Be able to choose to work in subnet or not.

Forums: Be able to choose to work in subnet or not.
Sub forum for feature requests etc

Moderator: juanjgon

Be able to choose to work in subnet or not.

Postby fantome » Mon May 07, 2018 7:44 am

fantome Mon May 07, 2018 7:44 am
Hi,

It would be great to be able to have the choice to use or not the subnetwork inside the octane material builder.
In previous octane version we could create node directly at the root of the shop.
Now we are force to use a subtnework to build our shader.

I find overkill to have to dive each time in a subnetwork when my shader is just a simple glossy.
in fact i have to do the following :

- create subnet
- dive in subnet
- create glossy
- plug the glossy output to the subnet output
- leave the subnet
- plug the subnet output in the shop output
=> 6 steps

it would be cool to be able to
- create glossy
- plug it to the shop output
=> 2 steps

I find that the behavior in octane standalone is great. You have the choice to build directly your nodes and if you want to you can pack them in a subnet.

To be able to do so i have to create my node in the subtnet and CTRL+X / CTRL+V them each time.

Cheers
E
User avatar
fantome
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 228
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2015 3:38 pm

Re: Be able to choose to work in subnet or not.

Postby juanjgon » Mon May 07, 2018 8:41 am

juanjgon Mon May 07, 2018 8:41 am
Sorry, I'm not sure to understand your workflow using subnets. In Houdini 16.x you can use the Octane material nodes directly as materials for the objects (while working inside the new /mat networks), or you can add the materials inside a material builder, liking it directly to the material output. Why are you using subnetworks?

Thanks,
-Juanjo
Attachments
2018_05_07-10_38_40.jpg
2018_05_07-10_39_21.jpg
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 8233
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Be able to choose to work in subnet or not.

Postby fantome » Mon May 07, 2018 10:03 am

fantome Mon May 07, 2018 10:03 am
Thanks for your very fast answer Juanjo !

Well it's because i am a total has been and was still using the old Shop context to work with octane. :D
As LiveDB still import shaders in Shop i have the wrong feeling that it was still the default context for octane.
But indeed i have just double check , in the new mat context things work perfectly -> subnetwork if you need but not an obligation !

So now can we consider shop kinda legacy with octane like for mantra ?
In that case that would be great to also have the ability to import liveDB in Mat context, and create the render target node in Mat context
in order to get one consistant context to store octane nodes.

Thanks again for your help !
Cheers
E
User avatar
fantome
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 228
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2015 3:38 pm

Re: Be able to choose to work in subnet or not.

Postby fantome » Mon May 07, 2018 11:08 am

fantome Mon May 07, 2018 11:08 am
As a side note i am not able to see octane shader located in a Mat context to assign them at obj level.
It does work in shop context.

when i do the assignation of the path manually it does work, so it's more a UI problem i guess.
Attachments
screen.png
User avatar
fantome
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 228
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2015 3:38 pm

Re: Be able to choose to work in subnet or not.

Postby juanjgon » Mon May 07, 2018 11:17 am

juanjgon Mon May 07, 2018 11:17 am
You need to enable the material flag in the node (the top-right brown flag)

Thanks,
-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 8233
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Be able to choose to work in subnet or not.

Postby fantome » Mon May 07, 2018 11:25 am

fantome Mon May 07, 2018 11:25 am
Great Juanjo ! It works

thanks for your great support.
User avatar
fantome
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 228
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2015 3:38 pm

Re: Be able to choose to work in subnet or not.

Postby fantome » Wed May 09, 2018 2:07 pm

fantome Wed May 09, 2018 2:07 pm
As a side note that would be great to have the octane default render target also available in the Mat context.
In octane options panel that would be great to be able to choose the context where we want to import livedb mat.
In order to unify all in one context.

cheers
E
User avatar
fantome
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 228
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2015 3:38 pm

Re: Be able to choose to work in subnet or not.

Postby juanjgon » Wed May 09, 2018 8:49 pm

juanjgon Wed May 09, 2018 8:49 pm
Yes, true, at some point all the plugin features should have a version for the new /mat networks because if fact the SHOP based workflow is deprecated in Houdini 16.x and it could be even removed by SideFX in the future.

Thanks,
-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 8233
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Be able to choose to work in subnet or not.

Postby blobbybarack » Tue Jul 17, 2018 10:59 am

blobbybarack Tue Jul 17, 2018 10:59 am
Well it's because i am a total has been and was still using the old Shop context to work with octane.

I know how you feel.
blobbybarack
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 224
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2013 9:11 pm
Location: Paris

Re: Be able to choose to work in subnet or not.

Postby fantome » Tue Oct 09, 2018 11:09 am

fantome Tue Oct 09, 2018 11:09 am
Hi Juanjo !

Do you have any ETA for the creation of the Octane Render Targets in Mat context instead of Shop context ?
That would also be nice to adapt the Octane light to use the Mat context also in order to unify the workflow.

Cheers
E
User avatar
fantome
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 228
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2015 3:38 pm
Next

Return to User Requests


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Tue May 18, 2021 4:48 pm [ UTC ]