[21.x] New octane output issues, continued...

Forums: [21.x] New octane output issues, continued...
Sub forum for bug reports
Forum rules
Before posting a bug report, please check the following:
1. That the issue has not already been disclosed
2. That the issue is specific to this plugin, and not Octane in general (Try reproducing it in Standalone)
Bugs related to the Octane Engine itself should be posted into the Standalone Support sub-forum.


All bug reports should include the information below, along with a detailed description of the issue and steps to reproduce it.
A. Operating System, including version (i.e. Win 7, OSX 10.11.2, Ubuntu 14.04, etc.)
B. Graphics Card(s) model (i.e. GTX 580 - 3GB, TITAN, etc.)
C. RAM Capacity (i.e. 6 GB)
D. Nvidia driver version (i.e. 7.50, 7.5.22)
E. OctaneRender Standalone version, if installed (i.e. 2.24.2, 2.23, etc.)
F. OctaneRender plugin version (i.e. v2.25 - 2.21)
G. Host application version, including build number if available (i.e. 3ds Max 2016 Build 18.0)

[21.x] New octane output issues, continued...

Postby J.C » Fri Mar 20, 2020 1:16 pm

J.C Fri Mar 20, 2020 1:16 pm
1. There are still unnecessary files being saved when Octane output is enabled.
eg.
Along with Octane .exr/.png file a .jpg/.png/.tif etc file is being saved (standard output file format). This should be disabled or there could be an option to save both formats if user wants to.

2. Single image in Octane .exr/.png format cannot be saved from Save as file dialog.
3. What Octane tags can be used? Are these the same as in Standalone?
4. A "_Combined" to suffix is added to a filename when there are no passes enabled.
Last edited by J.C on Tue Jun 30, 2020 8:47 am, edited 1 time in total.
CPU – i7 8700k 4.8Ghz + 64GB RAM, GPUs: 4xRTX 2080, 2xGTX 980 Ti.
System – Windows 10, Octane 4-2020, Blender Plugin 17.x-21.x
My Behance portfolio, Blender plugin FB support group
J.C
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1380
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 6:35 pm
Location: Wrocław

Re: [21.4] New octane output issues, continued...

Postby J.C » Tue Apr 21, 2020 7:17 am

J.C Tue Apr 21, 2020 7:17 am
In [21.5] build it it the same.
CPU – i7 8700k 4.8Ghz + 64GB RAM, GPUs: 4xRTX 2080, 2xGTX 980 Ti.
System – Windows 10, Octane 4-2020, Blender Plugin 17.x-21.x
My Behance portfolio, Blender plugin FB support group
J.C
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1380
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 6:35 pm
Location: Wrocław

Re: [21.4] New octane output issues, continued...

Postby pegot » Tue Apr 21, 2020 6:38 pm

pegot Tue Apr 21, 2020 6:38 pm
J.C wrote:This should be disabled or there could be an option to save both formats if user wants to.

+1 for a fix to this if possible. The extra files that are generated if one just want to use Octane output is annoying. One thing I have been doing to avoid generating an entire folder of unwanted PNGs if I select Octane EXR output is to set Blender's output to FFmpeg video. This way you only have a single file to delete that takes less space. Plus you get a quick preview file of your animation rather than using Blender's "view animation" option.

It is possible, however, to generate both Octane and Blender .exr output files by using the File Output node in Compositor. In fact this option gives you perfect control over what passes to include in the .exr MultiLayer file. If all you want is the denoised and some other passes, this method does not add the depth and beauty layers - which seem to be automatically generated when using the default output methods.

Unfortunately it seems only Blender default .exr files can be selected when using Compositor File Output. It would be great if we could have Octane outputs available as options in Compositor as well. I will put that in as a user request.
Windows 10
4.2Ghz i7 7700k / 64 GB
AsRock SuperCarrier
GTX 1080 ti SC Black (wc)
GTX 1080 ti SC2 Hybrid
GTX 780 6 GB
------
Hackintosh OS X 10.14.3 - NOT able to use with Octane :(
3.5 Ghz Intel i7-3770K / 32 GB
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5
GTX 770 4 GB
pegot
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 695
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2011 3:44 am

Re: [21.4] New octane output issues, continued...

Postby linograndiotoy » Thu Apr 23, 2020 9:09 am

linograndiotoy Thu Apr 23, 2020 9:09 am
J.C wrote:1. There are still unnecessary files being saved when Octane output is enabled.
eg.
Along with Octane .exr/.png file a .jpg/.png/.tif etc file is being saved (standard output file format). This should be disabled or there could be an option to save both formats if user wants to.

2. Single image in Octane .exr/.png format cannot be saved from Save as file dialog.
3. What Octane tags can be used? Are these the same as in Standalone?
4. A "_Combined" to suffix is added to a filename when there are no passes enabled.


1) It looks fixed to me.
2) That works for me.
3) Not sure. If you mean "%n_%p_%f_%s.%e", those are not working for me.
4) Not sure I'm getting what the issue is here.
linograndiotoy
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 536
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2018 7:10 pm

Re: [21.4] New octane output issues, continued...

Postby pegot » Thu Apr 23, 2020 4:03 pm

pegot Thu Apr 23, 2020 4:03 pm
linograndiotoy wrote:
J.C wrote:1. There are still unnecessary files being saved when Octane output is enabled.
eg.
Along with Octane .exr/.png file a .jpg/.png/.tif etc file is being saved (standard output file format). This should be disabled or there could be an option to save both formats if user wants to.

2. Single image in Octane .exr/.png format cannot be saved from Save as file dialog.

1) It looks fixed to me.
2) That works for me.


1) I just tried on latest 21.6 release and a second set of files are still being generated during animation rendering if Octane output is selected. How are you disabling the default Blender output?

2) See attached screen shots for clarification of what I believe J.C is referring to. There is only the option to save as Blender's defualt output option, regardless of whether or not one has checked the Octane output in Output properties tab. This also goes to what I was saying about the Compositor and File output nodes - there too only the Blender default outputs are available; one can not gain access to Octane output formats. See my recently posted User request:

viewtopic.php?f=115&t=74547
Attachments
Save1.png
Save2.png
Windows 10
4.2Ghz i7 7700k / 64 GB
AsRock SuperCarrier
GTX 1080 ti SC Black (wc)
GTX 1080 ti SC2 Hybrid
GTX 780 6 GB
------
Hackintosh OS X 10.14.3 - NOT able to use with Octane :(
3.5 Ghz Intel i7-3770K / 32 GB
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5
GTX 770 4 GB
pegot
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 695
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2011 3:44 am

Re: [21.4] New octane output issues, continued...

Postby J.C » Thu Apr 23, 2020 4:44 pm

J.C Thu Apr 23, 2020 4:44 pm
Just tried 21.5
1. Not fixed. Two files are still saved when rendering animation. One Octane from output, the second from Blender output.
2. Not possible. There is no such option in save file dialog when saving single image from final render window. I'm I missing something?
3. Standalone tags are not working. Are there any other tags we are not aware of?
4. Fixed.
CPU – i7 8700k 4.8Ghz + 64GB RAM, GPUs: 4xRTX 2080, 2xGTX 980 Ti.
System – Windows 10, Octane 4-2020, Blender Plugin 17.x-21.x
My Behance portfolio, Blender plugin FB support group
J.C
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1380
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 6:35 pm
Location: Wrocław

Re: [21.4] New octane output issues, continued...

Postby linograndiotoy » Fri Apr 24, 2020 8:25 am

linograndiotoy Fri Apr 24, 2020 8:25 am
Just tried 21.5
1. Not fixed. Two files are still saved when rendering animation. One Octane from output, the second from Blender output.


Oh, animation! Ok. I was just rendering a frame. I'll check.

2. Not possible. There is no such option in save file dialog when saving single image from final render window. I'm I missing something?


You can select OpenEXR (single or multi) from the File Format option.
Savedialog.PNG
Savedialog.PNG (28.25 KiB) Viewed 351 times



3. Standalone tags are not working. Are there any other tags we are not aware of?

I'll ask.
4. Fixed.

Good!
linograndiotoy
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 536
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2018 7:10 pm

Re: [21.4] New octane output issues, continued...

Postby pegot » Fri Apr 24, 2020 11:16 am

pegot Fri Apr 24, 2020 11:16 am
linograndiotoy wrote:
2. Not possible. There is no such option in save file dialog when saving single image from final render window. I'm I missing something?


You can select OpenEXR (single or multi) from the File Format option.

Yes, but only by using Blender's default output. Is there anyway to also get access to Octane's exr output in the save as export?
Windows 10
4.2Ghz i7 7700k / 64 GB
AsRock SuperCarrier
GTX 1080 ti SC Black (wc)
GTX 1080 ti SC2 Hybrid
GTX 780 6 GB
------
Hackintosh OS X 10.14.3 - NOT able to use with Octane :(
3.5 Ghz Intel i7-3770K / 32 GB
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5
GTX 770 4 GB
pegot
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 695
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2011 3:44 am

Re: [21.4] New octane output issues, continued...

Postby linograndiotoy » Tue Apr 28, 2020 9:34 am

linograndiotoy Tue Apr 28, 2020 9:34 am
We'll take a look!
linograndiotoy
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 536
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2018 7:10 pm

Re: [21.4] New octane output issues, continued...

Postby J.C » Fri Jun 05, 2020 10:49 am

J.C Fri Jun 05, 2020 10:49 am
Still the same in 21.8
CPU – i7 8700k 4.8Ghz + 64GB RAM, GPUs: 4xRTX 2080, 2xGTX 980 Ti.
System – Windows 10, Octane 4-2020, Blender Plugin 17.x-21.x
My Behance portfolio, Blender plugin FB support group
J.C
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1380
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 6:35 pm
Location: Wrocław
Next

Return to Bug Reports


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Sun Aug 09, 2020 12:22 pm [ UTC ]