Visibility Toggle not working for animation

Forums: Visibility Toggle not working for animation
Sub forum for bug reports
Forum rules
Before posting a bug report, please check the following:
1. That the issue has not already been disclosed
2. That the issue is specific to this plugin, and not Octane in general (Try reproducing it in Standalone)
Bugs related to the Octane Engine itself should be posted into the Standalone Support sub-forum.


All bug reports should include the information below, along with a detailed description of the issue and steps to reproduce it.
A. Operating System, including version (i.e. Win 7, OSX 10.11.2, Ubuntu 14.04, etc.)
B. Graphics Card(s) model (i.e. GTX 580 - 3GB, TITAN, etc.)
C. RAM Capacity (i.e. 6 GB)
D. Nvidia driver version (i.e. 7.50, 7.5.22)
E. OctaneRender Standalone version, if installed (i.e. 2.24.2, 2.23, etc.)
F. OctaneRender plugin version (i.e. v2.25 - 2.21)
G. Host application version, including build number if available (i.e. 3ds Max 2016 Build 18.0)

Visibility Toggle not working for animation

Postby protovu » Sat Mar 09, 2019 6:07 pm

protovu Sat Mar 09, 2019 6:07 pm
Hi Guys,
Please see attached pdf and image below.

Workflow issues aside, we have an unreliable visibility toggle.
With the same settings, I have 3 results shown in the attached .pdf.

For a given object, toggleing visibility OFF :
Preview is correct
Still image is correct
Animation is wrong.

But wait, there's more. If I start the animation on the errant frame. I can get a correct result. But, this is no way to get through a render with objects appearing and disappearing.

Please see if this can be fixed. Yes, there are work arounds. Not crazy about them.

Separately, it would be really helpful to have the Preview visibility settings strictly match the Render settings. That is, the Octane Camera Visibility setting would be reflected in the Preview window.

----------------------------------------------------------------
Following an overnight render in which I have an object completely pulled out of view once its visibility is reduced through General Visibility within Octane properties from 100 to 0,
you will see that a ghost remains.
The object, is off the stage, yet still rendered as a ghost for the next 400 frames.
vis toggle disaster.PNG


Running out of work arounds here. Please let me know if I am doing something wrong here.

Thank you for your help,
Rick

Win10pro
dual xeon
32g
4 GPU- titan x2, 1080, 970
nvidia 4.17.17
Attachments
visibility toggle.pdf
(353.42 KiB) Downloaded 14 times
protovu
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 338
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2014 7:30 pm

Re: Visibility Toggle not working for animation

Postby protovu » Tue Mar 12, 2019 4:23 pm

protovu Tue Mar 12, 2019 4:23 pm
vis toggle disaster.PNG


Continued....
This again shows the inconsistency between render preview and render. In this case, the indicated flecks were opacity channel controlled.
They are supposed to be gone. I have re-rendered with the correct results.....but I am confused as to why.

Is there some scenario in which having a render preview not match outcome is an advantage? Totally screws up workflow from where I stand.
Losing a ton of time.

Some help please?
protovu
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 338
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2014 7:30 pm

Re: Visibility Toggle not working for animation

Postby DrawFun » Sun Mar 17, 2019 8:17 am

DrawFun Sun Mar 17, 2019 8:17 am
Hello protovu,

Thanks for your report. I will look into it.
Btw, could you please set the mesh type("Data-Octane properties-Mesh type") of the "ivbubble" as "Reshapable" and try again? Thanks.

Cheers,
DrawFun
DrawFun
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 268
Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2017 5:02 am

Re: Visibility Toggle not working for animation

Postby protovu » Sun Mar 17, 2019 10:41 pm

protovu Sun Mar 17, 2019 10:41 pm
Thanks for looking at this, Drawfun.

Sorry for being a dolt.

I Cannot find what you are referring to : ("Data-Octane properties-Mesh type") of the "ivbubble" as "Reshapable" )

Octane Properties, yes? But, nothing about Data, other than Geometry Data....
protovu
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 338
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2014 7:30 pm

Re: Visibility Toggle not working for animation

Postby pegot » Mon Mar 18, 2019 2:43 am

pegot Mon Mar 18, 2019 2:43 am
[quote="protovu"]I Cannot find what you are referring to : ("Data-Octane properties-Mesh type") of the "ivbubble" as "Reshapable" )
Attachments
Octane-Properties-MeshType.png
Windows 10
4.2Ghz i7 7700k / 64 GB
AsRock SuperCarrier
GTX 1080 ti SC Black (wc)
GTX 1080 ti SC2 Hybrid
GTX 780 6 GB
------
Hackintosh OS X 10.14.3 - NOT able to use with Octane :(
3.5 Ghz Intel i7-3770K / 32 GB
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5
GTX 770 4 GB
pegot
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 582
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2011 3:44 am

Re: Visibility Toggle not working for animation

Postby protovu » Mon Mar 18, 2019 4:38 pm

protovu Mon Mar 18, 2019 4:38 pm
Thank you for the precise location, Drawfun.

The "reshapable proxy" selection did properly allow for the visibility OFF for the bubble.

The "reshapable proxy for the IVbag did not work.
Other than being a more complicated model with multiple shaders, the IVbag employs a fade out through "General Visiblity" just prior to toggling OFF "Camera visibility".

I am looking at the BlenderOctane manual on mesh types.
protovu
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 338
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2014 7:30 pm

Re: Visibility Toggle not working for animation

Postby protovu » Tue Mar 19, 2019 5:20 pm

protovu Tue Mar 19, 2019 5:20 pm
Hi DF,
Not sure if this is helpful information.....in addition to OctaneBlender, I use Octane Carrara.

In it, I am able to use General Visibility for fade outs with complex models with multiple shaders. No ghosting.

Additionally, the Carrara native visibility toggle functions predictably, perfectly matching the preview.

Thanks
protovu
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 338
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2014 7:30 pm

Re: Visibility Toggle not working for animation

Postby linograndiotoy » Wed Mar 27, 2019 2:21 am

linograndiotoy Wed Mar 27, 2019 2:21 am
protovu wrote:Hi DF,
Not sure if this is helpful information.....in addition to OctaneBlender, I use Octane Carrara.

In it, I am able to use General Visibility for fade outs with complex models with multiple shaders. No ghosting.

Additionally, the Carrara native visibility toggle functions predictably, perfectly matching the preview.

Thanks



Hi!

It would be nice if you could share a Blender scene (possibly some very basic content showing the issue).

I've tried to reproduce it but it looks like it's working fine here.

Thanks!
linograndiotoy
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 167
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2018 7:10 pm

Re: Visibility Toggle not working for animation

Postby protovu » Wed Mar 27, 2019 3:03 pm

protovu Wed Mar 27, 2019 3:03 pm
Hi Lino,
Thank you for looking at this.

Please see attached Zip file.
Within the zip:
A .blend file that has a disc shape which is supposed to Not Render from frame 196 onward.
and...
In the few rendered frames that I have included, you will see that it does, in fact render at frame 196, even though all available render disables are keyframed (Octane properties, Outliner ), and I am further tricked by the Preview Render, which behaves correctly regarding keyframed visibility.

This problem has been going on since my first Octane Blender use, starting with my August 2018 subscription.

In my work, I have models swapping in and out often. Yes, there are work arounds, but not great ones.

One clue: If I start the render on frame 196, the model visibility behaves correctly.

Win10
dual xeon
32g
4nvidia cards 2xTitan, 1080,970
driver 4.17
Attachments
visbust.zip
(31.59 MiB) Downloaded 14 times
protovu
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 338
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2014 7:30 pm

Re: Visibility Toggle not working for animation

Postby protovu » Wed Apr 03, 2019 3:50 pm

protovu Wed Apr 03, 2019 3:50 pm
Anything happening on this bug?

Has anyone been able to reproduce the problem with the file I provided?
protovu
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 338
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2014 7:30 pm

Return to Bug Reports


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Wed Sep 18, 2019 1:39 pm [ UTC ]