Some VDB issues

Forums: Some VDB issues
Sub forum for bug reports
Forum rules
Before posting a bug report, please check the following:
1. That the issue has not already been disclosed
2. That the issue is specific to this plugin, and not Octane in general (Try reproducing it in Standalone)
Bugs related to the Octane Engine itself should be posted into the Standalone Support sub-forum.


All bug reports should include the information below, along with a detailed description of the issue and steps to reproduce it.
A. Operating System, including version (i.e. Win 7, OSX 10.11.2, Ubuntu 14.04, etc.)
B. Graphics Card(s) model (i.e. GTX 580 - 3GB, TITAN, etc.)
C. RAM Capacity (i.e. 6 GB)
D. Nvidia driver version (i.e. 7.50, 7.5.22)
E. OctaneRender Standalone version, if installed (i.e. 2.24.2, 2.23, etc.)
F. OctaneRender plugin version (i.e. v2.25 - 2.21)
G. Host application version, including build number if available (i.e. 3ds Max 2016 Build 18.0)

Some VDB issues

Postby J.C » Fri Apr 12, 2019 9:37 am

J.C Fri Apr 12, 2019 9:37 am
Hi, when using external VDB file I encountered a few issues.
1. Loading/compiling times compared to C4D plugin takes longer. On C4D is instant.
2. There is no visual representation in non rendered view.
3. Loading at first time VDB does not render properly (black mesh). Restarting render or checking and unchecking used as Octane VDB shows proper object.
4. There is no scale setting and VDB file information like it is in C4D plugin.
CPU – i7 8700k 4.8Ghz + 64GB RAM, GPU – 2xGTX 980 Ti, 2xRTX 2080
System – OS X 10.12.6, Windows 10, Octane 4/2018, Blender Plugin 16.x.x and 17.x
My Behance portfolio, Blender plugin FB support group
J.C
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 975
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 6:35 pm
Location: Wrocław

Re: Some VDB issues

Postby linograndiotoy » Mon Apr 15, 2019 5:08 pm

linograndiotoy Mon Apr 15, 2019 5:08 pm
J.C wrote:Hi, when using external VDB file I encountered a few issues.
1. Loading/compiling times compared to C4D plugin takes longer. On C4D is instant.
2. There is no visual representation in non rendered view.
3. Loading at first time VDB does not render properly (black mesh). Restarting render or checking and unchecking used as Octane VDB shows proper object.
4. There is no scale setting and VDB file information like it is in C4D plugin.


Hello Bartek!

I'll verify #1, that really looks odd.
A visual represantation would be absolutely needed.
I've personally has the same issue you describe at #3.
And yes, it would be great to be able to specify the import unit (OpenVDB generated in Blender are imported on a 1 to 1 scale anyway).
linograndiotoy
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 168
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2018 7:10 pm

Return to Bug Reports


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Sun Sep 22, 2019 4:07 pm [ UTC ]