Mix texture values not working in 16.3.1

Forums: Mix texture values not working in 16.3.1
Sub forum for bug reports
Forum rules
Before posting a bug report, please check the following:
1. That the issue has not already been disclosed
2. That the issue is specific to this plugin, and not Octane in general (Try reproducing it in Standalone)
Bugs related to the Octane Engine itself should be posted into the Standalone Support sub-forum.


All bug reports should include the information below, along with a detailed description of the issue and steps to reproduce it.
A. Operating System, including version (i.e. Win 7, OSX 10.11.2, Ubuntu 14.04, etc.)
B. Graphics Card(s) model (i.e. GTX 580 - 3GB, TITAN, etc.)
C. RAM Capacity (i.e. 6 GB)
D. Nvidia driver version (i.e. 7.50, 7.5.22)
E. OctaneRender Standalone version, if installed (i.e. 2.24.2, 2.23, etc.)
F. OctaneRender plugin version (i.e. v2.25 - 2.21)
G. Host application version, including build number if available (i.e. 3ds Max 2016 Build 18.0)

Mix texture values not working in 16.3.1

Postby J.C » Tue Dec 18, 2018 11:53 am

J.C Tue Dec 18, 2018 11:53 am
Mix texture values 1 and 2 don't work at all. It's always set to 1.
This worked before and there was no need to input float values as they were already in the node.
CPU – i7 8700k 4.8Ghz + 64GB RAM, GPU – 2xGTX 980 Ti, 2xRTX 2080
System – OS X 10.12.6, Windows 10, Octane 4/2018, Blender Plugin 16.x.x and 17.x
My Behance portfolio, Blender plugin FB support group
J.C
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 976
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 6:35 pm
Location: Wrocław

Re: Mix texture values not working in 16.3.1

Postby J.C » Wed Dec 19, 2018 9:22 am

J.C Wed Dec 19, 2018 9:22 am
This brakes compatibility with projects created in previous version. Could you please fix this?
CPU – i7 8700k 4.8Ghz + 64GB RAM, GPU – 2xGTX 980 Ti, 2xRTX 2080
System – OS X 10.12.6, Windows 10, Octane 4/2018, Blender Plugin 16.x.x and 17.x
My Behance portfolio, Blender plugin FB support group
J.C
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 976
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 6:35 pm
Location: Wrocław

Re: Mix texture values not working in 16.3.1

Postby DrawFun » Wed Dec 19, 2018 12:36 pm

DrawFun Wed Dec 19, 2018 12:36 pm
Hi J.C,

Thanks for your report. It will be fixed in 16.3.2.

Cheers,
DrawFun
DrawFun
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 269
Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2017 5:02 am

Re: Mix texture values not working in 16.3.1

Postby Whispermode » Fri Dec 21, 2018 9:20 pm

Whispermode Fri Dec 21, 2018 9:20 pm
DrawFun wrote:Hi J.C,

Thanks for your report. It will be fixed in 16.3.2.

Cheers,
DrawFun


I don't know if this is worth a new thread, but Mix Material behaviour is broken, too.

When I load projects built in the previous version, anything that has a mixed material displays incorrectly; it's a 100% on only one of the materials.

To fix, you have to reattach the materials in the opposite polarity to how they were before i.e. 1 is now 2, 2 is now 1 (?)

It seems OK when building a new Mix Material.
Whispermode
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2016 11:27 pm

Re: Mix texture values not working in 16.3.1

Postby J.C » Sat Dec 22, 2018 11:07 am

J.C Sat Dec 22, 2018 11:07 am
Whispermode wrote:I don't know if this is worth a new thread, but Mix Material behaviour is broken, too.

When I load projects built in the previous version, anything that has a mixed material displays incorrectly; it's a 100% on only one of the materials.

To fix, you have to reattach the materials in the opposite polarity to how they were before i.e. 1 is now 2, 2 is now 1 (?)

It seems OK when building a new Mix Material.


I can confirm this bug too.
CPU – i7 8700k 4.8Ghz + 64GB RAM, GPU – 2xGTX 980 Ti, 2xRTX 2080
System – OS X 10.12.6, Windows 10, Octane 4/2018, Blender Plugin 16.x.x and 17.x
My Behance portfolio, Blender plugin FB support group
J.C
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 976
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 6:35 pm
Location: Wrocław

Re: Mix texture values not working in 16.3.1

Postby linograndiotoy » Sat Dec 22, 2018 7:01 pm

linograndiotoy Sat Dec 22, 2018 7:01 pm
Those are changes due to the way Octane Standalone works, and where there since the first official 4 release (and in RC versions as well).

The best way to fix back compatibility is for Octane 4 to recognize scenes built in the "old" (3) version and adapt them to the new standard.

This will make everybody happy, since it will be possible to load V3 projects in V4 and also preserve the ones created in V4 directly, which is equally important.
linograndiotoy
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 169
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2018 7:10 pm

Re: Mix texture values not working in 16.3.1

Postby J.C » Sat Dec 22, 2018 10:15 pm

J.C Sat Dec 22, 2018 10:15 pm
linograndiotoy wrote:Those are changes due to the way Octane Standalone works, and where there since the first official 4 release (and in RC versions as well).


All previous versions did not have those issues including RC ones.
Exported orbx files created in those builds work fine in latest standalone.
CPU – i7 8700k 4.8Ghz + 64GB RAM, GPU – 2xGTX 980 Ti, 2xRTX 2080
System – OS X 10.12.6, Windows 10, Octane 4/2018, Blender Plugin 16.x.x and 17.x
My Behance portfolio, Blender plugin FB support group
J.C
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 976
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 6:35 pm
Location: Wrocław

Re: Mix texture values not working in 16.3.1

Postby linograndiotoy » Sun Dec 23, 2018 4:19 pm

linograndiotoy Sun Dec 23, 2018 4:19 pm
Next Octane 4 for Blender build will load 3.0 scenes correctly, just detecting if they've been created using an older version and making the due changes to adapt the values of any used Mix node to the new standard.
Current Mix nodes behavior will not change, since is perfectly aligned to the way Octane Standalone 4 and all related plugins work.
linograndiotoy
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 169
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2018 7:10 pm

Re: Mix texture values not working in 16.3.1

Postby J.C » Thu Dec 27, 2018 5:01 pm

J.C Thu Dec 27, 2018 5:01 pm
Multiple texture has first non working slider value. It's there but it is doing nothing.
CPU – i7 8700k 4.8Ghz + 64GB RAM, GPU – 2xGTX 980 Ti, 2xRTX 2080
System – OS X 10.12.6, Windows 10, Octane 4/2018, Blender Plugin 16.x.x and 17.x
My Behance portfolio, Blender plugin FB support group
J.C
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 976
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 6:35 pm
Location: Wrocław

Re: Mix texture values not working in 16.3.1

Postby DrawFun » Thu Jan 10, 2019 1:59 pm

DrawFun Thu Jan 10, 2019 1:59 pm
Hi J.C,

Could you please check it in the coming 17.1(will be available late this week or early next week) whether it is fixed?
If so, I will merge fixes to next v4 build. Thanks.

Cheers,
DrawFun
DrawFun
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 269
Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2017 5:02 am
Next

Return to Bug Reports


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Tue Sep 24, 2019 8:55 am [ UTC ]