NEW: Octane X - is finally here! [MEGA FAQ THREAD]

Forums: NEW: Octane X - is finally here! [MEGA FAQ THREAD]
Sub forum for feature requests etc

Moderator: juanjgon

Re: NEW: Octane X - is finally here! [MEGA FAQ THREAD]

Postby filipg » Mon Mar 15, 2021 8:00 am

filipg Mon Mar 15, 2021 8:00 am
I'm very excited to get started with Octane Render on my Mac!

BUT.... the PR7 Prime for Cinema 4D R23 doesn't work at all at my Macbook Pro with Intel running Big Sur 11.2.3. When I try to create a new Octane material (doesn't matter which one) the preview is just pitch black (sometimes it looks something like a glitch). Then when I try to start the renderer, Cinema 4D just freezes and I need to force-quit. This happens every single time. Please help! Maybe Octane isn't supposed to run on a Macbook Pro without eGPU or AMD card? I read that @cjadams had some similiar issues back in this thread, don't know if they got resolved?
filipg
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2021 7:49 am
Location: Gothenburg

Re: NEW: Octane X - is finally here! [MEGA FAQ THREAD]

Postby bepeg4d » Mon Mar 15, 2021 8:01 am

bepeg4d Mon Mar 15, 2021 8:01 am
@ TheBloke: we have been informed by Apple that 11.3 beta 3 has the support for Big Navi GPUs, but I cannot find a Big Navi GPU here in Italy for directly testing it, I’m sorry.
If you had to add another GPU to start the Mac, it seems that the support is still not ready :roll:

@ Pixege: yes, after 3 hours of rendering, the Demo mode starts automatically, I have already reported it ti the core team.

@ Gianluca: Thanks for the report, it seems related to Navi GPU, please share a screenshot from Kernel, Camera Imager and Devices panels thanks.

ciao Beppe
User avatar
bepeg4d
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 8272
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 6:02 am
Location: Italy

Re: NEW: Octane X - is finally here! [MEGA FAQ THREAD]

Postby reddog » Mon Mar 15, 2021 6:03 pm

reddog Mon Mar 15, 2021 6:03 pm
Hi, I'm new on this forum.
I've downloaded OctaneX from AppStore and run it on MacBook Pro 13" M1.
Octane run very good. My question it's about Octane X prime and DCC plugins. On M1 processors plug-in for C4D and Blender seems not work.
Cinema plug-in crash Cinema4D R21 and 23 demo, Blender server don't start.
There's something i do wrong or plugins haven't been updated yet?

TankYou
User avatar
reddog
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 9:18 am
Location: Italy

Re: NEW: Octane X - is finally here! [MEGA FAQ THREAD]

Postby jhansen » Mon Mar 15, 2021 8:20 pm

jhansen Mon Mar 15, 2021 8:20 pm
Is anyone else seeing the Octane Live Viewer getting unresponsive in Cinema 4D after a sitting idle for a while? The progress bar chugs along but the Live Viewer doesn't update. The only solution so far seems to be restarting Cinema 4D. Before upgrading to Big Sur and PR8 it was working fine. Well, except for the constant crashes that seems to be a part of the deal.
iMac Retina 5K (2019)
3,6 GHz 8-Core Intel Core i9
64 GB 2400 MHz DDR4
Render GPUs: 2 x Radeon VII 16 GB (Razer Core X)
Viewport GPU: Radeon Pro Vega 48 8 GB
macOS Big Sur 10.2.3 | Cinema 4D R23.110 | Octane X PR8
jhansen
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2020 7:22 pm

Re: NEW: Octane X - is finally here! [MEGA FAQ THREAD]

Postby Rainbow-3D » Tue Mar 16, 2021 12:02 am

Rainbow-3D Tue Mar 16, 2021 12:02 am
bepeg4d wrote:@ Gianluca: Thanks for the report, it seems related to Navi GPU, please share a screenshot from Kernel, Camera Imager and Devices panels thanks.
ciao Beppe


Hi Beppe,
here the screenshots you asked me.
Thank you for any help.

p.s. another problem sometimes happens very often: octane randomly "loses" the license. I need to close lightwave, restart it and all is ok. After some time (minutes or hours) happens again. I can't figure when. I try to look if I do something "wrong", but for now I don't understand. Maybe it isn't a problem of OctaneX, I don't know for now. If I will have more info I will write you.

Thank you.
Ciao
Gianluca
Attachments
Schermata 2021-03-15 alle 09.27.15.jpg
Schermata 2021-03-15 alle 09.26.28.jpg
Schermata 2021-03-15 alle 09.25.07.jpg
Win 7 x64 | Asus P8P67-M - i72600K | 16 GB RAM | 1 x nVidia RTX 2800 | 1 x nVidia GTX 750ti
User avatar
Rainbow-3D
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2018 7:27 pm

Re: NEW: Octane X - is finally here! [MEGA FAQ THREAD]

Postby bepeg4d » Tue Mar 16, 2021 7:29 am

bepeg4d Tue Mar 16, 2021 7:29 am
@ reddog: you need plugins based on PR8 SDK for M1 chip, but they are not available yet for free Prime tier, only Studio and Enterprise licenses for now.
Please also note that you need to install Rosetta 2 to be able to use plugins on M1 chip for now.

@ jhansen and Gianluca: I think that this is related to the same issue with Demo mode that starts after some time of rendering, and should be solved in the next version.

@ Gianluca: I have another c4doctaneX user with 5700XT reporting the same issue with Adaptive Sampling and the square effect, so it seems a specific issue of Navi GPUs, I have reported it to the devs.

Happy Mac GPU rendering,
ciao Beppe
User avatar
bepeg4d
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 8272
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 6:02 am
Location: Italy

Re: NEW: Octane X - is finally here! [MEGA FAQ THREAD]

Postby stevelong03 » Wed Mar 17, 2021 7:20 am

stevelong03 Wed Mar 17, 2021 7:20 am
Hi! I'm a Mac Pro subscribe user.
I use Mac Pro(2019) with AMD Radeon Pro Vega II(x2) GPU. The macOS is 11.2.3. C4D R23.110
I can start OctaneX with my new project. But when I opened some old projects from PC. The render can not start then stack and crash.
I tried reinstall the OS. Clean install OctaneX. But the issue still happened.
Do I did something wrong? I install the full version of OctaneX and the plugin. Is that necessary? I can't figure it out. Please help me.

The COMPUTE ERROR 2097152:574 path tracing kernel failed.
stevelong03
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2020 5:48 pm

Re: NEW: Octane X - is finally here! [MEGA FAQ THREAD]

Postby malikova » Wed Mar 17, 2021 8:28 am

malikova Wed Mar 17, 2021 8:28 am
bepeg4d wrote:@ reddog: you need plugins based on PR8 SDK for M1 chip, but they are not available yet for free Prime tier, only Studio and Enterprise licenses for now.
Please also note that you need to install Rosetta 2 to be able to use plugins on M1 chip for now.

@ jhansen and Gianluca: I think that this is related to the same issue with Demo mode that starts after some time of rendering, and should be solved in the next version 192.168.1.1.

@ Gianluca: I have another c4doctaneX user with 5700XT reporting the same issue with Adaptive Sampling and the square effect, so it seems a specific issue of Navi GPUs, I have reported it to the devs.

Happy Mac GPU rendering,
ciao Beppe


I have been looking for this information for a long time, I was very surprised when I found it here.
Last edited by malikova on Thu Mar 18, 2021 9:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
malikova
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2021 2:08 pm

Re: NEW: Octane X - is finally here! [MEGA FAQ THREAD]

Postby artydevil » Wed Mar 17, 2021 11:20 am

artydevil Wed Mar 17, 2021 11:20 am
Hi and thanks a lot for the released ! So happy to work on Octane on my mac pro 2019 with 5700XT.

but I can't find why, my GPU used only 1,6Gb on the 16GB, I had switch the settings in octane but nothing happens.
and in the parameters of the card look like this : Image

thanks a lot for your help
artydevil
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2020 3:35 pm

Re: NEW: Octane X - is finally here! [MEGA FAQ THREAD]

Postby Maxique » Wed Mar 17, 2021 3:19 pm

Maxique Wed Mar 17, 2021 3:19 pm
Hi,

MacBook Pro (15-inch, Mid 2015)
Intel Iris Pro 1536 MB
Cinema 4D R21

I've updated my macOS version to BigSur (11.2.3) in order to install OctaneX PR8.
When I hit "render scene" in Octane, the following notification pops up "There is no GPU device which is selected".
In the Octane settings, I choose from the available GPUs my Gpu0:Intel Iris Pro Graphics. But when I close this window, the settings are not saved and the notification pops up again.

I tried to solve this problem by researching the forum but couldn't solve it. As far as I understand, Octane should support Intel Graphics, what then could be the problem? Perhaps my laptop is not supported? Or am I doing something wrong?
I'm a newbie, so apologize in advance if I asked a silly question.

Thanks!
Maxique
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2021 10:29 pm
PreviousNext

Return to User Requests


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

Tue May 11, 2021 6:17 pm [ UTC ]