Multiple bugs

Forums: Multiple bugs
Sub forum for bug reports
Forum rules
Before posting a bug report, please check the following:
1. That the issue has not already been disclosed
2. That the issue is specific to this plugin, and not Octane in general (Try reproducing it in Standalone)
Bugs related to the Octane Engine itself should be posted into the Standalone Support sub-forum.


All bug reports should include the information below, along with a detailed description of the issue and steps to reproduce it.
A. Operating System, including version (i.e. Win 7, OSX 10.11.2, Ubuntu 14.04, etc.)
B. Graphics Card(s) model (i.e. GTX 580 - 3GB, TITAN, etc.)
C. RAM Capacity (i.e. 6 GB)
D. Nvidia driver version (i.e. 7.50, 7.5.22)
E. OctaneRender Standalone version, if installed (i.e. 2.24.2, 2.23, etc.)
F. OctaneRender plugin version (i.e. v2.25 - 2.21)
G. Host application version, including build number if available (i.e. 3ds Max 2016 Build 18.0)

Multiple bugs

Postby Chemsy » Sun Feb 10, 2019 1:45 pm

Chemsy Sun Feb 10, 2019 1:45 pm
Win7 64bit
GTX 960
Ram 16GB
Nvidia driver 418.81

Octane Blender plugin 4.02 Octane engine16.3.2
Blender 2.79

1. Preview is not working, the limit is set to 100 samples, but is ignored.
2. Material preview is not working, black square, black preview window.
3. Octane plugin disables viewport color settings, to change them switching engines are required.
Attachments
DisabledViewportColorSettings.jpg
3.
MaterialPreviewNotWorking.jpg
2.
MaxPreviewSampleAreIgnored.jpg
1
Chemsy
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2016 2:05 pm

Re: Multiple bugs

Postby ChrisH » Sun Feb 10, 2019 3:53 pm

ChrisH Sun Feb 10, 2019 3:53 pm
  1. When your using border/region rendering it ignores the max samples. This is a bug/feature of Octane, and not the Blender implementation, as it exists in the standalone version as well (tested today, with latest stable: 4.0.1.1) (and as noted here: viewtopic.php?f=32&t=70443&p=355764&hilit=border+render#p355764 )
    Sadly I can't find any reports of it for the standalone, and I can't find a bug reports forum of standalone.. :/
  2. AFAIK this have never been implemented in "OctaneBlender", and I don't know if there are any plans for it/it ever will. That would be a feature request rather than a bug report.
    Personally I think the material preview has very limited use (even with Cycles etc), since it seldom gives an accurate representation of how it will look in the render (IMHO).
  3. The Viewport Color Settings is a setting that's "part of the implementation of Cycles": When using Blender Render, the viewport color is taken from the Diffuse channel. And the same problem exists with other render plugins.
    This should also be a feature request. I've been thinking of requesting it earlier, and thus I added it as an request now ( viewtopic.php?f=115&t=70629 )
    It should, hopefully, not be too hard to implement within the Octane settings.
Windows 10 Pro - AMD Ryzen 7 2100X 8 core 3.70GHz - 32GB RAM - GeForce GTX 1080 8GB
Octane Prime - Blender Plugin user

Metal IOR values for Octane (with .blend library): https://chris.hindefjord.se/resources/rgb-ior-metals/
User avatar
ChrisH
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 102
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2011 12:13 am
Location: Lidköping, Sweden

Re: Multiple bugs

Postby DrawFun » Wed Feb 13, 2019 9:32 am

DrawFun Wed Feb 13, 2019 9:32 am
Thanks for your reports.
And thanks ChrisH! Thanks for your help!

Iusse #1, yep. As ChrisH posted, it is designed by Octane engine. So it might be better for us to keep it the same as SA by now.

Issue #2 and #3 will be fixed/supported in the next coming build.

Cheers,
DrawFun
DrawFun
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 335
Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2017 5:02 am

Return to Bug Reports


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Thu Aug 13, 2020 6:19 am [ UTC ]