NEW: Octane X - is finally here! [MEGA FAQ THREAD]

Forums: NEW: Octane X - is finally here! [MEGA FAQ THREAD]
Sub forum for feature requests etc

Moderator: juanjgon

Re: NEW: Octane X - is finally here! [MEGA FAQ THREAD]

Postby Emone » Wed Mar 10, 2021 7:15 pm

Emone Wed Mar 10, 2021 7:15 pm
Is PR8 supposed to run native on M1? Because on my Macmini, it doesn't. Runs in Rosetta mode.
I guess I have to wait? I see my 1 year subscription will be a wait-subscription.
But today they announced you dont need studio sub, the new prime sub is for free. WTF?
Emone
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2020 9:01 pm

Re: NEW: Octane X - is finally here! [MEGA FAQ THREAD]

Postby bepeg4d » Thu Mar 11, 2021 8:18 am

bepeg4d Thu Mar 11, 2021 8:18 am
@ Weezer: Great :D

@ atoyuser1: I have a solution, but it is not very elegant :D
You need to take this guy here:
https://www.akitio.com/expansion/node-duo

Then remove the cover, and modify the fan position to be able to mount 2x full length GPUs:
FFFF8F6E-4AAD-481D-8A73-F22675C03B9B.jpeg


Then use an external PSU for powering the GPUs:
1FD8FA44-D5F4-4EFE-ADC9-A0BAC1A02BB5.jpeg


It is quite a mess for the cables, but it works great, and super silent :D

@ ikolaicable and Emone: please write to [email protected]

M1 chip support is still experimental for now, and PR8 still needs Rosetta 2.

Happy Mac GPU rendering,
ciao Beppe
User avatar
bepeg4d
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 8268
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 6:02 am
Location: Italy

Re: NEW: Octane X - is finally here! [MEGA FAQ THREAD]

Postby atoyuser1 » Thu Mar 11, 2021 8:51 am

atoyuser1 Thu Mar 11, 2021 8:51 am
bepeg4d wrote:@ Weezer: Great :D

@ atoyuser1: I have a solution, but it is not very elegant :D
You need to take this guy here:
https://www.akitio.com/expansion/node-duo

Then remove the cover, and modify the fan position to be able to mount 2x full length GPUs:
FFFF8F6E-4AAD-481D-8A73-F22675C03B9B.jpeg


Then use an external PSU for powering the GPUs:
1FD8FA44-D5F4-4EFE-ADC9-A0BAC1A02BB5.jpeg


It is quite a mess for the cables, but it works great, and super silent :D

ciao Beppe
Wow, thanks!
atoyuser1
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Sat May 02, 2020 1:10 pm

Re: NEW: Octane X - is finally here! [MEGA FAQ THREAD]

Postby Vitaliyromanov » Thu Mar 11, 2021 2:15 pm

Vitaliyromanov Thu Mar 11, 2021 2:15 pm
Does anyone have any luck running on a Radeon 580X? My iMac freezes on rendering
Vitaliyromanov
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2021 4:54 pm

Re: NEW: Octane X - is finally here! [MEGA FAQ THREAD]

Postby TheBloke » Fri Mar 12, 2021 3:47 pm

TheBloke Fri Mar 12, 2021 3:47 pm
bepeg4d wrote:Hi,
AMD Big Navi 6800/6900 XT support in Apple Metal driver should be already available in Mac Os 11.3 beta 3, so they should be supported in the upcoming 11.3 stable update.

ciao Beppe


Hi Beppe, I was wondering if you could explain further about what you've heard regarding 6800/6900 support? I have installed 11.3 beta 3 but my 6900XT is still not recognised - I have to boot with a second GPU installed to see the GUI, and the 6900XT is not listed as an available Metal GPU. Thanks.
TheBloke
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2021 3:42 pm

Re: NEW: Octane X - is finally here! [MEGA FAQ THREAD]

Postby Jedi_blade » Sat Mar 13, 2021 4:31 am

Jedi_blade Sat Mar 13, 2021 4:31 am
Weezer wrote:It's been a long wait, but finally I have Octane X rocking all three GPUs in my Mac Pro! Thanks for the year's Enterprise subscription (was easy to get and install). Everything seems to be working just fine!


Which three are you running.
Mac Pro (2019)
3.2 GHz 16-Core Intel Xeon W
96 GB 2933 MHz DDR4
Two AMD Radeon Pro Vega II 32 GB
After Burner
Jedi_blade
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2020 5:26 am
Location: Iowa/Illinois

Re: NEW: Octane X - is finally here! [MEGA FAQ THREAD]

Postby Pixege » Sat Mar 13, 2021 9:09 am

Pixege Sat Mar 13, 2021 9:09 am
I confirm there is a problem with Octane X® (Mac Pro) Enterprise for Cinema 4D® PR8.
When rendering the animation, a watermark overlays the render passes after a while. Sometimes it does this after 5 frames and sometimes after 50. Main Render has no watermark, but the animation stops there and Octane render the same frames.

ETH_Digital_002_rotation_Z_0142.png
MacBook Pro 16" | AMD Radeon Pro 5500M 8 GB | 2,3 GHz Intel Core i9 | 64 GB RAM + eGPU Razer Core X | Asus ROG Strix RX 5700 XT OC
User avatar
Pixege
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2020 3:30 pm
Location: Poland

Re: NEW: Octane X - is finally here! [MEGA FAQ THREAD]

Postby Weezer » Sat Mar 13, 2021 1:37 pm

Weezer Sat Mar 13, 2021 1:37 pm
Jedi_blade wrote:
Weezer wrote:It's been a long wait, but finally I have Octane X rocking all three GPUs in my Mac Pro! Thanks for the year's Enterprise subscription (was easy to get and install). Everything seems to be working just fine!


Which three are you running.


The RX580X that came with the MP, plus two Sapphire RX5700XTs. It all works well, but I do find the 8GB VRAM quite limiting.
Weezer
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 342
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2012 10:08 am

Re: NEW: Octane X - is finally here! [MEGA FAQ THREAD]

Postby joenyc » Sat Mar 13, 2021 3:43 pm

joenyc Sat Mar 13, 2021 3:43 pm
Pixege wrote:I confirm there is a problem with Octane X® (Mac Pro) Enterprise for Cinema 4D® PR8.
When rendering the animation, a watermark overlays the render passes after a while. Sometimes it does this after 5 frames and sometimes after 50. Main Render has no watermark, but the animation stops there and Octane render the same frames.

ETH_Digital_002_rotation_Z_0142.png


I also saw this randomly when rendering from Houdini on PR8. Had to kill the render and start over. It only happened once out of the many renders I fired off yesterday.
Mac Pro (2019), 2.7 GHz 24-Core, 384GB RAM, AMD Radeon Pro W5700X | Houdini
joenyc
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu May 21, 2020 4:39 am

Re: NEW: Octane X - is finally here! [MEGA FAQ THREAD]

Postby Rainbow-3D » Sun Mar 14, 2021 1:47 pm

Rainbow-3D Sun Mar 14, 2021 1:47 pm
bepeg4d wrote:Hi Gianluca,
can you share some logs about “ rectangular areas with different luminosity”?
It could be related to almost finished system RAM.
If you render at 2000x1500 it works, correct?
The frame buffer is handled in RAM in Octane.

ciao Beppe


Hello Beppe,
upgraded the mac pro to bigsur. Same problem with PR8, changed nothing (mac pro 2019 Radeon pro 5700X)
I attach a little part of the picture, sorry, I can't show more. For now my test show that the problem isn't the big resolution (it was only a coincidence: in low resolution the problem was in white areas so I didn't saw it).
It seems to be the adaptive sampling. If I turn off it, all works good. But if on, there are areas more or less light. These areas are the same "rendering blocks" of the picture (I don't know how call them, you can see when the picture is rendered, it is divided in square areas, more big is the image, more areas there are).
Same scene on Windows+RTX2080 hasn't problems.
For now I do my work without adaptive sampling, but I hope to can use it again soon.
Thank you
Bye
Gianluca
Attachments
AS problem.jpg
AS problem.jpg (21.26 KiB) Viewed 19813 times
Win 7 x64 | Asus P8P67-M - i72600K | 16 GB RAM | 1 x nVidia RTX 2800 | 1 x nVidia GTX 750ti
User avatar
Rainbow-3D
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2018 7:27 pm
PreviousNext

Return to User Requests


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Tue May 11, 2021 2:10 am [ UTC ]