby ChrisHekman » Mon Feb 26, 2018 3:25 pm

ChrisHekman Mon Feb 26, 2018 3:25 pm
Iceman9 wrote:Yes. Octane was loaded. I was rendering with it.


It seems that the override material EditorGUI is not being loaded and is falling back to the default material editor.
What version of Unity and what version of OctaneUnity are you using?

Also, are you getting an error or warning?
ChrisHekman
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 357
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2017 3:09 pm

Re: Octane Over-ride Not working

Postby Iceman9 » Fri Mar 02, 2018 7:00 pm

Iceman9 Fri Mar 02, 2018 7:00 pm
Chris, I didn't get an error as I recall.

I've tried one time since, different scene and conditions and as I recall it worked OK. I'll post again if it recurs.
Iceman9
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 179
Joined: Sun Jun 09, 2013 1:22 am

Return to Octane for Unity


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Thu Sep 19, 2019 10:24 am [ UTC ]