NEW: Octane X - is finally here! [MEGA FAQ THREAD]

Forums: NEW: Octane X - is finally here! [MEGA FAQ THREAD]
Sub forum for bug reports
Forum rules
Before posting a bug report, please check the following:
1. That the issue has not already been disclosed
2. That the issue is specific to this plugin, and not Octane in general (Try reproducing it in Standalone)
Bugs related to the Octane Engine itself should be posted into the Standalone Support sub-forum.


All bug reports should include the information below, along with a detailed description of the issue and steps to reproduce it.
A. Operating System, including version (i.e. Win 7, OSX 10.11.2, Ubuntu 14.04, etc.)
B. Graphics Card(s) model (i.e. GTX 580 - 3GB, TITAN, etc.)
C. RAM Capacity (i.e. 6 GB)
D. Nvidia driver version (i.e. 7.50, 7.5.22)
E. OctaneRender Standalone version, if installed (i.e. 2.24.2, 2.23, etc.)
F. OctaneRender plugin version (i.e. v2.25 - 2.21)
G. Host application version, including build number if available (i.e. 3ds Max 2016 Build 18.0)

Re: NEW: Octane X - is finally here! [MEGA FAQ THREAD]

Postby RustamDsg » Wed Mar 24, 2021 3:11 pm

RustamDsg Wed Mar 24, 2021 3:11 pm
Hi,

MacBook Pro (15-inch, Mid 2019)
Radeon Pro 560X 4 ГБ
Intel UHD Graphics 630 1536 МБ
Cinema 4D R23
BigSur (11.2.3)
OctaneX-Enterprise-PR8-macpro

Image
https://disk.yandex.ru/i/20aQ5yXofjviIQ

I adjust the materials, turn on the Live Viewer and give this error (Screenshot). If you configure materials with the Live Viewer enabled, it gives the same error.
What to do?

I tried to solve this problem by researching the forum but couldn't solve it. I doing something wrong?
I'm a newbie, so apologize in advance if I asked a silly question.

Thanks!
RustamDsg
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2021 2:59 pm

Re: NEW: Octane X - is finally here! [MEGA FAQ THREAD]

Postby NicolaMel » Thu Mar 25, 2021 10:12 am

NicolaMel Thu Mar 25, 2021 10:12 am
Hello,

I am having a bit of a problem with Octane X running on Cinema 4D R23 on Big Sur (11.2.3).
Machine is an iMac Pro (2017)
2,3 GHz 18-Core Intel Xeon W
128 GB 2666 MHz DDR4
Radeon Pro Vega 64X 16 GB

With PR7 I had the following problems:

- Denoise not working (known problem)
- Whenever I use a bump map together with Roughness map on a specular material, the iMac crashes (log out), not only on complex models and materials, even on a simple sphere with just a noise on roughness channel and noise on bump. It's always crashing no matter what.

Updated to PR8 yesterday and it's not recognising my GPU (grayed out) and on the live viewer I get a message in red saying "External Renderer", as soon as I click the settings button on the live viewer, Cinema 4D crashes.

Anyone is having the same issue? I am paying a subscription and I am learning Octane, but honestly I don't see the point in paying for a software that's not working.

PR7 worked smoothly beside those two problems.

Thanks
NicolaMel
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2021 4:08 pm

Re: NEW: Octane X - is finally here! [MEGA FAQ THREAD]

Postby bepeg4d » Thu Mar 25, 2021 11:40 am

bepeg4d Thu Mar 25, 2021 11:40 am
Hi RustamDsg,
please completely disable the Intel GPU in Octane Settings/Devices panel, also for Tonemap, and render only with AMD GPU for now.
You need to go to c4doctane Settings Devices panel, and disable all the checkboxes:
Image

ciao Beppe
User avatar
bepeg4d
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 8279
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 6:02 am
Location: Italy

Re: NEW: Octane X - is finally here! [MEGA FAQ THREAD]

Postby g5cedric » Thu Mar 25, 2021 5:03 pm

g5cedric Thu Mar 25, 2021 5:03 pm
Hello,

MacPro (2019)
AMD Radeon Pro Vega II Duo
Cinema 4D R23
BigSur (11.2.3)
OctaneX-Enterprise-PR8

I have the impression that the GPUs are not fully exploited? is normal ?
thx ;)
cedric

Image
Image
Image
Image
Cedric Uebersax, Photographer at France | http://www.cedric-u.com |

MacPro 5,1-2x Nvidia GTX Titan X
MacPro 5,1-2x Nvidia GTX Titan X
MacPro 4,1-3x Nvidia GTX 1080
Win10 1909-Asus X-99-1x 1080-2xRTX 2080ti
MacPro 7,1 Pro Vega II Duo
C4D R23 / 2020.1.5
User avatar
g5cedric
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2014 6:54 pm
Location: France

Re: NEW: Octane X - is finally here! [MEGA FAQ THREAD]

Postby aoktar » Thu Mar 25, 2021 8:22 pm

aoktar Thu Mar 25, 2021 8:22 pm
@RustamDsg,
disable Intel GPU because that's crashing the renderer.
Octane For Cinema 4D developer / 3d generalist

3930k / 16gb / 780ti + 1070/1080 / psu 1600w / numerous hw
User avatar
aoktar
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14140
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 8:28 pm
Location: Türkiye

Re: NEW: Octane X - is finally here! [MEGA FAQ THREAD]

Postby bepeg4d » Fri Mar 26, 2021 7:40 am

bepeg4d Fri Mar 26, 2021 7:40 am
Hi cedric,
please go to c4doctane Settings/Devices panel, press the Device Settings button, and share a complete screenshot of both panels, thanks.
Then share another screenshot similar to this:
Image

How many monitors do you have, and at which GPU are connected?

ciao Beppe
User avatar
bepeg4d
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 8279
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 6:02 am
Location: Italy

Re: NEW: Octane X - is finally here! [MEGA FAQ THREAD]

Postby g5cedric » Fri Mar 26, 2021 11:38 am

g5cedric Fri Mar 26, 2021 11:38 am
Hi bepeg4d,
I have 3 monitors and this my Setting :
Image
Cedric Uebersax, Photographer at France | http://www.cedric-u.com |

MacPro 5,1-2x Nvidia GTX Titan X
MacPro 5,1-2x Nvidia GTX Titan X
MacPro 4,1-3x Nvidia GTX 1080
Win10 1909-Asus X-99-1x 1080-2xRTX 2080ti
MacPro 7,1 Pro Vega II Duo
C4D R23 / 2020.1.5
User avatar
g5cedric
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2014 6:54 pm
Location: France

Re: NEW: Octane X - is finally here! [MEGA FAQ THREAD]

Postby cjadams » Fri Mar 26, 2021 12:43 pm

cjadams Fri Mar 26, 2021 12:43 pm
Will c4d Octane PR-10 be coming soon. for the plugins?
cjadams
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2015 2:27 pm

Re: NEW: Octane X - is finally here! [MEGA FAQ THREAD]

Postby brettcarlsen » Sat Mar 27, 2021 8:46 pm

brettcarlsen Sat Mar 27, 2021 8:46 pm
I've dug through this megathread and can't find the answer for my question. Apologies in advance if it was covered.
I have a mac pro (2019) and a m1 macbook pro. Got PR7 for C4D installed on my mac pro about a month ago, now attempting to get that or pr8 running on my m1 macbook pro so I can start learning octane when I travel for work.
For the life of me I can not get it to show up in cinema4D.
I've moved the contents to a plugin folder I made in the r23 installation folder on my mac as I did on my mac pro.
I never received the error messages/system preferences permissions problems as I did when launching on my mac pro.

Would love any help getting it running on my m1.

Apologies for such a simple question but just can't find the answer anywhere.
brettcarlsen
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2021 3:31 am

Re: NEW: Octane X - is finally here! [MEGA FAQ THREAD]

Postby bepeg4d » Mon Mar 29, 2021 7:38 am

bepeg4d Mon Mar 29, 2021 7:38 am
Hi Cedric,
thanks for the screenshot.
Yes, it is normal.
Since you have monitors connected, you have correctly enabled the Priority for both GPUs connected to monitors, and set it to LOW, to leave a portion of GPU power for handling system/monitors.
This is good to have when you are editing the scene.
You can set The Priority popup to HIGH when you need the full rendering power, and the machine is used for rendering only.

@ cjadams: the devs are working on PR10 plugins, just a little bit of more patience.

Happy Mac GPU rendering,
ciao Beppe
User avatar
bepeg4d
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 8279
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 6:02 am
Location: Italy
PreviousNext

Return to Bug Reports


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Fri May 14, 2021 3:06 pm [ UTC ]