[20.3] Environment issues

Forums: [20.3] Environment issues
Sub forum for bug reports
Forum rules
Before posting a bug report, please check the following:
1. That the issue has not already been disclosed
2. That the issue is specific to this plugin, and not Octane in general (Try reproducing it in Standalone)
Bugs related to the Octane Engine itself should be posted into the Standalone Support sub-forum.


All bug reports should include the information below, along with a detailed description of the issue and steps to reproduce it.
A. Operating System, including version (i.e. Win 7, OSX 10.11.2, Ubuntu 14.04, etc.)
B. Graphics Card(s) model (i.e. GTX 580 - 3GB, TITAN, etc.)
C. RAM Capacity (i.e. 6 GB)
D. Nvidia driver version (i.e. 7.50, 7.5.22)
E. OctaneRender Standalone version, if installed (i.e. 2.24.2, 2.23, etc.)
F. OctaneRender plugin version (i.e. v2.25 - 2.21)
G. Host application version, including build number if available (i.e. 3ds Max 2016 Build 18.0)

[20.3] Environment issues

Postby J.C » Mon Oct 14, 2019 8:53 am

J.C Mon Oct 14, 2019 8:53 am
1. Sphere that is used for rotation disappears when manually set to Sun direction.
2. Sun direction looks different in nodes editor than in tab panels (no sphere).
3. There is extra Int value that does nothing.
4. Sometimes float values make sun go crazy fast. eg 0.01 is 0.1 in standalone. The values are no limited to -1...1 range.

environment.png
CPU – i7 8700k 4.8Ghz + 64GB RAM, GPUs: 4xRTX 2080, 2xGTX 980 Ti.
System – Windows 10, Octane 4-2020, Blender Plugin 17.x-21.x
My Behance portfolio, Blender plugin FB support group
J.C
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1380
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 6:35 pm
Location: Wrocław

Re: [20.3] Environment issues

Postby DrawFun » Tue Oct 15, 2019 8:38 am

DrawFun Tue Oct 15, 2019 8:38 am
The float and int values correspond to the value nodes in SA. You can use float value as sun direction in this case but there are other choices.
If you don't want to use the "Sun Direction" node, you can just remove it directly and use the "sphere" to operate the direction - the float value node is unnecessary in this case.

Cheers,
DrawFun
Attachments
Untitled.png
DrawFun
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 335
Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2017 5:02 am

Re: [20.3] Environment issues

Postby J.C » Fri Oct 18, 2019 10:58 am

J.C Fri Oct 18, 2019 10:58 am
Thanks, I got this already.

There is issue with Float Value node. If I plug it to Sun direction input and start to mouse drag over values the sun goes to far compared to values on the node. If I put them manually and then drag they work fine. See attached video, please.
Attachments

[ Play Quicktime file ] float value issue.mp4 [ 6.57 MiB | Viewed 310 times ]

CPU – i7 8700k 4.8Ghz + 64GB RAM, GPUs: 4xRTX 2080, 2xGTX 980 Ti.
System – Windows 10, Octane 4-2020, Blender Plugin 17.x-21.x
My Behance portfolio, Blender plugin FB support group
J.C
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1380
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 6:35 pm
Location: Wrocław

Re: [20.3] Environment issues

Postby DrawFun » Tue Oct 22, 2019 7:09 am

DrawFun Tue Oct 22, 2019 7:09 am
Hello J.C,

Thanks for the video. The float value node is based on Blender's node framework so we cannot change too much in it(e.g. limitation, scope, and accuracy).
As far as I know, the float input in Blender is varying at the step of 0.1. If you want a slower change, try to press SHIFT when dragging, the step will be 0.01. And if you want to change the value faster, press CTRL and the step will be 1.0.
I hope it would help to some extent.

Cheers,
DrawFun
DrawFun
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 335
Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2017 5:02 am

Re: [20.3] Environment issues

Postby J.C » Mon May 25, 2020 12:53 pm

J.C Mon May 25, 2020 12:53 pm
Hello DrawFun,

in 21.7 release the float value node is not working when used for sun position.


DrawFun wrote:Hello J.C,

Thanks for the video. The float value node is based on Blender's node framework so we cannot change too much in it(e.g. limitation, scope, and accuracy).
As far as I know, the float input in Blender is varying at the step of 0.1. If you want a slower change, try to press SHIFT when dragging, the step will be 0.01. And if you want to change the value faster, press CTRL and the step will be 1.0.
I hope it would help to some extent.

Cheers,
DrawFun
CPU – i7 8700k 4.8Ghz + 64GB RAM, GPUs: 4xRTX 2080, 2xGTX 980 Ti.
System – Windows 10, Octane 4-2020, Blender Plugin 17.x-21.x
My Behance portfolio, Blender plugin FB support group
J.C
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1380
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 6:35 pm
Location: Wrocław

Re: [20.3] Environment issues

Postby linograndiotoy » Wed May 27, 2020 9:17 pm

linograndiotoy Wed May 27, 2020 9:17 pm
J.C wrote:Hello DrawFun,

in 21.7 release the float value node is not working when used for sun position.


DrawFun wrote:Hello J.C,

Thanks for the video. The float value node is based on Blender's node framework so we cannot change too much in it(e.g. limitation, scope, and accuracy).
As far as I know, the float input in Blender is varying at the step of 0.1. If you want a slower change, try to press SHIFT when dragging, the step will be 0.01. And if you want to change the value faster, press CTRL and the step will be 1.0.
I hope it would help to some extent.

Cheers,
DrawFun


It works in the current internal build.
linograndiotoy
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 536
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2018 7:10 pm

Return to Bug Reports


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Thu Aug 13, 2020 12:20 am [ UTC ]