Displacement Scene Scale

Forums: Displacement Scene Scale
Sub forum for bug reports

Moderator: JimStar

Forum rules
Before posting a bug report, please check the following:
1. That the issue has not already been disclosed
2. That the issue is specific to this plugin, and not Octane in general (Try reproducing it in Standalone)
Bugs related to the Octane Engine itself should be posted into the Standalone Support sub-forum.


All bug reports should include the information below, along with a detailed description of the issue and steps to reproduce it.
A. Operating System, including version (i.e. Win 7, OSX 10.11.2, Ubuntu 14.04, etc.)
B. Graphics Card(s) model (i.e. GTX 580 - 3GB, TITAN, etc.)
C. RAM Capacity (i.e. 6 GB)
D. Nvidia driver version (i.e. 7.50, 7.5.22)
E. OctaneRender Standalone version, if installed (i.e. 2.24.2, 2.23, etc.)
F. OctaneRender plugin version (i.e. v2.25 - 2.21)
G. Host application version, including build number if available (i.e. 3ds Max 2016 Build 18.0)

Displacement Scene Scale

Postby Jolbertoquini » Fri Jun 16, 2017 9:51 am

Jolbertoquini Fri Jun 16, 2017 9:51 am
Hi Guys,

I'm trying to understand some issues I can have with the scene scale while using the displacement, basically when I have my render settings on additional tab set Scale at 1.00 (default) the displacement are looking perfect and has any issues if I change the scale to 0.01 to make my scene as cm (standard size workflow for the industry) I get weird results any help?

Maybe some help from the developer of Standalone?

here some screenshots and the Maya scene:
Attachments
displacement_scale_scene_1-00.png
Scene scale at 1 based on "m" Default
displacement_scale_scene_0-01.png
Scene scale at 0.01 based on "cm"
Displacement_scene.rar
Maya scene with textures
(412.73 KiB) Downloaded 118 times
Octane Render for Maya.
https://vimeo.com/jocg/videos
https://www.linkedin.com/in/jocgtd
http://www.hmxmedia.com/
--------------------
Join MAYA OCTANE USERS Skype discussion here :
https://join.skype.com/LXEQaqqfN15w
User avatar
Jolbertoquini
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 999
Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2014 7:08 am
Location: London

Re: Displacement Scene Scale

Postby Jolbertoquini » Fri Jun 16, 2017 10:00 am

Jolbertoquini Fri Jun 16, 2017 10:00 am
Here one other test....I set the scene scale as default 1=meters and then I manually scale my geometry to a small size so Octane get as cm size... and I get the same weird and bad result as the "scene scale at 0.01", I'm confused so Octane Render doesn't support right scenes in cm?

Hope developers or Goldorak could give us some explanation or maybe a solution

here a preview:
Attachments
displacement_scale_scene_1-00_geo_scale.png
geometry scale
Octane Render for Maya.
https://vimeo.com/jocg/videos
https://www.linkedin.com/in/jocgtd
http://www.hmxmedia.com/
--------------------
Join MAYA OCTANE USERS Skype discussion here :
https://join.skype.com/LXEQaqqfN15w
User avatar
Jolbertoquini
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 999
Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2014 7:08 am
Location: London

Re: Displacement Scene Scale

Postby abstrax » Mon Jul 03, 2017 1:13 am

abstrax Mon Jul 03, 2017 1:13 am
Yes, this problem was forwarded to us. We didn't have time to look into it in detail yet, but it looks like a bug. We will try to fix it as soon as possible.
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is. - Yogi Berra
User avatar
abstrax
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 5151
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 11:01 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: Displacement Scene Scale

Postby Jolbertoquini » Mon Jul 03, 2017 4:25 pm

Jolbertoquini Mon Jul 03, 2017 4:25 pm
abstrax wrote:Yes, this problem was forwarded to us. We didn't have time to look into it in detail yet, but it looks like a bug. We will try to fix it as soon as possible.


Thanks, Abstrax would be really something for us we would like to use more displacement on the project , thank you very much for reply.

Cheers,
JO
Octane Render for Maya.
https://vimeo.com/jocg/videos
https://www.linkedin.com/in/jocgtd
http://www.hmxmedia.com/
--------------------
Join MAYA OCTANE USERS Skype discussion here :
https://join.skype.com/LXEQaqqfN15w
User avatar
Jolbertoquini
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 999
Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2014 7:08 am
Location: London

Re: Displacement Scene Scale

Postby itsallgoode9 » Thu Jan 17, 2019 8:20 pm

itsallgoode9 Thu Jan 17, 2019 8:20 pm
I ran into a related issue just today when using displacement for some condensation. To add to what was already mentioned (i think this is directly related) the scale of the UVs seems to matter--aka, if your UVs on a displaced object are not scaled large enough you start getting artifacts where sections of the geo are disappearing. There are other scale related issues like this i've come across as well when changing scene scale, displacement scale etc.
Intel i7-3930K, 64gb RAM, Asus X79 Deluxe mobo, 2x EVGA 780 6gb (for rendering), 1x PNY quaddro k4000 (for display)
Windows 8.1 x64, Maya 2014, Octane Render v2
itsallgoode9
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 832
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2014 9:04 am
Location: New York City

Return to Bug Reports


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Wed Sep 30, 2020 12:20 am [ UTC ]